Salesperson License Information

You may read the full text of Public Act 129 of 2017 and the documents related to its enactment on the Michigan Legislature website at the following link: http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?2017-SB-0356.


WHO NEEDS A SALESPERSON LICENSE
Anyone who sells, delivers, promotes, or otherwise assists in the sale of alcoholic liquor to a retailer licensee in Michigan on behalf of a manufacturer, wholesaler, or broker licensee must obtain a Salesperson license.  Based on the type of licensee that the Salesperson licensee represents, the Salesperson licensee may be required to complete a salesperson accreditation program as described below before being licensed or renewing a license.  A Salesperson licensee does not need to complete server training for on-premises licensees.

WHO DOES NOT NEED A SALESPERSON LICENSE
A person employed at the licensed premises of a manufacturer licensee, including taprooms or tasting rooms, who sells or serves alcohol to patrons for on or off premises consumption, such as a bartender, server, or wait staff, does not require a Salesperson license.  The manufacturer licensee still must comply with the server training requirements for the sale and service of alcohol on its licensed premises, but those requirements are not the same requirements as the salesperson accreditation program below.

Also, an individual that is 18 years of age that only does any of the following does not require a Salesperson license:

  • Builds a display of those brands that are represented or sold by the individual's employer for an off-premises retailer.
  • Marks the price on those brands that are represented or sold by the individual's employer for an off-premises retailer.
  • Rotates brands that are represented or sold by the individual's employer for an off-premises retailer.
  • Places brands that are represented or sold by the individual's employer on shelves for an off-premises retailer.
  • An individual who holds a Michigan commercial driver license or chauffeur's license and transports and delivers alcoholic liquor to a retailer in a vehicle licensed by the Commission under MCL 436.1525 (i.e. Wholesaler or qualified Micro Brewer licensee delivery vehicle).

APPLICATION FORM AND OTHER RELATED FORMS

Salesperson License Application (LCC-153)

Notification Forms For Off-Premises Tastings and On-Premises Promotion Events
Beer & Wine Tasting Event Notification (LCC-257)
Consumer Sampling Event Notification (LCC-258)

On-Premises Brand Promotion Notification (LCC-259)


REQUIREMENTS FOR SALESPERSON WORKING FOR BEER OR WINE RELATED LICENSEE
Beginning April 15, 2018, pursuant to Public Act 129 of 2017 (MCL 436.1502), a Salesperson applicant that works for a licensee listed below as a Beer or Wine Related Licensee must submit with his or her application written documentation that the applicant has successfully completed a salesperson accreditation program approved by the Commission. A Salesperson licensee that works for a a Beer or Wine Related Licensee as listed below must also submit acceptable proof of completion of a salesperson accreditation program no more than 120 days before renewing a Salesperson license. A Salesperson licensee that was issued a license under Administrative Rule R 436.1853 prior to April 15, 2018 must comply with the requirements of MCL 436.1502, including providing proof of completion of the a salesperson accreditation program upon renewing his or her Salesperson license, transferring the license to a different company, or applying for a new Salesperson license under a different company.  Pursuant to MCL 436.1502(5), some individuals may be exempt from obtaining a Salesperson license based on the type of work the individual does.  Please click here for a list of exemptions.

Please note: salesperson accreditation is not the same as server training for on-premises licensees - they are separate programs with different requirements.

List of Beer or Wine Related Licensee Types
- If a Salesperson license applicant or licensee works for one of the following licensees, the Salesperson license applicant or licensee must complete an approved salesperson accreditation program before the issuance of a new Salesperson license or the renewal of an existing Salesperson license:

  • Micro Brewer licensee
  • Brewer licensee
  • Small Wine Maker licensee
  • Wine Maker licensee
  • Mixed Spirit Drink Manufacturer licensee
  • Outstate Seller of Beer licensee
  • Outstate Seller of Wine licensee
  • Outstate Seller of Mixed Spirit Drink licensee
  • Wholesaler licensee
  • A Broker licensee representing Beer or Wine Related licensees only
  • A Broker licensee representing Beer or Wine Related licensees AND Spirits Related licensees

REQUIREMENTS FOR SALESPERSON WORKING FOR SPIRITS RELATED LICENSEE
Beginning April 15, 2018, pursuant to Public Act 129 of 2017 (MCL 436.1502), a Salesperson license applicant that works for only a licensee listed below as a Spirits Related Licensee is not required to submit written documentation of successful completion of a salesperson accreditation program for issuance or renewal of a Salesperson license. A Salesperson licensee that works for only a licensee listed below as a Spirits Related Licensee and who was issued a license under Administrative Rule R 436.1853 prior to April 15, 2018 must comply with all other requirements of MCL 436.1502, except for the requirement to complete a salesperson accreditation program.  Pursuant to MCL 436.1502(5), some individuals may be exempt from obtaining a Salesperson license based on the type of work the individual does.  Please click here for a list of exemptions.

List of Spirits Related Licensee Types - If a Salesperson license applicant or licensee works for one of the following licensees, the Salesperson license applicant or licensee is not required to complete a salesperson accreditation program:

  • Small Distiller licensee
  • Manufacturer of Spirits licensee
  • Vendor of Spirits
  • A Broker licensee representing Spirits Related licensees only

COMMISSION APPROVED SALESPERSON ACCREDITATION PROGRAMS

Michigan Salesperson License Accreditation Program - mbwwasaleslicense.org
Program managed by Michigan Beer & Wine Wholesalers Association
Phone: 517-482-5555 ext. 215

Please note: salesperson accreditation is not the same as server training for on-premises licensees - they are separate programs with different requirements.