Hospital (Acute Care) License

Agency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Community and Health Systems issues licenses to Hospitals.

A "Hospital" is a facility offering inpatient, overnight care, and services for observation, diagnosis, and active treatment of an individual with a medical, surgical, obstetric, chronic, or rehabilitative condition requiring the daily direction and supervision of a physician. A psychiatric hospital or unit within an acute care hospital is licensed under the Michigan Mental Health Code.

A hospital that is state licensed can be federally certified to participate in Medicare/Medicaid.

A. NAME OF LICENSE OR APPROVAL:  

Health Facility License -- Hospital

B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  

Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended (Michigan Public Health Code)  

C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:  

Michigan Public Health Code Part 201 and 215 and Administrative Rules

D. SUMMARY OF LICENSE/APPROVAL PROCESS:  

1. Applicability (activities that require the license)  

Offering inpatient services to patients that do require hospitalization.

2. Pre-Application Requirements  

Medical staff ready to start, policies and procedures established to offer inpatient and outpatient services, supplies and equipment ready, etc.

3. Application Submission Requirements  

Information on the state licensing/federal certification process 

4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval  

To be state licensed as a hospital, a provider must first receive Certificate of Need, Health Facilities Engineering and Fire Safety approvals. A provider also must submit an application for state licensure. After confirmation of the necessary approvals, a pre-licensure inspection will be conducted by the State Licensing Section. If the applicant is in compliance with the Code and applicable rules, a license will be issued and a post-licensure inspection will be conducted. Once licensed, the department will conduct routine inspections and complaint investigations as required.

5. Operational Requirements  

Facility ready for occupancy and license.  

6. Fees  

$500 annual license fee plus $10 per bed. There is a $2,000 application fee for initial licensure.

7. Appeal Process  

MCL 333.20166

8. Public Input Opportunities  

N/A

E. Contact Information:  

Contact the Bureau of Community and Health Systems at 517-241-1970.
 

Revised:  4/2017