Governor Granholm Appoints 23 Members to the Michigan Committee on Juvenile Justice

Contact: Liz Boyd 517-335-6397

August 29, 2003                  

LANSING – Governor Jennifer M. Granholm today announced that she has appointed 19 new members and reappointed 4 members to the Michigan Committee on Juvenile Justice.  The committee is made up of individuals representing various aspects of the juvenile justice community.

The Governor has designated Jeriel Heard of Oakland County chair of the committee.  Heard is currently the associate director of Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick’s Mayor’s Time program.  He was previously the assistant county executive of the Wayne County Department of Community Justice.

“Jeriel knows the justice system inside and out,” Granholm said.  “He will use that knowledge and expertise in this position to ensure that we are moving the juvenile justice system forward.”

The following members are appointed:

•Joseph M. Underwood, Jr. of Cass County
•The Honorable Bill Ervin of Isabella County
•Joseph K. Sheeran of Bay County
•Leonard Dixon of Wayne County
•Carol Harton of Ingham County
•Joan M. Doughty PhD. of Washtenaw County
•Jeriel Heard of Oakland County
•Sharkey Haddad of Wayne County
•Alexander R. Montaner of Wayne County
•Edward Rivera of Wayne County
•Marilyn “Joey” Latterman of Ingham County
•Amy Good of Wayne County
•Clarence L. Williams of Wayne County
•Helen V. Brinkman of Kent County
•Joshua L. Davidson of Kent County
•Jeffery R. Fink of Kalamazoo County
•Betsy B. Mellows of Wayne County
•DeAndry L. Nolan of Genesee County
•Gary L. Walker of Marquette County

The following members are reappointed:

•Diane M Giddings of Lenawee County
•Carl S. Taylor, PhD. of Ingham County
•Sara N. Antoine of Marquette County
•The Honorable Elizabeth A. Weaver of Leelanau County

“The diverse interests and talents of these individuals will combine to make a particularly strong juvenile justice committee,” Granholm said.  “I know they will serve with pride and will serve the people of Michigan well.”

The Committee on Juvenile Justice was organized in 1974 as an independent state-level body to provide leadership and policy direction for administration of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Act in Michigan.  The committee provides funding for programs in areas including aftercare/reintegration services; alternatives to jail; community-based services; delinquency prevention; gender specific services; juvenile-oriented community policing; minority over-representation; and Native American pass-through.

All members are appointed to a term expiring March 15, 2006, and are not subject to advice and consent of the Senate.