Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Media Contact: LARA Communications 517-335-LARA (5272)
February 26, 2019 - At the Michigan Liquor Control Commission hearing last Thursday in Southfield, commissioners ordered the suspension of the liquor license and permits held by two southeast Michigan businesses:
Under state law, the Commission is required to impose a suspension or revocation of the liquor license if a licensee is found liable for three or more violations of MCL 436.1801(2) – sales of alcohol to minors and sales of alcohol to visibly intoxicated persons – on different occasions within a 24-month period.
The violations committed by CVS Pharmacy occurred on November 30, 2016, March 28, 2017 and July 23, 2018. The minor who was sold alcoholic liquor in November 2016 was 17 years of age. The minors who were sold alcoholic liquor in March 2017 and July 2018 were 19 years of age. ID was requested in all incidents, but the minors gave a birthdate that made them over 21 years of age and the clerk completed the transactions.
The violations committed by 7-Eleven occurred on May 6, 2016, September 1, 2016 and November 14, 2017. The minors who were sold alcoholic liquor on these dates were 18, 19, and 20 years of age. In the May 2016 incident, the clerk did not make a diligent inquiry to determine the true age of the purchaser and the minor was able to purchase alcohol. In the September 2016 and November 2017 incidents, identification was requested, but the minors gave the clerk a birthdate making them over 21 years of age and the clerk completed the transactions.
At the MLCC penalty hearing last week – after reviewing the records and files for each company, and hearing arguments from both license holders – the Commission ordered a 17-day license suspension for CVS Pharmacy and a 13-day license suspension for 7-Eleven:
“It is imperative that our licensees do not sell to minors in any circumstance,” said MLCC Chairman Andy Deloney. “Our job is to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public. According to the state liquor control code, the Commission is required to suspend or revoke a license in situations like these. After reviewing both files and considering the entirety of the records in the hearings, the Commission determined that suspending the licenses was appropriate.”