Equal Opportunity is theLaw

It is against the law for this recipient of Federal financial
assistance to discriminate on the following bases:

¢ Against any individual in the United States, on
the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin,
age, disability, political affiliation or belief; and

¢ Against any beneficiary of programs financially
assisted under Title I of the Workforce Investment Act of
1998 (WIA), on the basis of the beneficiary's citizenship/
status as a lawfully admitted immigrant authorized to work
in the United States, or his or her participation in any WIA

Title I-financially assisted program or activity.

The recipient must not discriminate in any of the
following areas:

¢ Deciding who will be admitted; or have access, to any
WIA Title I-financially assisted program or activity;

¢ Providing opportunities in, or treating any person
with regard to, such a program or activity; or

e Making employment decisions in the administration
of, or in connection with, such a program or activity.

What to Do If You Believe You Have Experienced Discrimination

If you think that you have been subjected to
discrimination under a WIA Title I-financially assisted

program or activity, you may file a complaint within 180
days from the date of the alleged violation with either:

State Equal Opportunity Officer
Workforce Development Agency
201 North Washington Square, 5™ Floor
Lansing, Michigan 48913

or

Naomi M. Barry Pérez, Director
Civil Rights Center (CRC)
U.S. Department of Labor
200 Constitution Avenue NW, Room N-4123
Washington, D.C. 20210

If you file your complaint with the recipient, you must
wait either until the recipient issues a written, Notice of
Final Action, or until 90 days have passed (whichever is
sooner), before filing with the Civil Rights Center (see
address above).

If the recipient does not give you a written Notice of
Final Action within 90 days of the day on which you filed
your complaint, you do not have to wait for the recipient to
issue that Notice before filing a complaint with CRC.

However, you must file your CRC complaint within 30
days of the 90-day deadline (in other words, within 120
days after the day on which you filed your complaint
with the recipient).

If the recipient does give you a written Notice of Final
Action on your complaint, but you are dissatisfied with the
decision or resolution, you may file a complaint with CRC.
You must file your CRC complaint within 30 days of the
date on which you received the Notice of Final Action.

The Workforce Development Agency, State of Michigan is an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.






