Hospice Residence License

Agency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Community and Health Systems issues licenses to Hospice Residences.

A “Hospice Agency” is a health care program that provides a coordinated set of services rendered at home or in outpatient or institutional settings for individuals suffering from a disease or condition with a terminal prognosis.

A hospice agency that is state licensed can be federally certified to participate in Medicare/Medicaid.

A “Hospice Residence” is a facility that provides 24-hour hospice care to 2 or more patients at a single location and is owned and operated by a hospice agency.

A. NAME OF LICENSE OR APPROVAL:  

Health Facility License – Hospice Residence

B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  

Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended (Michigan Public Health Code)  

C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:  

Michigan Public Health Code Part 201 and 214 and Administrative Rules

D. SUMMARY OF LICENSE/APPROVAL PROCESS:  

1. Applicability (activities that require the license)  

Offering hospice services to individuals suffering from a disease or condition with a terminal prognosis in a hospice residence.

2. Pre-Application Requirements  

Medical staff ready to start, policies and procedures established to offer hospice services, supplies and equipment ready, etc.

3. Application Submission Requirements  

Information on the state licensing/federal certification process 

4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval  

To be state licensed as a hospice residence, a provider must first receive Health Facilities Engineering and Fire Safety approvals. A provider must also submit an application for state licensure. After confirmation of the necessary approvals, a pre-licensure inspection will be conducted by the State Licensing Section. If the applicant is in compliance with the Code and applicable rules, a license will be issued and a post-licensure inspection will be conducted. Once licensed, the department will conduct routine inspections and complaint investigations as required.

5. Operational Requirements  

Residence ready to be license.  

6. Fees  

$500 annual license fee plus $5 per bed. There is a $2,000 application fee for initial licensure.  

7. Appeal Process  

MCL 333.20166

8. Public Input Opportunities  

N/A

E. Contact Information:  

Contact the Bureau of Community and Health Systems at 517-241-1970.
 

Revised: 4/2017