Odometer Law Requirements

Michigan Law


Michigan Law requires disclosure of the actual odometer reading at the time of transfer or assignment of the vehicle's title. Further, the seller must indicate if that reading is actual mileage, not actual mileage, or exceeds the maximum limit of the odometer (usually over 99,999 miles). This disclosure is not required if the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 16,000 pounds, is not self-propelled, or is a 2010 model year or older. (MCL 257.233a)

Federal Law


Federal Law also requires sellers to state the odometer mileage when transferring ownership. Failure to complete a mileage disclosure or providing false information may make the seller liable for damages and fines and/or imprisonment according to the Motor Vehicle Information and Cost Savings Act of 1972, Public Law 92-513.

New Federal Odometer Rule – Starting January 1, 2021


Starting January 1, 2021 there are new requirements for odometer disclosure upon a transfer of vehicle ownership.  The new federal rules require the seller to disclose the mileage of the vehicle being sold for a period of 20 years following the production model year of the vehicle (previously 10 years).

New Federal Odometer Rule – How to Comply


The new federal rules are drafted so that vehicles come into compliance on a rolling basis, with one model year added at a time:

As of January 1, 2021, model year 2011 vehicles become subject to the new rule, requiring odometer disclosure for those vehicles when sold, through calendar year 2031 (20 years).

Every January 1 thereafter, the following next oldest model year vehicle is then subject to the 20-year requirement.  For example:

As of January 1, 2022, model year 2012 vehicles become subject to the new rule, requiring odometer disclosure for those vehicles being sold, through calendar year 2032 (20 years).

As of January 1, 2023, model year 2013 vehicles become subject to the new rule, requiring odometer disclosure for those vehicles being sold, through calendar year 2033 (20 years).

As of January 1, 2024, model year 2014 vehicles become subject to the new rule, requiring odometer disclosure for those vehicles being sold, through calendar year 2034 (20 years).

The above schedule continues every January 1, until all vehicles become subject to the 20-year requirement, in calendar year 2031.

PLEASE NOTE:  As of January 1, 2021, all model year 2010 and older vehicles are EXEMPT from odometer disclosure requirements, and mileage disclosure at time of ownership transfer is voluntary.