Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Contact: Judy Palnau, 517-241-3323
Agency: Michigan Public Service Commission
May 15, 2013 - The Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC) today approved a settlement agreement setting 9-1-1 surcharge rates for 12 Michigan counties, effective July 1.
On Feb. 14, the Michigan Court of Appeals issued a decision vacating the Commission's Dec. 21, 2010 order regarding 9-1-1 surcharge calculations for 23 appellant counties. The court ordered that any county requesting a contested case hearing would be granted one, and it allowed each county to select either a new contested hearing case or a redetermination by the MPSC based on reopened existing proofs and existing briefs.
On May 3, the MPSC staff filed a partial settlement agreement and release resolving all issues in this case for Alpena, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Emmet, Gogebic, Hillsdale, Houghton, Ionia, Mackinac, Montcalm, Newaygo, and Tuscola counties.
Under the terms of the settlement, monthly 9-1-1 surcharge rates per each device were set, as follows:
Alpena County: $2.46; Charlevoix County: 61 cents; Cheboygan County: 61 cents; Emmet County: 61 cents; Gogebic County: 60 cents; Hillsdale County: $1.70; Houghton County: $1.26; Ionia County: $1.90; Mackinac County: $1.48; Montcalm County: $2.00; Newaygo County: $1.95; and Tuscola County: $2.03.
Rates set under the settlement will be subject to increase only if the increase is approved by voters, pursuant to Michigan law.
Discussions on the 9-1-1 surcharge rates for the remaining 11 counties (Delta, Dickinson, Cass, Chippewa, Grand Traverse, Menominee, Saginaw, Ogemaw, Huron, Alcona and Van Buren), as well as St. Clair County, are still under way.
The MPSC is an agency within the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.
Case No. U-15489