Michigan Nature Centers

nature center icon

Below is a list of nature centers in Michigan. This is not a comprehensive list and the DNR does not endorse any of those on this list. If you know of a location that should be added, please email Tracy Page.

To see the locations of Michigan's nature centers on a map, as well as forests, conservancies, parks, and more, check out the Michigan Greenspaces map.

Michigan Nature Centers

Location Website City
Bay City Recreation Area Michigan.gov/SaginawBayVC Bay City
Belle Isle Nature Center BelleIslePark.org Detroit
Blandford Nature Center BlandfordNatureCenter.org Grand Rapids
Boardman River Nature Center NatureIsCalling.org/nature-center Traverse City
Burgess-Shadbush Nature Center ShelbyTwp.org/naturecenter Shelby Township
Calvin College Ecosystem Preserve Calvin.edu/ecosystem-preserve Grand Rapids
Carl T. Johnson Hunting and Fishing Center Michigan.gov/HuntFishCenter Cadillac
Chippewa Nature Center ChippewaNatureCenter.org Midland
Crosswinds Marsh WayneCounty.com/departments/publicservices/parks/crosswinds-marsh.aspx Detroit
Dahlem Environmental Education Center DahlemCenter.org Jackson
Degraaf Nature Center OutdoorDiscovery.org/Degraaf/ Holland
Detroit River International Wildlife Refuge FWS.gov/refuge/Detroit_River Grosse Ile
DeVries Nature Conservancy DevriesNature.org Owosso
Dinosaur Hill Nature Preserve DinosaurHill.org Rochester
Drayton Plains Nature Center Waterfordmi.gov/Facilities/Facility/Details/Drayton-Plains-Nature-Center-1 Waterford
Eddy Discovery Center Michigan.gov/EddyCenter Chelsea
Farmington Hills Nature Center FHGov.com/Activities/Parks-Facilities/Nature-Center.aspx Farmington Hills
Fenner Nature Center Mynaturecenter.org Lansing
Fernwood Botanical Garden and Nature Preserve Fernwoodbotanical.org Niles
Flynn Township Nature Center Flynntownship.org/Nature_Center.html Flynn Township
For-Mar Nature Preserve and Arboretum Geneseecountyparks.org Burton
Forest Hill Nature Area GIRESD.net/domain/18 Ithaca
Grass River Natural Area grassriver.org Bellaire
Harris Nature Center meridian.mi.us/HNC Okemos
Hartley Outdoor Education Center saginawisdmi.apptegy.us/o/saginaw-isd/page/hartley-outdoor-education-center--2 St. Charles
Hartwick Pines Visitor Center Michigan.gov/HartwickPinesVC Grayling
Hawk Woods Nature Center AuburnHills.org/departments/parks_and_recreation/parks_and_facilities/hawk_woods_nature_center.php Auburn Hills
Headwaters Conservancy HeadwatersConservancy.org Gaylord
Nature Education Center at Hemlock Crossing MiOttawa.org/Parks/nature_center.htm West Olive
Hoffmaster State Park - Gillette Sand Dune Visitor Center Michigan.gov/GilletteVC Muskegon
Howard Christensen Nature Center HowardChristensen.org Kent City
Howell Nature Center HowellNatureCenter.org Howell
Hudson Mills Metropark Metroparks.com/parks/hudson-mills-metropark Ann Arbor
Huron County Nature Center HuronNatureCenter.org Port Austin
Huron-Clinton Metroparks Metroparks.com Milford
Indian Springs Metropark Metroparks.com/parks/indian-springs-metropark White Lake
Inland Seas Education Association Schoolship.org/about-isea/staff Suttons Bay
E. L. Johnson Nature Center Bloomfield.org/schools/el-johnson-nature-center Bloomfield Hills
Kalamazoo Nature Center NatureCenter.org Kalamazoo
Kensington Park Nature Center Metroparks.com/facilities-education/kensington-nature-center Milford
Lake St. Clair Metropark Metroparks.com/lake-st-clair Harrison Township
Leslie Science & Nature Center LesliesNC.org Ann Arbor
Lincoln Brick Park and Nature Center Mi-EatonCounty.civicplus.com/Facilities/Facility/Details/Lincoln-Brick-Park-14 Grand Ledge
Love Creek Nature Center BerrienCounty.org/1299/Love-Creek-County-Park Berrien
Ludington State Park Visitor Center Michigan.gov/LudingtonEducation Ludington
Mackinac State Historic Parks MackinacParks.com Mackinaw City
Marshlands Museum and Nature Center Metroparks.com/facilities-education/lake-erie-marshlands-museum-nature-center Brownstown
MooseWood Nature Center Moosewood.org Marquette
Michigan Association of Conservation Districts MACD.org/ Statewide
Michigan Audubon Society Michiganaudubon.org Statewide
Michigan Nature Association Michigannature.org Statewide
Michigan United Conservation Clubs MUCC.org Lansing
Nankin Mills Nature Center Nankinmills.org Westland
Nature Discovery Naturediscovery.net/index.html Williamston
Nichols Arboretum Mbgna.umich.edu/matthaei-botanical-gardens Ann Arbor
Oakwoods Park Nature Center Metroparks.com/facilities-education/oakwoods-metropark-nature-center Belleville
Oden State Fish Hatchery Visitor Center Michigan.gov/OdenVC Alanson
Osceola-Lake Conservation District MecostaCD.org Reed City
Ottawa County Parks MiOttawa.org/Parks/hemlockcrossing.htm Midland
Outdoor Adventure Center Michigan.gov/OAC Detroit
Outdoor Discovery Center Macatawa Greenway Outdoordiscovery.org Holland
Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore NPS.gov/piro/index.htm Munising
Pierce Cedar Creek Institute Cedarcreekinstitute.org/index.html Hastings
Pine River Nature Center Sccresa.org/p_r_o_g_r_a_m_s/pine_river_nature_center Goodells
Porcupine Mountains Wilderness Visitor Center Michigan.gov/PorkiesVC White Pine
Raven Hill Discovery Center MiRavenhill.org East Jordan
Red Oaks Nature Center OakGov.com/parks/parksandtrails/Red-Oaks/Pages/Red-Oaks-Nature-Center.aspx Madison Heights
Sarett Nature Center Sarett.org Benton Harbor
Seney National Wildlife Refuge FWS.gov/refuge/Seney Seney
Seven Ponds Nature Center Sevenponds.org Dryden
Shiawassee National Wildlife Refuge FWS.gov/refuge/Shiawassee Saginaw
Sleeping Bear National Lakeshore NPS.gov/slbe Lake Michigan
Stage Nature Center Troynaturesociety.org Troy
Sterling Heights Nature Center Sterling-heights.net/302/Nature-Center Sterling Heights
Stony Creek Metropark Nature Center Metroparks.com/parks/stony-creek-metropark Shelby
Stubnitz Environmental Education Center Lisd.us/instruction/programs/stem/stubnitz-environmental-education-programs Adrian
Tahquamenon Falls Education Programs Michigan.gov/TFallsEducation Paradise
Thorne Swift Nature Preserve Landtrust.org/thorne-swift-nature-preserve Harbor Springs
Thurston Nature Center Thurstonnaturecenter.info Ann Arbor
Tuscola Conservation District TuscolaCD.com Vassar
University of Michigan-Dearborn Environmental Interpretive Center UMDearborn.edu/casl/centers-institutes/environmental-interpretive-center Dearborn
West Bloomfield Nature Room and Outdoor Play Area WBParks.org/nature-room-and-outdoor-natural-play-area.html West Bloomfield
Whitefish Point Bird Observatory WBPO.org Paradise
Whitehouse Nature Center Web.Albion.edu/about-albion/Whitehouse-Nature-Center Albion
Wint Nature Center OakGov.com/parks/parksandtrails/Independence-Oaks/Pages/Wint-Nature-Center.aspx Clarkston
Wittenbach/Wege Environmental Center Lowellschools.com/our-district/wittenbach-center Lowell
Woldumar Nature Center Woldumar.org Lansing
Wolf Lake State Fish Hatchery Visitor Center Michigan.gov/WolfLakeVC Mattawan