Trooper of the Year

Tpr. Evan AlkemaTpr. Evan Alkema of the Wayland Post was named Trooper of the Year.

The Gerstacker Trooper of the Year Award recognizes the MSP trooper or sergeant who symbolizes outstanding professional ethics, dedication to duty and a concern for giving back to their community. The late Dr. Carl A. Gerstacker, former chairman of Dow Chemical Company, created the award in 1961.

Alkema currently serves as a field training officer, drug recognition expert and a standardized field sobriety test instructor, in addition to his daily duties as a trooper. He is consistently among the highest performers in traffic and criminal complaint activity at his post.

Alkema enlisted with the MSP in 2014 graduating as a member of the 127th Trooper Recruit School. Prior to serving at the Wayland Post, he served at the Houghton Lake Post.