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Health Care Services 
Rules         v      Manual  

*Promulgate rules 
governing health care 
services under the 
Michigan Workers’ 
Disability Compensation 
Act of 1969.
*Identified by the R418.   
distinction

*Is designed to be user 
friendly.
*Any reference in the 
manual to “MCL418” 
relates to the statute.
*Any conflicts between 
the language of the 
manual and the rules, the 
language of the rules 
controls.
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Providers billing
“30-30-60”

If no response within

30 Days

of initial billing

Submit a second bill 
with request for 3% 
late fee. 

If no response within 
30 Days

of second billing

File a WC-104B.

Reconsideration 
must be made within 

60 Days
If response is received 
(payment/denial), that 
provider does not agree 
with. Failure to do a 
reconsideration within 
60 days may preclude 
the provider from further 
action by the Workers’ 
Compensation Agency.
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Carrier’s Response to Providers 
Request of Reconsideration

R 418.101303

(1)Within 30 days 
of receipt of a 
provider’s request 
for reconsideration, 
the carrier shall 
notify the provider 
of the actions taken 
and provide a 
detailed statement 
of the reasons.

(2) A provider shall 
send its application 
for hearing to the 
agency within 30 
days from the date 
of the receipt of a 
carrier’s denial of 
this provider’s 
request for 
reconsideration.

(3) If, within 60 days of 
the provider’s request 
for reconsideration, the 
provider does not 
receive payment for the 
adjusted or rejected bill, 
or a written detailed 
statement of the 
reasons for the actions 
taken by the carrier, 
then the provider may 
apply for hearing.
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WC-104B

EVERYONE 
SHOULD BE USING 
THE 09/2013
VERSION.

Available on our website:

www.Michigan.gov/wca

Required information 

*Employee name

*Full Social Security  

Number

*Employee Date of Birth

*Employer Information 

*Insurance Company, if one is 
being billed
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Filing aWC-104B
Why

*For assistance in

resolving payment issues

with the carrier.

*To be added as an

intervening party if the 

case is in litigation.

*To get in front of a

magistrate.

When
*No less than 60 days from

the initial billing.

*When you learn a case is

in litigation and there are

outstanding balances.

*After request for 

reconsideration has been

submitted without

resolution.
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What You Need to Know
*What services were rendered on the date of service.
*Original billed amount.
*Date & amount of any payment received.
*Date of first reconsideration.
*Who has contact been made with, their telephone

number and extension.
*Outcome of the contact.
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Withdrawing a WC-104B

*Sign the bottom of the hearing notice
*Fax ONLY the signed hearing notice 
*Do NOT send a cover sheet, letter, copy of the       

WC-104B.
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WC-104B Moves to the 
Magistrate

*Provider representative should come in for at least 1
hearing after the pretrial.

*Discuss with magistrate and other attorneys.
*You can not talk to the magistrate without other parties

present.
*Bring copies of bills/medical records
*Don’t depend on other counsel to defend your case.
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Litigate Case v. Disputed 
Case

Litigated case

*WC-104A has been filed.

*Injured worker is pursuing

their claim through

litigation.

Disputed Case

*W-107, Notice of Dispute,

has been filed by the carrier.

*If the injured worker does

not file a WC-104A, then 

in the eyes of the state, 

the dispute stands.
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What to do if a case is in 
litigation

*If there are outstanding bills, file a WC-104B.
*Send copies of outstanding bills to the injured worker

and their attorney.
*Obtain a copy of the Notice of Dispute.
*Submit the bills to the injured worker’s health

insurance.
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Copy Charge for Medical 
Records

*Only those records for a specific date of injury are covered

under the HCS Rules. 

*The rules do not pertain to medical records requested by

subpoena that are part of litigation. 

*For records other than those applying to the  specific date

of injury, the provider may bill their usual and customary

charge.

*Requesting party shall pay the copying charge.
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Requests for Existing Medical 
Records and Reports

R418.10114

*There is nothing in the HCS Rules that
preclude a carrier, a carriers agent, and employee,  
or and employee agent from requesting additional  
existing medical records and reports related to a 
specific date of injury. 
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Requests for Existing Medical Records & Reports continued

*If a provider is requested by the carrier to prepare and 

submit a special written report in addition to the medical  

records required, the provider shall bill the special report 

using procedure code 99199-32. For special reports up to 3 

pages in length, the carrier shall reimburse the provider at 

$25.00 per page. 

*Complex reports greater that 3 pages in length or record 

review shall b reimbursed on a contractual basis between  

the carrier and the provider.
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Nurse Case Managers
R418.10121

*The provider may bill the rehabilitation nurse or nurse 
case manager visit in addition to the evaluation and 
management service using code RN001.  The carrier 
shall reimburse the provider $25.00 for the RN001.

*Procedure code RN001 shall be reimbursed at the 
maximum allowable fee if the provider bills during the 
global period for a surgical service. 
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No Record of Coverage

Look at the employees address.
Look at the employers address.
Is there a claim under another states jurisdiction.
Call the employer to determine if they have a 
workers’ comp policy.
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Jurisdiction is forever

17



Are you speaking the same 
language?
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Health Care Provider

A “claim” is the bill that is 
submitted to the carrier for 
services rendered to the 
injured employee..

What does “Claim” mean to you?

Carrier

A “claim” is the file set up 
to investigate the alleged 
injury and pay the 
appropriate benefits, if 
owed.
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2018 Health Care Services 
Rules

The updated rules, manual and fee schedule are based on 2018 source 
documents such as the 2018 October release CMS Physicians Fee 
Schedule, as well as 2018 CPT® and HCPCS®  Level II procedure 
codes. Some highlights of the updated rule language include: 

A.  Updated source document listings.

B.  Updated conversion factor: up to $47.66 from $47.19.

C.  New definition and rule language regarding Telemedicine Services.

Hospital cost-to-charge ratios updated every August.
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Air Ambulance
Effective March 15, 2018
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Air Ambulance continued

*R 418.10926 & R 418.101010

*Billed on CMS 1500. Codes used to bill include   A0430, A0431,   
A0435, A0436 (depending if rotary or fixed wing).

*Maximum allowable reimbursement based on Medicare (CMS) rate x 
1.40.

*Map utilizes the practice expense (PE) of the geographical information 
(GPCI) using a melded average of 60% of figures for city of Detroit and 
40% of the figures published for the rest of the state.  Geographic 
adjustment factor is applied to 50% of the base rate for A0430 & A0431.
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Air Ambulance continued

*Rural or urban rate depends on air ambulance point of pick up    
zip code.

*Mileage reimbursed per documented loaded patient miles 
flown. Rounded to the nearest tenth for trips up to 100 miles, 
rounded to nearest whole number for trips totaling 100 covered 
miles or more.

*Air Ambulance provider owned by hospital and billing with 
same tax ID number as hospital is reimbursed based on 
hospital’s cost-to-charge ratio.
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Air Ambulance Rates
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CPT Code MI Urban Rate MI Rural Rate

A0430 $4,186.31 $6,279.46

A0431 $4,867.21 $7,300.82

A0435 $12.11 $18.17

A0436 $32.33 $48.50



Telemedicine:

How is it billed? How is it 
reimbursed? 
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Telemedicine
*Use of an electronic media to link patients with health 
care professionals in different locations. 
*To be considered telemedicine, the health care 
professional must be able to examine via real-time, 
interactive  audio and video telecommunications system, 
and the patient must be able to interact with the off-site 
health care professional at the time the services are 
provided.
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Billing for Telemedicine Services
R418-10901(4)

A health care professional billing for telemedicine services shall 
only utilize procedure codes listed in Appendix P of the CPT 
codebook…to describe services provided excluding CPT 
codes 99241-99245 and 99251-99255.  The provider shall 
append modifier -95 to the procedure code to indicate 
synchronous telemedicine services rendered vis a real-time 
interactive audio and video telecommunications system with 
place of service code -02.  All other applicable modifiers shall 
be appended in addition to modifier -95.
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Modifier Code Reimbursement
R418-101004(14)

*When modifier -95 is used with a procedure code 
listed in Appendix P of the CPT 
codebook…excluding  CPT codes 99241-99245 
and 99251-99255, the telemedicine services shall 
be reimbursed according to all of the following: 
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Modified Code Reimbursement continued

(a) The carrier shall reimburse the procedure code at the 
non-facility maximum allowable payment, or the billed 
charge, whichever is less. 
(b) Supplies and costs for the telemedicine data 
collection, storage, or transmission shall not be 
unbundled and reimbursed separately. 
(c) Originating site facility fees shall not be separately 
reimbursed. 
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Reimbursement for Dispensed 
Medications

R418.101003a

(1) Prescription medication shall be reimbursed at the 
average wholesale price (AWP) minus 10%, as 
determined by Red Book or Medi-Span. All of the 
following shall apply: 

(a) The dispensing fee for a brand name drug shall be  
$3.30 and shall be billed with WC-700-B.
(b) The dispensing fee for a generic drug shall be $5.50 
and shall be billed with WC-700-G.
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Reimbursement of Dispensed Medications continued

(e) When an original manufacturer’s NDC number is not 
available in either Red Book or Medi-Span and a 
pharmaceutical is billed using an unlisted or “not 
otherwise specified code”, the payer shall select the most 
closely related NDC number to use for reimbursement 
of the pharmaceutical. 
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Reimbursement of Dispensed Medications continued

(2) Over-the-counter (OTC’s) dispensed by a 
provider other than a pharmacy, shall be dispensed in 10-
day quantities and shall be reimbursed at the average 
wholesale price, as determined by Red Book or Medi-
Span or $2.50, whichever is greater. 
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Reimbursement of Dispensed Medications continued

(3) Commercially manufactured topical medications, which are 
over-the-counter or contain over-the-counter ingredients and 
do not meet the definition of “custom compound, dispensed by a 
pharmacy or provider other than a pharmacy, shall be dispensed 
in a 30-day supply. Reimbursement shall be at a maximum of the 
pharmacy or provider’s acquisition cost invoice plus a single 
dispensing fee.  The single dispensing fee shall be  $8.50 and 
shall be billed with WC700-T. 

Examples of these types of medications include, but are not 
limited to Dendracin, Lenzagel, and Medrox. 
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Reimbursement for Custom Compound 
Topical Medication

R418.101009

(1) A custom compound topical medication…shall be 
reimbursed only when the compound meets all of the 
following standards:

(a) There is no readily available commercially manufactured 
equivalent product. 

(b) No other FDA approved alternative drug is appropriate 
for the patient.

(c) The active ingredients of the compound each have an 
NDC number and are components of drugs approved by the 

FDA.
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Reimbursement of Custom Compound Topical Medications continued

(d) The drug has not been withdrawn or removed from the market for safety reasons. 

(e) The prescriber is able to demonstrate to the payer that the compound medication is clinically 
appropriate for the intended use. 

(2) Topical compound drugs or medications shall be billed using the specific amount of each component 
drug and its original NDC number included in the compound. Reimbursement shall be based on a 
maximum reimbursement of the AWP minus 10% based upon the original manufacturer’s NDC 
number…and pro-rated for each compound used.  Components without NDC numbers shall not be 
reimbursed. A single dispensing fee for a compound prescription shall be $12.50 for a non-sterile 
compound.  The dispensing fee for a compound prescription shall be billed with code WC700-C. The 
provider shall dispense a 30-day supply per prescription.

(3) Reimbursement for a custom compound drug is limited to a maximum of $600.00. Any charges 
exceeding this amount must be accompanied by the original component manufacturers’ invoice

pro-rated for each component used, for review by the carrier.
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Reimbursement of biologicals, durable medical 
equipment and supplies.

R418.101003b

(1) The carrier shall reimburse durable medical equipment 
(DME), supplies, and biologicals at Medicare plus 5%.  
Biologicals that have NDC numbers shall be billed and 
reimbursed under R418.10912.

(2) Rented DME shall be identified on the providers’ bill by 
RR.  Modified NU will identify if the item is purchased, new. 
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Reimbursement of biologicals, durable medical equipment & supplies continued

(3) If a DME, supply or biological exceeding $35.00 is not 
listed in the fee schedule, or if the service is billed with a not 
otherwise specified code, them reimbursement shall be 
manufacturers’ invoice cost plus a mark-up as follows: 
(a) Invoice cost of $35.01 to $100.00 shall receive cost plus 50%

(b) Invoice cost of $100.01 to $250.00 shall receive cost plus 30%

(c) Invoice cost of $250.01 to $700.00 shall receive cost plus 25%

(d) Invoice cost of $700.01 or higher shall receive cost plus 20%
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Durable Medical Equipment
R418.10913

(1) If the equipment or supply billed using an unlisted or not 
otherwise specified code, and the charge exceeds $35.00, than 
an invoice shall included with the bill.

(3) Durable medical equipment may be billed as a rental or a 
purchase. If possible, the provider and carrier should agree 
before dispensing the item as to whether it should be a rental or 
purchased item.  With the exception of oxygen, rented DMC is 
considered purchased equipment once the monthly rental 
allowance exceeds the purchase price or payment of 12 months 
rental, whichever comes first. 
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Durable Medical Equipment continued

(a) If the worker’s medical condition changes or does not 
improve as expected then rental may be discontinued in favor of 
purchase.

(b) If death occurs, rental fees for equipment will terminate as 
the end of the month and additional rental payment shall not be 
made.

(c) The return of rented equipment is the dual responsibility of 
the worker and the DME supplier. The carrier is not 
responsible and shall not be required to reimburse for additional 
rental periods solely because of a delay in equipment returns. 
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Durable Medical Equipment continued

(d) Oxygen equipment shall be considered a rental as long as 
the equipment is medically necessary.  The equipment rental 
allowance includes reimbursement for the oxygen contents. 

(4) A bill for an expendable medical supply shall include the 
brand name and quantity dispensed.

(5) A bill for a miscellaneous supply, for example, a wig, shoes, 
or shoe modification, shall be submitted on an invoice if the 
supplier is not listed as a health care professional. 
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Global Surgical Procedures; 
Services Include

R418.10401

(1)(b) Subsequent to the decision for surgery, 1 related 
evaluation and management encounter on the date 
immediately prior to or on the date of the procedure is 
included.  However, when and initial evaluation and 
management encounter occurs and the decision for 
surgery is made at that encounter, the evaluation and 
management service is payable in addition to the surgical 
procedure.
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Reimbursement for “By Report” 
and ancillary procedures 

R418.101003

(2) The following ancillary service are by report and the 
provider shall be reimbursed either at the practitioner’s 
usual and customary charge or reasonable payment, 
whichever is less: 
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Reimbursement for “By Report” & ancillary procedures continued

(a)  Ground Ambulance Services
(b)  Dental services
(c)  Vision and prosthetic optical services
(d)  Hearing aid services
(e)  Home health services

“By Report” does not necessarily mean charges  
are “paid in full”.
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Reimbursement for Treatment of 
Chronic, Non-Cancer Pain with Opioids

R418.101008

*Provider may bill the additional services required for documenting compliance with these  
chronic opioid rules using CPT procedure code 99215 for the initial 90-day report and all 
follow-up reports at 90 day intervals.

*Providers may bill $25, using code MPS01, for accessing MAPS or an automated 
prescription drug monitoring program in the treating jurisdiction.  This charge is reimbursed 
ONLY when part of the 90 day opioid treatment reporting.

Drug testing, drug screening, and drug confirmation testing shall use ONLY the

appropriate procedure codes G0480-G0483, G0659, or 80305-80307. 

Maximum of one service unit per procedure code per date of service.

*Carrier may file a104C form with the Agency for non-compliance.
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Required Opioid Documentation for 
Chronic, Non-Cancer Pain

R418.101008a
In order to receive reimbursement for opioid treatment beyond 90 days, the physician seeking 
reimbursement shall submit a report containing the following: 

1) Review of relevant prior medical history/treatment, including consults or review of MAPS data, 
number of days since opioid treatment started, MED level, etc. 

2) Summary of conservative care rendered that focused on increased function and return to work, 
including a statement as to why prior or alternative conservative measures were ineffective or 
contraindicated.

3) Review of results obtained from industry accepted screening tool to detect increased risk of 
abuse.

4) Treatment plan that includes: 

a) Treatment goals and functional progress.

b)  Periodic UDS.

c)  Consideration of weaning from opioids.

d)  Opioid treatment agreement which is reviewed, updated and

renewed every 6 months.
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Laboratory Procedure Codes and 
Maximum Allowable Payments

R418.101503

(1) The workers’ compensation agency shall determine the 
maximum allowable payment for laboratory procedure 
codes found in the CPT and HCPCS codebooks.  The 
rate shall be determined by multiplying the Medicare rate 
established for this state by 110%. 

(2) The pathology procedure codes found in the 80000 series 
of the CPY code set have assigned relative values and 
shall be provided on the agency’s website.
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Laboratory Procedure Codes & Maximum Allowable Payments continued

(3) The maximum allowable payments for laboratory 

and pathology procedures shall be provided on the agency’s 

website.

(4) A provider performing drug testing, drug screening, 

and drug confirmation testing shall use the appropriate procedure

codes G0480-G0483, G0659 or 80305-80307 listed in the

HCPCS or CPT codebook.  A maximum of one service unit per 

procedure code per date of service shall be billed with these codes.  
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DRUG SCREEN 
CODE MAPS
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Frequent Questions
* Services provided by non-physician (nurse practitioner, advanced 
practice nurse, or physician assistant) require modifier –GF and are 
reimbursed at 85% of the MAP, or the usual and customary charge, 
whichever is less.  HCS Rules do not reference “Incident to” billing.

* NCCI edits – R418-10106(2) states procedure codes and standard 
billing and coding instructions are adopted from most recent “Current 
Procedural Terminology (CPT®)” adopted in the rule set.  What 
happens if NCCI edit and CPT codebook in disagreement?
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2018 Health Care Services Advisory 
Committee Meetings

Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019

All meetings are from 1:30p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
2501 Woodlake Circle

Okemos, MI  48864
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Voicemail Messages for Facilitators

* Injured employees name, spelling the last name.
* At least the last four digits of the social security

number.
* Date and time of the hearing, if known.
*Callers name and complete call back number, 
including any extension.
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Finally, please remember…

The Workers’ Compensation Agency does not 
handle individual claims, fee schedule bills, pay bills, 

authorize treatment, or issue checks.
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Agency Contacts
Kathy Witchell, Facilitator  517-284-8892 witchellk@Michigan.gov

Denise Willmore, Facilitator 517-284-8893 willmored@Michigan.gov

Kris Kloc, HCS Analyst 57-284-8898 klock@Michigan.gov

David Campbell, Manager 517-284-8891 campbelld5@Michigan.gov

Insurance Coverage: 517-284-8922

Fax:  517-284-8899

www.Michigan.gov/wca
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