Hydrogen Storage Tank Site Plan Certification

The Waste Management and Radiological Protection Division (WMRPD), within the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ), has the responsibility of regulating the installation of Hydrogen systems. The WMRPD also maintains the certification of all H2 systems that operate in this state.

A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:

The owner/operator plan review/certification of Hydrogen Facilities

B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

Fire Prevention Code, Public Act 207 of 1941, as amended

Section 29.3c, Fire Prevention Code, Public Act 207 of 1941

Executive Reorganization Order No. 2 of 1997

Executive Reorganization Order No. 2 of 1998

C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:

Michigan Administrative Code, Rules Administered by MDEQ, WMRPD

Storage and Handling of Gaseous and Liquefied Hydrogen Systems (R 29.7001 - 29.7127)

D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:
 1.  Applicability (activities that require the permit)

Hydrogen Storage Systems means a tank or combination of tanks, including the pipes, that are connected to the tank(s), or ancillary equipment containment systems, if any, which is, was, or may have been used to contain an accumulation of hydrogen.

 2.  Pre-Application Requirements

The applicant is required to submit a completed Application for Installation of a Hydrogen System Form #5240, a check for $203 per tank to be reviewed, along with a site plan and installation information for review and approval by the WMRPD. The owner/operator is required to report any tank or owner information changes to the WMRPD on an Aboveground Storage Tank Change of Information Form #3858 within 30 days of the change.

 3.  Application Submission Requirements

All data and information requested on the Application of Installation of a Hydrogen System Form(s).

New AST Installations:

  • A plot plan providing the relevant information such as location of buildings and public roadway, property lines, railroads, power lines, storm and sanitary sewers, manholes, churches, schools, hospitals, places of public assemblage of 50 or more people, and mineshafts within 300 feet of the AST, and separation distances from underground storage tanks, aboveground storage tanks, liquefied petroleum gases from both the tank and the point of transfer.
  • A diagram of the proposed Hydrogen system, the materials of construction, tank, piping, flow control devices, the capacity and dimensions and volume of the tank, shear valve, breakaway device, dispenser, nozzle, tank valves, vents, corrosion protection, pumps, and crash protection.
 4.  Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval

New CNG Installations:

  • Applicant submits to the WMRPD central office a completed Application for installation of a Hydrogen Facility Form #5240, a fee of $203 for each tank to be plan reviewed based on the volume of storage capacity, measured in SCF, and provides the additional information required for new Hydrogen installation plans.
  • Storage Tank Unit staff will review new installation plans submitted and issue a plan review report within 30 days from receipt of the submittal. A copy of the plan review report is transmitted with the approved plans to the applicant and appropriate district office for their review in preparation for the field inspection.
  • Upon receipt of the plan review report, the applicant will notify the inspector who will schedule a pre-system installation inspection and a final inspection. Pursuant to the final inspection, the inspector will certify the new hydrogen system if it is in compliance with the Hydrogen Rules.

Existing CNG Installations:

  • Applicant must follow the same steps as outlined in the Procedure for Obtaining a Permit or Approval for a new Hydrogen system.
 5.  Operational Requirements

A Hydrogen system must maintain inventory control records or monthly inspection reports to verify that there is no leakage from the tank. Records must be maintained in a readily available location for the purposes of inspection by a state inspector. If the facility has a corrosion protection system, then it must be monitored to verify that it is working correctly.

The facility must comply with the fire safety rules for Hydrogen.

 6.  Fees

The annual certificate fee is $61.50 per tank, based on the volume of storage capacity, measured in SCF.

 7.  Appeal Process

If a person wishes to appeal the denial of a variance request under these rules, then they must complete and forward a petition for contested case hearings within 60 days of the receipt of the denial. In these cases, the Administrative Law Judge in the State Office of Administrative Hearings and Rules makes a Recommendation for Decision for consideration by the Director of MDEQ.

 8.  Public Input Opportunities

The decision makers in the approval process are the Review Engineers in the Storage Tank Unit of WMRPD. Complaints or comments related to a facility may be filed with the MDEQ at any time. The complaints are investigated and if they were validated through a finding of a violation then this would be considered in the decision-making process for approval.

E. ADMINISTERING AGENCY:

Waste Management and Radiological Protection Division, Storage Tank and Solid Waste Section, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 30157, Lansing, Michigan 48909-7657

  • Program Phone: 517-335-7211

 

Creation/Revision Date:

October 2010