Michigan Rider Education Program (MI-REP) learn more about our program

                              Michigan Rider Safety Program logo

To operate a motorcycle on public roads, you must possess a valid driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement. There are two ways in Michigan to obtain your motorcycle endorsement.

Michigan Rider Education Training Course

  1. Find and complete an approved training course. See Training Locator                                        

           Public and Private Rider Safety Training Courses PDF icon.

  1. If you completed training before March 16, 2021, visit a branch office, present certificate of completion to obtain your CY motorcycle endorsement.
  2. If you completed training after March 16, 2021, you should receive your certificate of completion via email with instructions to either go online or visit a Secretary of State branch office to obtain your CY endorsement.

How to Prepare for a Course

Motorcycle Riders

Temporary Instruction Permit and Skills Test

  1. Study the Michigan Motorcycle Operator Manual.
  2. Visit a Secretary of State branch office to take the vision and written knowledge test and obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP)
  3. Practice riding up to 180 days with endorsed motorcyclist and other restrictions.
  4. Schedule and pass rider skills test. Your tester will submit the results to the Secretary of State.
  5. You will receive an email with instructions to either go online or into a Secretary of State branch office to obtain your CY motorcycle endorsement.

License Fees: $16.00 application fee to obtain CY endorsement and $9.00 correction fee for a new operator license.

Michigan Motorcycle Operator Manual

Motorcycle MI-REP FAQ

Motorcycle Laws and Regulations