Fruit and Vegetable Controlled Atmosphere Storage Licensing Details, FAQ's, & Forms
- Expires: November 15th
- Cost: $35.00 per room before November 15th (rooms must be sealed on or before November 15th).
- Contact: Patricia Bizoukas at 517-284-5664
- Forms: Controlled Atmosphere Sealed Storage Application Form, Room Closure Notification Card
The Fruit and Vegetable Controlled Atmosphere Storage Licensing program is for any fruit or vegetable grower that wishes to market their product as meeting the qualifications of Act 228 of 1959 as revised to Act 53 of 2000, effective March 30, 2000, when the producer meets this act they can market their product as "CA STORAGE" produce. The Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development, Pesticide and Plant Pest Management Division is responsible for the enforcement of this act.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who must be licensed?
A person or legal entity shall not sell, label, describe, advertise, offer, expose, exchange, or transport fruits or vegetables for sale represented as having been held under controlled atmosphere storage conditions as specified in the act, unless the sealed storage rooms are licensed.
- If you use the term “CA” or Controlled Atmosphere on containers, they must come from a licensed controlled atmosphere storage room.
- Several states and foreign countries have quarantines that require apples and other fruit to be held in licensed and approved CA storage in order to qualify for phytosanitary certification. If your firm is not licensed as a CA facility, it cannot be approved for plant pest regulatory purposes. If your firm exports products to a state or country that has special requirements such as continuous monitoring, please contact Mike Bryan at 517-284-5648 to ensure your firm meets these special requirements.
When will my sealed rooms be Inspected?
- MDARD reviews completed application, fee, and room closure notification card. If no additional information is required, the information is sent to an inspector.
- The inspector will contact you to schedule a time and date for an inspection of the room or rooms.
- Upon arrival the inspector will ask to see each room's records.
- The inspector will note the room number, sealing date, date the room was brought under control, the percent of oxygen on that date, temperature on that date, percent of carbon dioxide on that date, approximate number of pounds, variety and number of bins for each room.
- The inspector will conduct the inspection by accessing each room's air.
- If the oxygen level is 5% or lower and the temperature is 35 degrees or lower on Jonathan, Rome Beauty, all Delicious and Styman or 41 degrees or lower for all other varieties, the room is ready to be sealed with the department's seal.
- Once inspection and paperwork are complete it will be reviewed, and if qualified, a license will be issued.
What is the cost per license?
$35.00 per room
When do Controlled Atmosphere Storage licenses expire?
All licenses expire on November 15th of the year after issue and may be renewed annually unless the license is revoked or suspended.
Where can I get a copy of the Controlled Atmosphere Storage Act 228 of 1959?
Who should I contact if I need additional information?
Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development
Pesticide and Plant Pest Management Division
Fruit & Vegetable Inspection
P.O. Box 30017
Lansing, Michigan 48909
Phone: 517-284-5651 or Email: GrantJ5@Michigan.gov