Governor's Awards For Historic Preservation

Capital Dome

Historic resources and archaeological sites tell us about the past and help us maintain Michigan’s unique identity. Their preservation is vital to Michigan’s present and future as they contribute to vibrant communities and our understanding of the past.

Each year the State Historic Preservation Office and the State Historic Preservation Review Board identify worthy recipients to receive the Governor’s Awards for Historic Preservation, which are presented in May during National Historic Preservation Month. The awards recognize homeowners who rehabilitate their homes; developers who transform underutilized historic structures into vital economic assets; and academic institutions, archaeologists, nonprofits and local governments—among others—who strive to preserve Michigan’s important historic and cultural resources.

The 2019 Governor's Awards for Historic Preservation were presented on May 7 in the Michigan State Capitol. Learn more in the Press Release.

2019 Governor's Awards for Historic Preservation

2019 Governor's Awards for Historic Preservation: Overview 

2019 Governor's Awards for Historic Preservation: Cadillac House, Lexington

2019 Governor's Awards for Historic Preservation: Capitol Theatre, Flint

2019 Governor's Awards for Historic Preservation: Cobbs & Mitchell Building, Cadillac

2019 Governor's Awards for Historic Preservation: G.A.R. Building, Detroit

2019 Governor's Awards for Historic Preservation: MHPN Building Trades Programs, statewide

2019 Governor's Awards for Historic Preservation: Warner Homestead, near Brighton

Governor's Awards (By Region)

The State Historic Preservation Office has awarded Governor’s Awards for Historic Preservation annually since 2003. Explore the archive of current and past award winners by region or year below.


Region 1 - Upper PeninsulaMap by Regions
Marquette: Holy Family Orphanage (2018)
Menominee: Lloyd's Department Store (2015)

Region 2 - Northwest
Cadillac: Cobbs & Mitchell Building (2019)
Harbor Springs: Douglas House (2017)
Mackinaw City: Historic Fort Michilimackinac (2016)

Region 4 - West Michigan
Fremont: Fremont High School (2016)
Grand Rapids: Century Furniture Co. & Central Furniture Co. (2017)
Ludington: Sable Points Lighthouse (2018)
Ludington: Lake Michigan Beach House (2014)

Region 5 - East Central
Mount Pleasant:  Mount Pleasant Indian Industrial Boarding School (2016)

Region 6 - East
Flint: Capitol Theatre (2019)
Lexington: Cadillac House (2019)
Owosso: Pere Marquette 1225 Steam Locomotive (2014)

Region 7 - South Central
East Lansing: MSU Campus Archaeology Program (2017)
Lansing: J.W. Knapp Company Building (2015)
Statewide: MHPN Building Trades Programs (2019)

Region 8 - Southwest
Albion: Bohm Theatre (2015)
St. Joseph: North Pier Inner and Outer Lights (2016)

Region 9 - Southeast Michigan
Brighton area: Warner Homestead (2019)
Hanover Twp.: Frederick Kennedy Jr. Farm & Richard Hugh House (2014)
Jackson: Peoples National Bank Building (2017)
Milan: The East Main Redevelopment (2017)

Region 10 - Detroit Metro
Dearborn: Dearborn City Hall Complex (2016)
Detroit: Detroit Fire Department Headquarters Building (2018)
Detroit: Forest Arms Apartments (2018)
Detroit: Grand Army of the Republic Building (2019)
Detroit: Indian Village Historic Streetlights (2016)
Detroit: McGregor Pond & Sculpture Garden (2014)
Detroit: Strathmore Apartments (2017)
Detroit: David Whitney Building (2015)
Pontiac: Strand Theater (2018)
Pontiac: H.V. Mutter Building (2014)


Governor's Awards (By Year)

2019 | 2018 | 20172016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003