• Michigan Teacher of the Year Program

    Please note: Nominations for the 2020-2021 MTOY program will be available on this website beginning September 2019.

    Since 1952, one of Michigan’s outstanding teachers has been named our state’s Teacher of the Year (MTOY). The MTOY serves as a representative and spokesperson for Michigan’s more than 90,000 teachers, working with 9 other regional Teachers of the Year (rTOYs) as the Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council (MTLAC) to share feedback and concerns of educational policies and initiatives with the MDE and propose ways to enhance student learning.

    Each month, the MTOY attends State Board of Education meetings as a non-voting member of the board and presents on issues of importance to teachers across the state with one of the rTOYs. In addition to meeting with state legislative and educational leadership, the MTOY can meet national leaders and work with their fellow state teachers of the year from other U.S. states and territories through programming arranged by the Chief Council of State School Officers (CCSSO), the organization which coordinates the National Teacher of the Year program. Each year’s MTOY is Michigan’s applicant for National Teacher of the Year. To date, several MTOYs have been named as NTOY finalists, most recently, Robert Stevenson in 2010. Michigan has had one National Teacher of the Year, Thomas Fleming, who was honored in 1992.

    As part of the CCSSO’s programming for state teachers of the year, the MTOY attends four national conferences through the NTOY program, including attendance at Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama. The MTOY has the opportunity through Walden University for a full scholarship to the Richard W. Riley College of Education and Leadership programs. Each regional TOY brings recognition to the district he or she represents and has expanded opportunities for professional development at the state level.

    Thank you to the Meemic Foundation for their continued sponsorship and support of the Michigan Teacher of the Year, the Regional Teachers of the Year and the Michigan Teacher Leadership Advisory Council (MTLAC).

    Meemic Foundation Logo

  • Announcing the 2019-2020 Michigan Teacher of the Year - Cara Lougheed, Stoney Creek High School in Rochester Community School District.

    Cara Lougheed, 2019-2020 MTOY

    Cara Lougheed has taught English Language Arts and histroy in Rochester Community Schools for 21 years. She began her teaching career at Rochester High School in 1998 and was a founding staff member of Stoney Creek High School when it opened in the fall of 2001. Over the years, Cara has taught multiple levels of English, from remediation to Advanced Placement Courses, as well as U.S. and World History. To read more about Cara, please go to the Cara Lougheed Biography Page.


  • 2018-2019 Michigan Teacher of the Year, Laura Chang


    Michigan Teacher of the Year Program Documents

  • 2019-2020 MTOY Timeline PDF icon
  • Why apply for MTOY? PDF icon
  • State Teachers of the Year Code of Conduct PDF icon
  • In the Media

  • MDE Teacher of the Year Coordinator

    Joshua Roesner
    Office of Educator Excellence
    P.O. Box 30008
    Lansing, MI 48909



  • Veteran Michigan Teachers of the Year PDF icon
  • National Teacher of the Year

    National Teacher of the Year program began in 1952 and continues as the oldest, most prestigious national honors program that focuses public attention on excellence in teaching. The National Teacher of the Year is chosen from among the State Teachers of the Year by a national selection committee representing the major national education organizations. Each April, the National Teacher of the Year is introduced to the American people by the President of the United States. The National Teacher of the Year is released from classroom duties during the year of recognition to travel nationally and internationally as a spokesperson for the teaching profession. All activities of the National Teacher, and projects involving the State Teachers of the Year, are coordinated through the National Teacher of the Year Program. The National Teacher of the Year Program, presented by the ING Foundation, is a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers.


  • Thank you to the following for their continued support of the Michigan Teacher of the Year.

    SMART Technologies Logo                      Walden University Logo