Labor and Economic Opportunity
Public Act 90 of 1978, the Youth Employment Standards Act (YESA), as amended, defines a minor who is less than 18 years of age, including but not limited to employees, volunteers, independent contractors and performing artists.
Minors under 18 years of age must obtain a work permit or a written agreement or contract entered into between the employer and the governing school district, public school academy, or nonpublic school before starting work. Work permits can be obtained from the state of Michigan school issuing officer (the chief administrator of a school district, intermediate school district, etc.) the minor attends or the school district where the minor will be employed. If the minor changes jobs, a new work permit is required for the new employer. A work permit may be revoked for poor academic performance. A work permit is required even if the minor is home/cyber/virtual/online schooled, does not attend school, or out-of-state resident.
Work permits are no longer available for bulk purchase from Michigan Center for Career & Technical Education; work permits are available for printing or download below. Note: Executive Order 2020-157 temporarily suspended the requirement that CA-6 work permits must be printed, front and back, on pink paper and CA-7 work permits must be printed, front and back, on yellow paper to be valid. Executive Order 2020-157 expired 8/31/2020 at 11:59 p.m. and has not yet been extended.
When both federal and state laws apply the more stringent standard must be observed.
Act, Rules, Executive Orders/Directives
Executive Order (EO) 2020-79 rescinded, EO 2020-116 rescinded, EO 2020-140 rescinded, EO 2020-157 expired suspended certain YESA work permit requirements, link to EO 2020-157:
Filing a Claim
If the minor has not been paid for time worked or is owed money from the employer, you may file a claim at:
If the minor, under 18 years old, was injured on the job, contact the Workers Compensation Agency at 888-396-5041, or file the Employer’s Basic Report of Injury .
If the minor, under 18 years old, is not receiving a meal or rest period after working 5 continuous hours, is working in a hazardous occupation, working too many hours in a day or week, is working beyond the starting and ending times allowed under the Youth Employment Standards Act (YESA) or working without a valid work permit, a claim can be filed at YESA Claim .
Please indicate the alleged violations when filing a complaint. A youth employment investigation will review records and circumstances to determine compliance for all minors in an establishment with every regulation required by 1978 Public Act 90, as amended, the Youth Employment Standards Act.
It is not necessary to file multiple complaints for additional dates or new allegations. If you have already filed a complaint and have additional information to provide or are seeking status on the investigation, please contact the Wage and Hour Division at 517-284-7800 or toll free at 855-464-9243 (855-4MI-WAGE).
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
HOW TO OBTAIN WORK PERMIT
The minor first must submit to a state of Michigan school district, intermediate school district, public school academy or nonpublic school official designated as an issuing officer and provide one of the following acceptable forms of evidence of age:
A certified copy of birth record or other proof of age showing the place and date of birth
Minors seeking employment who are homeschooled shall be issued a work permit by the state of Michigan issuing officer of the school district, intermediate school district, public school academy, or nonpublic school in which the minor's residence or prospective employer is located. The minor must present a signed, written statement from the parent or guardian, as the instructor of record, indicating how many hours per week the student is being homeschooled (Nonpublic and Home School information). The state of Michigan issuing officer will attach the parent/guardian statement to the work permit and keep a copy of the statement with their copy of the work permit filed at the school.
The minor and parent/guardian must complete Section I of the work permit in its entirety (all areas must be completed).
The minor then takes the work permit to the employer, after completing Section I, and the employer must complete Section II of the work permit, in its entirety (all areas must be completed including listing all work the minor will be performing, equipment and/or tools minor will use, starting and ending hours to be worked, number of days per week to be worked and number of hours per days to be worked, etc).
The minor must submit the work permit, after the employer has completed Section II, to a state of Michigan school district, intermediate school district, public school academy or nonpublic school official designated issuing officer for review and to complete section III.
The issuing officer must copy the work permit and place the work permit in the minor's permanent school file and return the original work permit to the minor.
The linked text below can be used to download a Work Permit:
CA-6 Work Permit for minor under 16 years of age
CA-7 Work Permit for minor 16 to 17 years of age
An employer can apply to modify the starting and ending time of a 16 or 17 year old minor by completing one of the available deviation applications.
The General Hours Deviation application is used by an employer to request a modification to the starting and/or ending times for all 16 or 17 year old minors working at their location. The minor's parent must give written consent for the minor to work the deviated hours. A minor cannot be required to work deviated hours by the employer.
The Individual Hours Deviation application is used by an employer to request a modification to the starting and/or ending times for a specific 16 or 17 year old minor working at their location. The minor's parent must give written consent for the minor to work the deviated hours. A minor cannot be required to work deviated hours by the employer.
You can complete a Deviation application through our online portal at the following links:
Online Application for General Hours Deviation (the Employer must maintain written parental consent with the application)
Online Application for Individual Hours Deviation (the Employer must provide written parental consent with the application)