The State of Michigan offers two types of FSAs. Health Care FSAs allow you to put aside pre-tax dollars for health care expenses not covered by any medical, dental, or vision care plan. Dependent Care FSAs allow you to put aside pre-tax dollars to cover child/elder care expenses (such as day care) for your eligible dependents so you can work.
2020 Plan Year Updates: Beginning in the 2020 plan year, the State of Michigan is changing from a Grace Period option to a Carryover option for the Health Care FSA. Up to $500 of unused funds remaining after processing all eligible claims, submitted by March 31, 2021, will be carried over to your 2021 Health Care FSA, or an HSA-compatible FSA if required by your health election in effect on January 1, 2021. There is no Grace Period for the 2020 Health Care FSA. Review the Health Care FSA with Carryover FAQs for further detail regarding this change.
The State of Michigan will continue to offer a Grace Period for the Dependent Care FSA, from January 1st through March 15th, following the end of the current plan year. Balances remaining in the Dependent Care FSA plan may be used to reimburse eligible expenses incurred during this period. Claims must be submitted by March 31, 2021 to be applied to your 2020 account balance.
2020 FSA Plan Year
- Nov. 27, 2019: FSA Open Enrollment extended deadline (due to widespread network issues)
- Nov. 1–Nov. 26, 2019: FSA Open Enrollment for the 2020 FSA plan year
- Jan. 1, 2020: First day of the 2020 FSA plan year
- Jan. 9, 2020: First payroll deduction for the 2020 FSA plan year
- Dec. 31, 2020: Last day of the 2020 FSA plan year
- Mar. 15, 2021: Last day to incur charges for a 2020 plan year Dependent Care FSA (Grace Period) through WageWorks
- Mar. 31, 2021: Last day to submit substantiation documentation and receipts to WageWorks for the 2020 FSA plan year
2019 FSA Plan Year
- Dec. 31, 2019: Last day of the 2019 FSA plan year
- Mar. 15, 2020: Last day to incur charges for the 2019 FSA plan year through WageWorks
Note: Because of the ongoing declared national emergency for the COVID-19 pandemic, the run-out period deadline to submit new claims and claim substantiations to WageWorks for eligible expenses incurred between 1/1/19 – 3/15/20 has been extended. The extended due date is now 60 days after the end of the national emergency (once determined).
When submitting a claim or contacting WageWorks, you will be asked to provide an ID Code. Enter the last four digits of your employee ID number, not the last four of your social security number