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LETTER RULING 2015-2

LR 2015-2. The effect on audits of changes made to statute of limitations extensions by
Public Act 3 of 2014.

You ask what effect Public Act 3 of 2014 (PA 3) has on the statute of limitations as it relates to:
1) audits commenced before February 6, 2014, (the effective date of PA 3); 2) audits commenced
on or after February 6, 2014, but before October 1, 2014, and; 3) audits commenced on or after
October 1, 2014.

Before the enactment of PA 3, a state audit “suspended” or tolled the 4-year statute of limitations
for the period of the audit plus an additional year.! In addition, there was no requirement to
conclude an audit within a specified timeframe, because an audit stopped the statute of
limitations from running and restarted it only at the conclusion of the audit. Once restarted, the
statute of limitations continued to run for the balance of time that was left in the 4-year statute
when it was suspended. The expiration of the statute of limitations was then calculated by taking
the date that an audit was completed and adding to that date the number of days that remained in
the 4-year statute of limitations at the time the audit commenced, and then adding an additional
year.?

PA 3, although enacted on February 6, 2014, amended the Revenue Act to require that audits
commenced after September 30, 2014, be completed and a preliminary audit determination
provided within 1 year of the expiration of the 4-year statute of limitations, and that the
Department must also issue the final assessment within 9 months of the preliminary audit
determination unless the Department and the taxpayer otherwise agree in writing or the taxpayer
seeks reconsideration of the preliminary audit determination. See MCL 205.21(6) and (7).

This changes pre-PA 3 procedures in that audits can no longer continue indefinitely, and a state
audit no longer stops and restarts the limitations period, eliminating tolling effective February 6,
2014. But the new state audit extension provision of PA 3 only applies to audits commenced
after September 30, 2014, thereby creating a “gap” period where no tolling or extension applies.
See MCL 205.21(6) and (7). Final assessments resulting from audits commenced in this “gap”
period must therefore be issued within the 4-year statute of limitations, unless the taxpayer and
the Department otherwise agree.®

! See Public Act 211 of 2012 for a pre-PA 3 version of section 27a(3)(a).

2 This calculation method arose as a result of the Michigan Court of Appeals’ interpretation of MCL 205.27a(3)(a)
in Krueger v Dep’t of Treasury, 296 Mich App 656 (2012).

3 Refund requests must also be made within the statute of limitations. PA 3 did not create extensions after
September 30, 2104, for refund claims as it did for assessments.
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Michigan law applies changes to the statute of limitations prospectively absent a clear and
unequivocal expression of a contrary intent. Davis v State Employees’ Retirement Bd, 272 Mich
App 151, 161-162 (2006). PA 3 did not amend the statute of limitations itself, but it did
significantly alter the circumstances which lengthen that limitation period, which has the same
effect upon parties’ rights. PA 3’s elimination of tolling of the statute of limitations for
Department audits affects the Department’s right to assess tax liability and the taxpayer’s right to
claim a refund — both substantive rights. Because the Legislature did not clearly express an
intent to apply PA 3 retroactively, Michigan law dictates that it be applied prospectively only.

Prospective application of PA 3 requires that audits commenced before February 6, 2014 fall
under the statute of limitations suspension provisions as they existed in MCL 205.27a(3) prior to
PA 3: the statute of limitations remains suspended until the conclusion of the audit, and the
limitations period for those audits is calculated by adding one year to the date the audit
concluded and then adding to that the balance of time that remained in the 4-year statute of
limitations when the audit was commenced. For state audits commenced in the “gap” period
between February 6, 2014, and September 30, 2014, no tolling or extension of the statute of
limitations is available. For state audits commenced on or after October 1, 2014, the statute of
limitations extension provisions of PA 3 apply.
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