Michigan Gaming Control Board
Following a steward’s hearing on a racing act or administrative rules violation, stewards will notify a licensee either in person or by phone. The stewards will send a copy of the ruling by registered mail if they are unable to contact the licensee. If the ruling results in a penalty, the licensee has five days to pay a fine or 10 days to appeal the ruling after proper notice.
FILING AN APPEAL: A Licensee’s Rights and Responsibilities
1. Any ruling or decision of the stewards may be appealed to the Michigan Gaming Control Board (MGCB) Horse Racing Section for review.
2. All appeals must be in writing as prescribed on the form provided by the MGCB’s Office of the Executive Director. Copies of the Appeal Form are available at any racetrack or to download.
3. Appeals must be filed with the MGCB Horse Racing Section in Detroit within 10 days of proper notice of the penalty or imposition of the discipline you appeal.
4. If you request a reanalysis of an equine blood or urine sample, commonly called a split sample, the request must be made with the MGCB Horse Racing Section in Detroit within 10 days of proper notice of the steward’s ruling.
5. An appeal filing does not automatically stay enforcement of the decision or ruling. You may request in your appeal that enforcement of the stewards’ ruling be stayed
6. After receiving your appeal, the MGCB Horse Racing Section will schedule a pre-hearing conference to discuss your appeal
7. If a subsequent hearing before an Administrative Law Judge is scheduled, you will be sent a hearing notice with the time, date and place of your appeal hearing before a State Office of Administrative Hearings and Rules Administrative Law Judge.
8. After completion of your appeal hearing, the Administrative Law Judge assigned to hear your appeal will submit a written recommendation to the MGCB’s Office of the Executive Director regarding the disposition of your appeal based upon the hearing record. The MGCB’s Office of the Executive Director will issue a final decision based upon the Administrative Law Judge’s recommendation and the record on appeal.
9. A decision by the Executive Director to sanction a licensee may be appealed to the circuit court and reviewed pursuant to the relevant section of law.