MPSC Appoints 2014 Motor Carrier Advisory Board

Contact:  Judy Palnau, 517-241-3323
Agency:  Michigan Public Service Commission  

December 19, 2013
- The Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC) today announced its appointments to the Motor Carrier Board for 2014. The advisory board consists of members representing the transportation industry and the shipping public in addition to ex-officio members of the Michigan departments of State Police, Transportation, Treasury, and Secretary of State, and the U.S. Department of Transportation.

The following members were appointed for a one-year term:


Joe Ballor of New Haven; Don Beerens of Lansing; Carl Brune of Carson City; James Burg of Warren; Al DeMeester of Ludington; Brian Hitchcock of Webberville; William Kotynski of Ann Arbor; Don Lahring of Waterford; Glen Merkel of Corunna; Doug Ostrowski of Detroit; Joshua Rhodes of Grand Rapids; Michael Rushing of Melvindale; Jim Smullen of Howell; Sarah Stewart of Osseo; and Randy Whitaker of Romulus.

The Motor Carrier Advisory Board facilitates continuing dialogue among the trucking industry, consumers, other interest groups, and state government on issues, problems and solutions important to Michigan freight transportation.

The MPSC is an agency within the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.

For more information about LARA, please visit Follow us on Twitter, “Like” us on Facebook or find us on YouTube