Nominations open for 2020 Governor's Service Awards

Governor's Service Awards winners

The Michigan Community Service Commission is pleased to announce that nominations are being sought for the 2020 Governor’s Service Awards.

The Governor’s Service Awards are given annually by the governor to individuals, organizations and businesses to acknowledge their commitment to serving their communities through volunteerism. This event is hosted by the Michigan Community Service Commission.

The online application for the 2020 Governor’s Service Awards is available at Nominations must be submitted by Jan. 17, 2020. Date and location of the event will be announced at a later date.

“We want to recognize Michigan volunteers who make their community a better place,” Michigan Community Service Commission executive director Ginna Holmes said. “Hearing the stories of Michiganders generosity and giving spirit is inspiring for all.”

Awards will be presented in 10 categories which reflect the diverse nature of volunteers throughout the state. The categories are:

  • Governor George Romney Lifetime Achievement Award: honors an individual who has shown a lifelong commitment to community involvement and volunteerism.
  • Lifetime Humanitarian Award: honors individuals or families that have demonstrated a lifetime of outstanding civic and charitable responsibility to a community or organization.
  • Senior Volunteer of the Year Award: honors individuals age 65 and older who have taken action to make their community a better place to live through service.
  • Volunteer of the Year Award: honors an individual who strives to improve the lives of neighbors, friends, community or congregation through volunteerism.
  • Youth Volunteer of the Year Award: honors individuals who are age 25 or younger who have already begun making a significant difference in their community through service.
  • Mentor of the Year Award: honors an individual who provides youth with the confidence and assets to be successful.
  • Outstanding Volunteer Organization Award: honors service clubs, nonprofit, faith-based, veteran, disaster preparedness and other organizations that make a demonstrated difference in their community.
  • Education Service Leader Award: honors schools, colleges, universities and other organizations that support youth making a difference in their communities.
  • Outstanding National Service Program Award: honors organizations that provide a high-quality national service program that yields a significant impact in a Michigan community.
  • Corporate Community Leader Award: honors corporations and businesses that excel in community involvement and demonstrate excellent corporate citizenship by giving back to their community in a variety of ways.


We suggest:

  1. Preview questions by downloading:

             Sample individual nomination form

Sample organization nomination form

  1. Type your answers in the word form and save.
  1. Copy and paste your answers into Survey Monkey:
  2. Submit application

Provide as much relevant information as possible about your nominee. Your application tells the story of why your nominee deserves to be honored as of one of the outstanding volunteers in Michigan. Self-nominations for individual categories are prohibited. Self-nominations for businesses/organizations are allowed.

Eligible candidates must agree to undergo a background check conducted by the Governor’s office.


All nominations go through an extensive review process that involves a volunteer Peer Review Panel.

The Michigan Community Service Commission Board of Commissioners and the Office of the Governor make the final selections.

There may be multiple award winners in each category.

Awardees and their nominators will be notified a month before the awards ceremony.

The honoree or an agreed upon representative must be present to receive the award.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please visit, call the Michigan Community Service Commission at 517-335-4295 or email