
aa E-filing your return is easy, fast, and secure!

aa Three-fourths (over 3.8 million) of all Michigan taxpayers choose e-file.

aa E-filed returns are usually processed within 14 business days (see page 3). Please 
allow 14 days before checking the status of your e-filed return.      

aa Tax preparers who complete 11 or more Michigan Individual Income Tax returns are 
required to e-file all eligible returns supported by their software (see page 3).

aa Free e-file is available. Do you qualify?

aa Visit Treasury’s Web site at www.MIfastfile.org for a list of e-file resources, how to 
find an e-file provider, and more information on free e-file services.

This booklet is intended as a guide to help complete your return. It does not take the place of the law.
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Help With Your Taxes 
New for 2014
�e-Payments. Individual income tax filers now have the 
option of making payments electronically using the Michigan 
Department of Treasury’s e-Payments system. Paying 
electronically is easy, fast and secure. The available payment 
types include individual income tax payment (tax due on 
the MI-1040), quarterly estimated income tax payments and 
individual income tax extension payments. Payments can be 
made using direct debit (eCheck) from a checking or savings 
account, or using a credit or debit card. There is no fee for 
eCheck payments. Credit and debit card payments will 
be charged a convenience fee (2.35% of the total payment 
for credit cards and a flat fee of $3.95 for debit cards),  
which is paid directly to the payment processing vendor.  
Visit www.michigan.gov/iit for more information.
Michigan Standard Deduction. If the older of you or your 
spouse (if married filing jointly) was born during the period 
January 1, 1946 through January 1, 1948, and reached the 
age of 67 on or before December 31, 2014, you may deduct 
$20,000 for single or married filing separately filers or 
$40,000 for joint filers against all income, rather than 
solely against pension and retirement income. Taxpayers 
that qualify for the Michigan Standard Deduction are not 
eligible to deduct pension and retirement income on the        
Michigan Pension Schedule (Form 4884).
Self Service Options
The Michigan Department of Treasury (Treasury) offers 
a variety of services designed to assist you, and most are 
available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

IMPORTANT: To obtain information about your 
account using the Internet and Telephone Options listed 
below, you will need the following information from your 
return:
•	 �Social Security number (SSN) of the primary filer (the 

filer listed first on the return)
•	 Tax year of the return
•	 �Adjusted gross income (AGI) or total household 

resources
•	 �Filing status (single, married filing jointly, married 

filing separately).

Internet Options
www.michigan.gov/incometax
Find the following information on this Web site: 
•	 Current year forms and instructions
•	 Answers to many tax preparation questions
•	 Most commonly used tax forms
•	 Free assistance in preparing your return
•	 �Retirement, Pension, Interest, Dividends, Capital Gain 

Estimators
•	 Other tax resources.
www.michigan.gov/iit
This secure Web site was designed specifically to protect 
your personal tax information. Use this Web site to:  
•	 Check the status of your return
•	 Check estimated payments you made during the year
•	 Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury
•	 �Pay your tax due on the MI-1040, and make quarterly 

estimated income tax and individual income tax extension 
payments

•	 Change your address
•	 Ask a specific question about your account. 
Telephone Options
(517) 636-4486
Automated Information Service
With Treasury’s automated phone system, you can: 
•	 Request the status of your refund
•	 Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury
•	 Request information on estimated payments
•	 Order current tax year forms.
While most questions can be answered by the Automated 
Information Service, customer service representatives are 
available from 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan 
Relay Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 or 711. Printed 
material in an alternate format may be obtained by calling 
(517) 636-4486.
Forms
Find tax forms using the Internet and Telephone Options 
listed on this page. Commonly used forms are also available 
at Treasury offices (see back cover), most public libraries, 
Northern Michigan post offices, and Department of Human 
Services (DHS) county offices.

Anytime of the night or day, go to 
www.michigan.gov/taxes 
and look for these icons to help find 

answers to your questions!
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General Information
Adjusted Gross Income (AGI)
Throughout this booklet, Treasury refers to adjusted gross 
income as AGI. When AGI is asked for, copy your AGI 
directly from your U.S. Form 1040, U.S. Form 1040A, or U.S. 
Form 1040EZ.

Tax Rate, Exemption Allowances, and Deductions 
for Retirees and Seniors
The income tax rate for 2014 is 4.25 percent.
For tax year 2014, the personal exemption allowance is 
$4,000, the special exemption allowance for deaf, blind, 
hemiplegic, paraplegic, quadriplegic, or totally and 
permanently disabled is $2,500 and the exemption allowance 
for qualified disabled veterans is $400. See page 8 for more 
information.
Retirement/pension benefits included in AGI from a 
pension or an Individual Retirement Account (IRA) may 
be deductible. See Form 4884 instructions beginning on  
page 14 for further details regarding retirement/pension 
benefit deductions based on year of birth and filing status.
Senior citizens born before 1946 may be able to deduct part 
of their interest, dividends, and capital gains that are included 
in AGI. For 2014, the deduction is limited to a maximum 
of $10,929 for single filers and $21,857 for joint filers. See 
Michigan Schedule 1 (Schedule 1) instructions beginning on 
page 11 for further details regarding dividend/interest/capital 
gains deductions.

Filing Extension Granted for Military 
Personnel Serving in a Combat Zone
United States military personnel serving in a combat zone 
on April 15, 2015, will be given 180 days after leaving the 
combat zone to file their federal and State tax returns and 
will be exempt from penalties and interest. When e-filing, 
service men and women serving in combat zones should 
enter the words “Combat Zone” in the preparer notes. When 
filing a paper return, print “Combat Zone” in ink on the top 
of page 1 of the MI-1040. 

Appeals of Adjusted Refunds or Credits
Taxpayers have 60 days from the issuance of refund denials, 
refund adjustments, or Treasury decisions (other than final 
assessment), that may be appealed under Section 22 of the 
Revenue Act, to request informal conferences. 

Choose e-file Instead of Paper Returns. Get Your 
Refund Fast!
E-filing eliminates many of the errors that lengthen 
processing times. E-file returns are usually processed within 
14 days. Tax preparers who complete 11 or more individual 
income tax returns are required to e-file all eligible returns. 
Visit www.MIfastfile.org for a list of e-file resources, how 
to find an e-file provider, and more information on free e-file 
services. When e-filing, do not mail a paper copy of your 
return.

Property Tax Credits/Refunds
A reminder from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). 
Michigan homestead property tax credit and homestead 
exemption refunds received in 2014 may be taxable on your 
2014 U.S. Form 1040. If you claimed an itemized deduction 
for property taxes on your 2013 U.S. Form 1040 and then 
received a refund in 2014 from the State or your local unit of 
government for a portion of those taxes, you must include that 
refund as income on your 2014 U.S. Form 1040. If you have 
questions about the taxability (for federal tax purposes) of the 
refunds, call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040.

What You Should Know  
About Your Michigan 1099-G 
If you claimed itemized deductions on your 2013 federal 
income tax return and received a Michigan tax refund in 2014, 
you will be mailed a 2014 Michigan 1099-G in early 2015 that 
shows the amount of your 2013 refund that was issued in 2014. 
The refund amount will include any amounts credited forward 
to 2014 estimated tax, prior year refunds issued in 2014, 
refund amounts intercepted for back tax assessments or other 
debts (such as child support or court-ordered garnishments), 
and any portion of a refund assigned to pay use tax or any 
amount you contributed as a voluntary contribution.  The 
refund amount will not include homestead property tax 
credits, earned income tax credits, or other refundable tax 
credits claimed on your MI-1040. The 1099-G IS NOT A 
BILL. Visit www.michigan.gov/taxes for more information 
about your Michigan 1099-G.

A Note About Debts
By law, any money you owe to the state and other state 
agencies must be deducted from your refund or credit before 
it is issued. Debts include money you owe for past-due taxes, 
student loans, child support due to the Friend of the Court, 
an IRS levy, money due to a state agency, a court-ordered 
garnishment, or other court orders. Taxpayers who are 
married filing jointly, may receive an Income Allocation for 
Non-Obligated Spouse (Form 743) after the return is filed. 
Completing and filing this form may limit the portion of the 
refund that can be applied to a debt. If Treasury applies all or 
part of your refund to any of these debts, you will receive a 
letter of explanation.

Who Must File a Return
File a return if you owe tax, are due a refund, or your AGI 
exceeds your exemption allowance. You should also file 
a Michigan return if you file a federal return, even if you 
do not owe Michigan tax. This will eliminate unnecessary 
correspondence from Treasury. 
If your parents (or someone else) can claim you as a 
dependent on their return and your AGI is $1,500 or less if 
single or married filing separately or $3,000 or less if filing 
a joint return, you do not need to file a return unless you are 
claiming a refund of withholding. 
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Important: If your income subject to tax (MI-1040, line 14) 
is less than your personal exemption allowance (line 15) and 
Michigan income tax was withheld from your earnings, you 
must file a return to claim a refund of the tax withheld. 

Who Must File a Joint Return
Generally, if you filed a joint federal return, you must also 
file a joint Michigan return.  However, same-sex couples who 
file joint federal returns must continue to file income tax 
returns for Michigan with each individual using the single 
filing status. If you and your spouse filed separate federal 
returns, you may file separate or joint Michigan returns.

When to File Your Return
Always complete your federal tax return before your 
Michigan return. You may file a Michigan return even if you 
are not required to file a federal return. 
Your return must be postmarked no later than April 15, 2015, 
to avoid penalty and interest. Payment must be included with 
your return. Make your check payable to “State of Michigan” 
and write the last four digits of your Social Security 
number(s) and “2014 income tax” on the front of the check. 

If you cannot file before the due date and you owe tax, you 
may file an Application for Extension of Time to File Michigan 
Tax Returns (Form 4) with your payment. This allows an 
extension of time to file, but not to pay. Payment is due no later 
than April 15, 2015, otherwise penalty and interest may apply. 
See page 5. If you are due a refund, you must file a return 
within four years of the due date to obtain the refund. Keep a 
copy of your return and all supporting schedules for six years.
Penalty and Interest Added for Filing and Paying 
Late
If you file and pay late, Treasury will add a penalty of 
5 percent of the tax due. After the second month, penalty will 
increase by an additional 5 percent per month, or fraction 
thereof, up to a maximum of 25 percent of the tax due. If you 
pay late, you must add penalty and interest to the amount 
due. The interest rate through June 30, 2015, is 4.25 percent. 
For interest rates after June 30, 2015, visit 
www.michigan.gov/taxes or call (517) 636-4486.

Renaissance Zones
Certain Renaissance Zones, along with the tax benefits, 
will continue to phase out. See instructions for Schedule 1,  
line 15 on page 12.

How to Complete and File Paper Returns
Completing Michigan Forms
Treasury captures the information from paper income tax 
returns using an Intelligent Character Recognition (ICR) 
process. If completing a paper return, avoid unnecessary 
delays by following the guidelines below so your return is 
processed quickly and accurately.
•	 �Use black or blue ink. Do not use pencil, red ink, or felt 

tip pens. Do not highlight information.
•	 �Print using capital letters (UPPER CASE). Capital 

letters are easier to recognize.
•	 �Print numbers like this: 0123456789 

Do not put a slash through the zero ( ) or seven ( ).
•	 Fill check boxes with an [X]. Do not use a check mark. 
•	 �Leave lines/boxes blank if they do not apply or if the 

amount is zero unless otherwise directed.
•	 �Do not write extra numbers, symbols, or notes on the 

return, such as cents, dashes, decimal points, commas, or 
dollar signs. Enclose any explanations on a separate sheet 
unless you are instructed to write explanations on the return.

•	 Stay within the lines when entering information in boxes.
•	 If a form is multiple pages, all pages must be filed. 
•	 �Report all amounts in whole dollars. Round down 

amounts of 49 cents or less. Round up amounts of 50 cents 
or more. If cents are entered on the form, they will be 
treated as whole dollar amounts.

When You Have Finished
If the tax preparer is someone other than the taxpayer, he or 
she must enter the business name and address of the firm he 
or she represents and Preparer Tax Identification Number 
(PTIN), Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), 
or Social Security number. Check the box to indicate if 
Treasury may discuss your return with your tax preparer.

Assemble your returns and attachments and staple in the 
upper-left corner. Do not staple your check to your return. A 
sequence number is printed in the upper-right corner of the 
following Michigan forms to help you assemble them in the 
correct order behind your MI-1040: 
•	 Additions and Subtractions (Schedule 1)
•	 Nonresident and Part-Year Resident (Schedule NR)
•	 Farmland Preservation Tax Credit (MI-1040CR-5)
•	 �Schedule of Taxes and Allocation to Each Agreement 

(Schedule CR-5)
•	 Property Tax Credit (MI-1040CR or MI-1040CR-2)
•	 Federal Schedules (see Table 3, page 59)
•	 Schedule of Apportionment (MI-1040H)
•	 Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax (MI-2210)
•	 Withholding Tax Schedule (Schedule W)
•	 Adjustments of Capital Gains and Losses (MI-1040D)
•	 �Adjustments of Gains and Losses From Sales of Business 

Property (MI-4797)
•	 Voluntary Contributions Schedule (4642)
•	 Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets (MI-8949)
•	 Pension Schedule (4884)
•	 Pension Continuation Schedule (4973)
•	 �Married Filing Separately and Divorced or Separated 

Claimants Schedule (5049).
If you are also filing a Home Heating Credit Claim 
(MI-1040CR-7), do not staple it to your return; fold it and 
leave it loose in the envelope. 
Important Reminder: If you do not include all the required 
attachments with your return, your refund may be reduced, 
denied, or delayed. Send original forms. Do not send 
photocopies.
Do not staple multiple prior year returns together.
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Where to Mail Your Return
Mail refund, credit, or zero due returns to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, MI 48956

If you owe tax, mail your return to:
Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, MI 48929

Make your check payable to “State of Michigan” and print 
the last four digits of your Social Security number and 
“2014 income tax” on the front of your check. To ensure 
accurate processing of your return, send one check for each 
return type. Do not staple your check to your return.
Do not mail your 2014 return in the same envelope with a 
return for years prior to 2014; mail your 2014 return in a 
separate envelope.
Important Reminders
•	 �Missing pages. The MI-1040, MI-1040CR, MI-1040CR-2, 

MI-1040CR-7, MI-1040X-12 and MI-1040X are multiple-
page forms. All pages must be completed and submitted 
for Treasury to process the return timely.

•	 �Using correct tax year forms. Appropriate tax year 
forms must be filed (e.g., do not use a 2013 form to file 
your 2014 return).

•	 �Schedules received alone. If the following forms are 
filed, all pages must be submitted with a completed  
MI-1040:
•	 Additions and Subtractions (Schedule 1)
•	 Nonresident and Part-Year Resident (Schedule NR)
•	 �Withholding Tax Schedule (Schedule W) – attach a 

copy if reporting Michigan withholding
•	 �Adjustments of Capital Gains and Losses (MI-1040D)
•	 �Adjustments of Gains and Losses from Sales of 

Business Property (MI-4797)
•	 Voluntary Contributions Schedule (4642)
•	 �Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets  

(MI-8949)
•	 Historic Preservation Credit (3581)
•	 Pension Schedule (4884)
•	 Pension Continuation Schedule (4973).

•	 �Missing, incomplete, or applied for Social Security 
number. If you don’t have an SSN or an Individual 
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN), apply for one 
through the IRS. Do not file your Michigan return until 
you have received your SSN or ITIN.

Special Situations
Extensions
To request more time to file your Michigan tax return, send 
a payment of your estimated tax to Treasury with a copy of 
your federal extension (U.S. Form 4868) on or before the 
original due date of your return. Treasury will extend the 
due date to your new federal due date. If you do not have a 
federal extension, file an Application for Extension of Time 
to File Michigan Tax Returns (Form 4) with your payment. 
Treasury will not notify you of approval. Do not file an 
extension if you will be claiming a refund.
An extension of time to file is not an extension of time to 
pay. If you do not pay enough with your extension request, 
you must pay interest on the unpaid amount. Compute 
interest from the original due date of the return. Interest is 
1 percent above the prime rate and is adjusted on July 1 and 
January 1.
You may be charged a penalty of 10 percent or more if the 
balance due is not paid with your extension request.
When you file your MI-1040, include on line 30 the amount 
of tax you paid with your extension request. Attach a copy of 
your federal or state extension to your return. 
2015 Estimated Payments
Usually, you must make estimated income tax payments if 
you expect to owe more than $500 when you file your 2015 
MI-1040. This is after crediting the property tax, farmland, 
any other refundable or nonrefundable credits, and amounts 
you paid through withholding.
Common income sources which make estimated payments 
necessary are self-employment income, salary, wages, or 
retirement benefits if you do not have enough tax withheld, 
tips, lump sum payments, unemployment benefits, dividend 
and interest income, income from the sale of property 
(capital gains), business income and rental income.

You may ask your employer to increase your withholding to 
cover the taxes on other types of income.
Estimated payments are due April 15, 2015; June 15, 2015; 
September 15, 2015; and January 15, 2016. If you are a 
fiscal year filer, the due dates are the same as your federal 
estimated payment due dates.
If you filed estimates for 2014, Treasury will send you 
personalized forms for 2015, unless you used a tax preparer. 
Do not use forms intended for another taxpayer. If you do 
not receive personalized forms, use a tax preparer, or use 
tax preparation software to complete your return, you can 
obtain a Michigan Estimated Individual Income Tax Voucher  
(MI-1040ES) from Treasury’s Web site.
Exceptions. If you expect to owe more than $500, you may 
not have to make estimated payments if you expect your 2015 
withholding to be at least:
•	 90 percent of your total 2015 tax, or
•	 100 percent of your total 2014 tax.
Total 2014 tax is the amount on your 2014 MI-1040, line 21, 
less the amount on lines 25, 26, 27b and 28.
NOTE: 2015 estimates for taxpayers with 2014 AGI of 
$150,000 or more for joint or single filers ($75,000 or more 
for married filing separately) must equal 90 percent of the 
current year’s liability or 110 percent of the previous year’s 
liability. 
Farmers, fishermen or seafarers may have to pay 
estimates, but have different filing options. If at least two-
thirds of your gross income is from farming, fishing, or 
seafaring, you may:
•	 �Delay paying your first 2015 quarterly installment 

(MI‑1040ES) until as late as January 15, 2016, and pay the 
entire amount of your 2015 estimated tax due, or
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•	 �File your 2015 MI-1040 return and pay the entire amount 
of tax due on or before March 1, 2016.

You are considered a farmer or fisherman if you file 
U.S. Schedule F or Schedule C. Wages earned as a farm 
employee or from a corporate farm do not qualify you for 
this exception. You are considered a seafarer if your wages 
are exempt from income tax withholding under Title 46, 
Shipping, USC, Sec. 11108.
Failure to make payments or underpayment of estimates. 
If you fail to make required estimated payments, pay late, 
or underpay in any quarter, Treasury may charge penalty 
and interest. Penalty is 25 percent of the tax due (with a 
minimum of $25) for failing to file estimate payments or 10 
percent (with a minimum of $10) for failing to pay enough 
with your estimates or paying estimates late. Interest is one 
percent above the prime rate and is computed monthly. The 
rate is adjusted on July 1 and January 1.
Residency
Resident. You are a Michigan resident if Michigan is your 
permanent home. Your permanent home is the place you 
intend to return to whenever you go away. A temporary 
absence from Michigan, such as spending the winter in a 
southern state, does not make you a part-year resident. 
Income earned by a Michigan resident in a nonreciprocal 
state (see “Reciprocal States”) or Canadian province is taxed 
by Michigan, and may also be taxed by the other jurisdiction. 
If you pay tax to both, you can claim a credit on your 
Michigan return. See instructions for MI-1040, line 18 and 
the example on page 9. 
Part-year resident. You are a part-year resident if, during 
the year, you move your permanent home into or out of 
Michigan. You must pay Michigan income tax on income 
you earned, received, or accrued while living in Michigan.
Use Michigan Nonresident and Part‑Year Resident Schedule 
(Schedule NR) and the following guidelines to help figure 
your tax: 
•	 �Allocate your income from the date you moved into or out 

of Michigan
•	 �Bonus pay, severance pay, deferred income, and any other 

amount accrued while a Michigan resident are subject to 
Michigan tax no matter where you lived when you 
received it

•	 �Deferred compensation reported to you on U.S. Form 1099-R 
and dividend and interest income are allocated to the state 
of residence when received

•	 �Part-year residents who lived in Michigan at least six 
months of the tax year may qualify for a homestead 
property tax credit (see page 25).

NOTE: Out-of-state students who live in Michigan while 
they are attending school are not considered Michigan 
residents or part-year residents and should file as 
nonresidents.
Nonresident. Use Schedule NR to figure your Michigan 
taxable income. You must pay Michigan income tax on the 
following types of income:

•	 �Salary, wages, and other employee compensation for work 
performed in Michigan, unless you live in a state covered 
by a reciprocal agreement (see “Reciprocal States”)

•	 �Net rents and royalties from real and tangible personal 
property in Michigan

•	 �Capital gains from the sale or exchange of real property 
located in Michigan, or of tangible personal property 
located in Michigan

•	 �Patent or copyright royalties if the patent or copyright is 
used in Michigan or if you have a commercial domicile in 
Michigan

•	 �Income (including dividend and interest income) from an 
S corporation, partnership or an unincorporated business, 
or other business activity in Michigan

•	 Lottery winnings
•	 �Prizes won from casinos or licensed horse tracks located 

in Michigan. Nonresidents from reciprocal states must 
also declare these prizes as taxable.

Reciprocal States
Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, Ohio, and 
Wisconsin have reciprocal agreements with Michigan. 
Michigan residents pay only Michigan income tax on 
their salaries and wages earned in any of these states. 
A Michigan resident may file a withholding form with 
an employer in a reciprocal state to claim exemption 
from that state’s income tax withholding. The out-of-
state income may make Michigan individual income tax 
estimate payments necessary. Residents of reciprocal states 
working in Michigan do not have to pay Michigan tax on 
salaries or wages earned in Michigan but do have to pay 
Michigan tax on business income earned from business 
activity in Michigan. A resident of a reciprocal state who 
claims a refund of Michigan withholding tax must file a 
Schedule NR along with an MI-1040.

Deceased Taxpayers
A personal representative for the estate of a taxpayer who 
died in 2014 (or 2015 before filing a 2014 return) must file if 
the taxpayer owes tax or is due a refund. A full-year exemption 
is allowed for a deceased taxpayer on the 2014 MI-1040.
Use the decedent’s Social Security number and your address. 
If the taxpayer died after December 31, 2013, enter the date 
of death in the “Deceased Taxpayer” box on page 2 on the 
2014 MI‑1040.
The surviving spouse is considered married for the year in 
which the deceased spouse died and may file a joint return 
for that year. Write your name and the decedent’s name 
and both Social Security numbers on the MI-1040. Write 
“DECD” after the decedent’s last name. You must report 
the decedent’s income. Sign the return. In the deceased’s 
signature line, write “Filing as surviving spouse.” If the 
taxpayer died after December 31, 2013, enter the date of 
death in the “Deceased Taxpayer” box on page 2 of the 
MI-1040. See “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of Examples” on 
page 59, example A.
If filing as a personal representative or claimant and 
you are claiming a refund for a single deceased taxpayer, 
you must attach a U.S. Form 1310 or Michigan Claim 
for Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer (MI-1310). Enter 
the decedent’s name in the Filer’s Name lines and the 
representative’s or claimant’s name, title, and address in 
the Home Address line. See “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of 
Examples” on page 59, example B or C.
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If filing as a personal representative or claimant of a 
deceased taxpayer(s) for a jointly filed return, you must 
attach a U.S. Form 1310 or Michigan Claim for a Refund 
Due a Deceased Taxpayer (MI-1310). Enter the names of the 
deceased persons in the Filer’s and Spouse’s Name lines and 
the representative’s or claimant’s name, title, and address in 
the Home Address line. See “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of 
Examples” on page 59, example D or E. 
For information about filing a credit claim, see “Deceased 
Claimant’s Credit” on page 25.
Amended Returns
If you need to make a correction to your return for tax year 
2012 or after, file a Michigan Amended Individual Income 
Tax Return (MI-1040X-12). If you need to make a correction 
to your 2011 or prior year return, file a Michigan Amended 
Individual Income Tax Return (MI-1040X). If you are due a 
refund on your amended return, you must file it within four 
years of the due date of the original return.
Once you file a joint return, you cannot choose to file 
separate returns for that year after the due date of the return.
If a change on your federal return affects Michigan taxable 
income, you must file an MI-1040X-12 or MI-1040X within 
120 days of the change. You must include a copy of your 
amended federal return and all supporting schedules. Include 
payment of any tax and interest due.
To amend only a homestead property tax or home heating 
credit, file a revised claim form and print “Amended” on the 
top of page 1. Do not file an MI-1040X-12 or MI-1040X. If 
applicable, attach a copy of your property tax statement(s), 
and/or lease agreement and a copy of your heat statement.
Net Operating Losses (NOL)
If you have a federal NOL deduction, you must remove the 
federal deduction to the extent included in federal AGI. 

Residents accomplish this through an addition on Schedule 1, 
line 7. Nonresidents accomplish this by allocating the entire 
NOL deduction to Column C on Michigan Schedule NR, no 
matter where earned.
A Michigan NOL deduction in a carryforward year may be 
claimed on the Schedule 1, line 21.
Part 1 of Application for Michigan Net Operating Loss 
Refund (MI-1045) is used to calculate the Michigan NOL 
for the loss year and a copy must be attached to returns to 
which the loss is carried forward. A separate worksheet 
showing how the loss has been used in years previous to 
and succeeding the loss year should always be submitted to 
verify the claimed carryforward. If carrying the loss back, 
Part 2 of Form MI-1045 must be filed.
Repayments of Income Reported in a Prior Year
If you had to repay money in 2014 that you claimed as 
income in a previous year (e.g., unemployment benefits), you 
may be entitled to a credit on your 2014 return for the tax 
paid in an earlier year.
If you subtracted the repayment in arriving at AGI, no 
additional credit is allowed on the Michigan return because 
your income for the year has been reduced by the repayment 
amount. If the amount of the repayment was deducted on 
U.S. Schedule A or a credit was claimed on U.S. Form 1040, a 
credit will be allowed on the Michigan return.
To compute your Michigan credit, multiply the amount you 
repaid in 2014 by the tax rate which was in effect the year 
you paid the tax. Then add the amount of the credit to the 
Michigan tax withheld on MI-1040, line 29. Write “Claim of 
Right/Repayment” next to line 29.
Attach a schedule showing the computation of the 
credit, proof of the repayment, and pages 1 and 2 of your             
U.S. Form 1040 and Schedule A, if applicable.

Use Tax
Every state that has a sales tax has a companion tax for 
purchases made outside that state by catalog, telephone, or 
Internet. In Michigan, that companion tax is called “use tax,” 
but might be described more accurately as a remote sales tax 
because it is a 6 percent tax owed on purchases made outside 
of Michigan. 
Use tax is due on catalog, telephone, or Internet purchases 
made from out‑of‑state sellers as well as purchases while 
traveling in foreign countries when the items are to be 
brought into Michigan. Use tax must be paid on the total 
price (including shipping and handling charges). 
How to Report Use Tax
Use Worksheet 1 on page 8 to calculate your use tax and 
enter the amount of use tax due on MI-1040, line 23.
Worksheet Calculation
Line 1: For purchases of $0 to $1,000, multiply your total 
purchases times 6 percent (0.06) and enter the amount on  
Line 1, or,
If you have incomplete or inaccurate receipts to calculate 
your purchases, you may use “Table 1 - Use Tax” to estimate 
your taxes (see the following example). 
Line 1 should contain a number unless you made no 
purchases under $1,000 subject to the use tax. If Treasury 

later determines that you owe use tax, you may be subject to 
penalty and interest.
Line 2: In all cases, if a single purchase is $1,000 or more, 
you must pay 6 percent use tax on those purchases. 
Example: Jacob ordered a computer from a catalog retailer 
in New York for $1,437.50. Jacob also purchased items over 
the Internet for less than $1,000 during the year, but lost 
his receipts. He is sure he did not pay Michigan sales tax. 
Jacob’s AGI is $46,500. Jacob would complete Worksheet 1 
as follows:
Line 1: Jacob selects $36 from 
the table based on his AGI........... $36
Line 2: Jacob enters  
$1,437.50 x 6 percent............... $86.25
Line 3: Total use tax due ..... $122.25
Jacob would enter $122 (no cents because the amount is less 
than 49 cents) on his MI-1040, line 23.
Estimating your taxes does not preclude Treasury from 
auditing your account. If additional tax is due, you may 
receive an assessment for the amount of the tax owed, plus 
applicable penalty and interest.
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Use Tax on the Difference
If you paid at least 6 percent to another state on your 
purchase, you do not owe use tax to Michigan. If you paid 
less than 6 percent, you owe the difference. 

NOTE: The full 6 percent use tax is also owed on purchases 
made in a foreign country.
For more information, visit www.michigan.gov/taxes.

Line-by-Line Instructions for Individual Income Tax Return (MI-1040)
Lines not listed are explained on the form.
Line  1:  Only married filers may file joint returns. Include 
name and address.
Lines  2  and  3:  Print your Social Security number(s).
Line  5:  State Campaign Fund. These funds are disbursed 
only to candidates for governor, regardless of political 
party, who agree to limit campaign spending and meet the 
campaign fund requirements. Checking the box will not raise 
your tax or reduce your refund.
Line  6:	  Farmers, fishermen, or seafarers may have to 
pay estimates, but have different filing options. If at least 
two-thirds of your gross income is from farming, fishing, or 
seafaring, check this box. (For estimate filing information, 
see page 5).
Line  7:  Filing Status. Check the box to identify your 
filing status. Generally, if you filed a joint federal 
return, you must also file a joint Michigan return. You 
generally cannot be claimed as a dependent on another 
person’s tax return. Married couples who file separate 
federal returns may file a separate or joint Michigan 
return. If your status is married filing separately (box c), 
print your spouse’s full name in the space provided and 
be sure to print his or her Social Security number on  
line 3. If you filed your federal return as head of household 
or qualifying widow(er), you must file your Michigan return 
as single.
NOTE: If you are claiming a homestead property tax credit 
or home heating credit and you lived with your spouse, it 
may be easier to file a joint Michigan return because joint 
total household resources are the basis for computing these 
credits. 
Same-Sex Couples Filing a Joint Federal Return. Same-
sex couples who file a joint federal income tax return must 
continue to file separate income tax returns for Michigan 
with each individual using the single filing status. Michigan 
has defined marriage in the Michigan Constitution as a union 
of one man and one woman. 

Each individual who has income attributable to Michigan 
and who has filed a joint return with the IRS as a same-sex 
couple should separately report AGI for Michigan income 
tax as a single filer. Each individual should recalculate 
their federal adjusted gross income as if they had filed a 
single federal return, and be aware that filing as single may 
affect the filer’s eligibility for Michigan tax credits as well. 
Additional information can be found on Treasury’s Web site. 
Line  8:  Residency. Check the box that describes your 
Michigan residency for 2014. If you and your spouse had 
a different residency status during the year, check a box 
for each of you. Both part-year residents and nonresidents 
must file Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Schedule  
(Schedule NR). For definition of residency, see page 6.
Line  9:  Exemptions. Use this line to compute your 
Michigan exemption amount plus your Michigan special 
exemptions.
Line 9a:  Enter the number of exemptions you claimed on 
your U.S. Form 1040 or 1040A. These exemptions are for 
you, your spouse (if filing jointly), and your dependents. 
Multiply the number of exemptions by your exemption 
allowance of $4,000 and enter that amount in the box.
Michigan Special Exemptions.  Complete the lines 
that apply to you, your spouse, or dependents as of  
December 31, 2014. If your dependent files a separate return, 
you and your dependent may not both claim the special 
exemption.
Line 9b:  Deaf, Blind, or Certain Disabilities. You 
qualify for this exemption if you are deaf, blind, hemiplegic, 
paraplegic, quadriplegic, or totally and permanently disabled. 
•	 �Deaf means the primary way you receive messages is 

through a sense other than hearing (e.g., lip reading or 
sign language). 

•	 �Blind means your better eye permanently has 20/200 
vision or less with corrective lenses, or your peripheral 
field of vision is 20 degrees or less. 

TABLE 1 - USE TAX

AGI*	 Tax
$0 - $10,000..........................................$4
$10,001 - $20,000...............................$12
$20,001 - $30,000...............................$20
$30,001 - $40,000...............................$28
$40,001 - $50,000...............................$36
$50,001 - $75,000...............................$50
$75,001 - $100,000.............................$70
Above $100,000.............Multiply AGI by
	 0.08% (0.0008)

*  AGI  from MI-1040, line 10.

WORKSHEET 1 - USE TAX
Line 1:  Itemized purchases of $0 to $1,000 
x 6 percent (0.06) OR 
“Table 1 - Use Tax” amount..................... $ __________

Line 2: Single purchases $1,000 or more x 
6 percent (0.06)............................................. $ __________

Line 3: Total Use Tax Due (add Lines 1 
and 2)............................................................. $__________

Enter amount from Line 3 above on your 2014 MI-1040,  
line 23. If the amount on Line 3 is 0, enter “0” on your  
2014 MI-1040, line 23. 
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•	 �Totally and permanently disabled means disabled as 
defined under Social Security Guidelines 42 USC 416. If 
you are age 66 or older, you may not claim an exemption 
as totally and permanently disabled. 

You may claim only one exemption per person in this 
category.
Line 9c:  Qualified Disabled Veterans. A taxpayer may 
claim an exemption of $400 in addition to the taxpayer’s 
other exemptions if (a) the taxpayer or spouse is a qualified 
disabled veteran, or (b) a dependent of the taxpayer is a 
qualified disabled veteran. To be eligible for the additional 
exemption an individual must be a veteran of the active 
military, naval, marine, coast guard, or air service who 
received an honorable or general discharge and has a 
disability incurred or aggravated in the line of duty as 
described in 38 USC 101(16). This additional exemption may 
not be claimed on more than one tax return.
Line 9d:  If someone else can claim you as a dependent, 
check the box, enter 0 on line 9a and enter $1,500 on  
line 9d. If your AGI is less than $1,500 and you had no 
Michigan income tax withheld from your wages, you do not 
need to file this form.
Line  10:  Adjusted Gross Income. Enter your 
AGI from your federal return. This is the amount 
from your U.S. Form 1040, U.S. Form 1040A, or 
U.S. Form 1040EZ. You must attach copies of 
federal schedules that apply to you (see Table 3,  
page 59). For Michigan adjustments to AGI, see  
Schedule 1, page 37. Instructions for completing Schedule 1 
begin on page 11.
Line  17:  Tax. Multiply the amount on line 16 by 4.25 
percent (0.0425).
Line  18:  Income Tax Imposed by Government Units Outside 
Michigan. Include the amount of income tax paid to:
•	 A nonreciprocal state (see page 6)
•	 �A local government unit outside Michigan, including tax 

paid to local units located in reciprocal states
•	 The District of Columbia
•	 A Canadian province.
Include only income tax paid to another government unit(s) 
on income earned while you were a Michigan resident and 
taxed by Michigan. For assistance with calculating this 
credit, go to www.michigan.gov/incometax.
Attach a copy of the return filed with the other 
government unit(s) to your MI-1040.
Do not include taxes paid on income you subtracted on lines 10 
through 26 of Schedule 1 (e.g., rental or business income from 
another state, part-year resident wages, etc.). If you claim credit 
for Canadian provincial tax, you must file a Michigan Resident 
Credit for Tax Imposed by a Canadian Province (Form 777). 
Attach copies of your Canadian Federal Individual Tax Return 
(Form T-1), Canadian Statement of Remuneration Paid (Form 
T-4), U.S. Form 1116, and U.S. Form 1040. Your credit is 
limited to the portion of your Canadian provincial tax not used 
as a credit on your U.S. Form 1040.
Line 18a:  Enter the total income tax paid to other 
government units. If you paid tax to more than one unit, 

attach a schedule showing the tax paid to each government 
unit. Also attach a copy of the return(s).
Line 18b:  Credit amount. If more than one government unit 
is involved, compute the credit amount for each government 
unit separately. Then add the individual credit amounts and 
enter the total on line 18b. Compute your allowable credit as 
follows:
Step 1: Divide your non-Michigan income subject to tax 
by both states by your total income subject to Michigan tax  
(MI-1040, line 14); then
Step 2: Multiply the amount of tax shown on MI-1040,  
line 17, by the resulting percentage.
Your credit cannot exceed the smaller of: (1) the amount 
of tax imposed by another government; or (2) the amount 
of Michigan tax due on salaries, wages, and other personal 
compensation earned in another state. See example below.
Example: Computing Michigan resident’s credit for tax 
imposed by another state. 
Hunter is a Michigan resident and has $40,000 of Michigan 
wages, $10,000 of wages earned in another state, and $3,000 
in interest and dividends. Hunter’s federal AGI is $53,000. 
He has no Michigan adjustments (additions or subtractions) 
to AGI. After subtracting his $4,000 exemption from $53,000 
income subject to tax, Hunter’s taxable income is $49,000 
(MI-1040, line 16). This results in a tax of $2,083 ($49,000 x 
0.0425) that is reported on MI-1040, line 17. The other state 
imposed $700 tax on the $10,000 Hunter earned in that state. 
To compute the credit, determine the following:
Step 1: Calculate the percentage of non-Michigan income to 
total income subject to tax ($10,000/$53,000) = 19%
Step 2: Multiply Michigan tax of $2,083 by 19% = $396
Step 3: On MI-1040, line 18a, enter $700, the tax 
imposed by the other state. On MI-1040, line 18b, 
enter $396 (the credit is the lesser of $700 or $396). 
Line 19: Michigan Historic Preservation Tax Credit. 
Taxpayers eligible for this credit will have received a 
certificate from the State Historic Preservation Office 
indicating their eligibility. To claim this credit you must 
submit all of the supporting documentation. For a list of 
required forms see the instructions on the back of Form 3581.
Line 19a:  Enter the amount from your 2014 Form 3581, line 9.
Line 19b:  Enter the amount from your 2014 Form 3581, line 14. 
Line 19: Small Business Investment Tax (Venture 
Investment) Credit. The Small Business Investment Tax 
(Venture Investment) Credit provides Qualified Investors 
a 25 percent tax credit over a two year period on Qualified 
Investments in Qualified Businesses. To qualify, investments 
had to be made after December 31, 2010 and before     
January 1, 2012. Taxpayers eligible for this credit received a 
certificate from the Michigan Strategic Fund Board, Small 
Business Investment Tax Credit Program. The certificate 
must be attached to the taxpayer’s return.
Line 19a: Enter the contribution amount or investment 
amount from the required certificate. 
Line 19b: Enter the income tax credit amount from the 
required certificate. 
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Line  20:  Income Tax. Carry this amount to line 21.
Line  22:  Voluntary Contributions. Contributions can be 
made on the Voluntary Contribution Schedule (Form 4642). 
Attach Form 4642 to ensure your contributions are applied to 
the fund(s) of your choice. Contributions will increase your 
tax due or reduce your refund.
Line  23:  Use Tax. Enter use tax due from Worksheet 1,  
line 3, on page 8. 
Line  25:  Property tax credit information begins on page 23. 
Line  26:  Farmland preservation credit applies to farmers 
only. See MI-1040CR-5 instructions for information.
Line  27:  Michigan Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC). 
Taxpayers who are eligible to claim an EITC on their federal 
return may claim a Michigan EITC equal to 6 percent of the 
taxpayer’s federal credit. To claim the Michigan credit, enter 
your federal EITC amount on line 27a and six percent of  
line 27a on line 27b.
Line  28:  Michigan Historic Preservation Tax Credit. 
Enter the amount from your 2014 Historic Preservation 
Tax Credit (Form 3581), line 16a or 16b, whichever applies. 
Attach a completed Form 3581 and U.S. Form 3581, if 
applicable.
Line  29:  Enter the total Michigan tax withheld (from your 
Schedule W). If applicable, include any credit for repayments 
under the “Claim of Right.” See “Repayments of Income 
Reported in a Prior Year” on page 7.
Line  30:  Enter the total estimated tax paid with your 2014 
MI‑1040ES, the amount paid with a Form 4, and the amount 
of your 2013 credit forward (2013 MI‑1040, line 34) to this 
year’s tax. Do not include prior year’s refund amount. 
Line  32:  You Owe. If line 31 is less than line 24, 
enter the difference. This is the tax you owe with your 
return. Payments can now be made electronically. Go to  
www.michigan.gov/iit for more information.
You will owe penalty and interest for late payment of tax 
if you pay after the due date. Penalty accrues monthly at 5 
percent of the tax due, and increases by an additional 5 
percent per month, or fraction thereof, after the second 
month, up to a maximum of 25 percent of the tax due (e.g., 
penalty on a $500 tax due will be $125 if the tax is unpaid for 
six months). See “Penalty and Interest Added for Filing and 
Paying Late” on page 4. Add penalty and interest to your tax 
due and enter the total on line 32. Generally, if you owe more 
than $500, you are required to make estimated payments. 
See special note below and information about estimated 
payments. If the balance due is less than $1, no payment 
is required, but you must still file your return. See “Pay” 
address on page 2 of your MI-1040.
Special note for people required to file estimates. You may 
owe penalty and interest for underpayment, late payment, 
or for failing to make estimated tax payments. Use the 
Michigan Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax (Form 
MI-2210) to compute penalty and interest. If you do not file 
an MI-2210, Treasury will compute your penalty and interest 
and send you a bill. If you annualize your income, you must 
complete and attach an MI-2210. Enter the penalty and 
interest amounts on the lines provided. 

Line  35:  Refund. This includes any tax you overpaid and 
any credits due you. The state does not refund amounts less 
than $1. Mail your return to the “Refund, credit, or zero 
returns” address on page 2 of your MI‑1040.
Direct Deposit
First check with your financial institution to (1) make sure 
it will accept Direct Deposit, (2) obtain the correct Routing 
Transit Number (RTN) and account number, and (3) if 
applicable, verify that your financial institution will allow a 
joint refund to be deposited into an individual account.
Direct Deposit requests associated with a foreign bank 
account are classified as International ACH Transactions 
(IAT). If your income tax refund Direct Deposit is forwarded 
or transferred to a bank account in a foreign country your 
Direct Deposit will be returned to Treasury. If this occurs, 
your refund will be converted to a check (warrant) and 
mailed to the address on your tax return. Contact your 
financial institution for questions regarding the status of your 
account.
a. RTN. Enter the nine-digit RTN. The RTN is usually found 
between the symbols |: and |: on the bottom of your check. 
The first two digits must be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32. 
b. Account Number. Enter your financial institution account 
number up to 17 characters (both numbers and letters). The 
account number is usually found immediately to the right of 
the RTN on the bottom of your check. Include hyphens but 
omit spaces and special symbols. Do not include the check 
number.
c. Type of Account. Check the box for checking or savings.
When You Are Finished  
Sign Your Return: Each spouse must sign a joint return. If 
the tax preparer is someone other than the taxpayer, he or 
she must include the name and address of the firm he or she 
represents and preparer tax identification or federal employer 
identification number. Check the box to indicate if Treasury 
may discuss your return with your preparer. 
Signing a child’s return: If a return is prepared for a child 
who is too young to sign it, a parent or guardian should 
sign the child’s name, then add “by (your name) parent (or 
guardian) for minor child.” 
Attachments: Attach all your credit claims and required 
Michigan and federal schedules (see Table 3 on page 59).
If you owe tax: Make your check payable to “State of 
Michigan.” Print the last four digits of your Social 
Security number and “2014 income tax” on the front of 
your check. If paying on behalf of another taxpayer, write the 
taxpayer’s name and last four digits of their Social Security 
number on the check. Enclose your payment but do not staple 
it to the return. Checks stapled to the back of the return may 
not be seen and may result in improper processing.  
The filing deadline to receive a refund for tax year 2014 is 
April 15, 2019. 
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Line-by-Line Instructions for Additions and Subtractions (Schedule 1) 
Part-year and nonresidents, complete Schedule NR (see  
page 49) before proceeding. 
If you have income or losses attributable to other states, you 
must attach all relevant federal schedules and supporting 
statements (see page 59). The type, source and location of 
the income or losses must be identified. Schedules showing 
rental of personal property must report where the property 
is being used. Attach Schedule K-1s which support your 
attached federal Schedules B, D, E and 4797. If you do not 
attach these schedules and statements, processing of your 
return may be delayed or your credit/subtraction may be 
denied.
Additions to Income
Line  1:  Enter gross interest, dividends, and income 
from obligations or securities of states and their political 
subdivisions other than Michigan. Add this income even if 
it comes to you through a partnership, S corporation, estate, 
or trust. You may reduce this income by related expenses not 
allowed as a deduction by Section 265(a)(1) of the Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC).
Line  2:  Enter the deduction taken for self-employment tax 
on your federal return and for other taxes on or measured 
by income, such as your share of city income tax paid by 
partnerships or S corporations, or your share of the taxes 
paid by an estate or trust.
Line  3:  Use Michigan Adjustments of Capital Gains and 
Losses (MI-1040D) and related Michigan Sales and Other 
Dispositions of Capital Assets (MI-8949) only if you have 
capital gains or losses attributable to: (1) an election to 
use Section 271 treatment for property acquired before  
October 1, 1967; (2) the sale or exchange of U.S. obligations 
which cannot be taxed by Michigan; or (3) the sale or 
exchange of property located in other states. 
If you reported gains on U.S. Form 4797 on property 
acquired before October 1, 1967, or located in other states, 
adjust the gain on the Michigan Adjustments of Gains and 
Losses From Sales of Business Property (MI‑4797).
Enter gains from the Michigan column of MI-1040D, line 12, 
and MI-4797, line 18b(2). Instructions are with each form.
Line  4:  Enter losses from a business or property located 
in another state which you own as a sole proprietor, a 
partner in a partnership, a shareholder in an S corporation, 
or as a member of a pass-through entity. If your business 
is taxed by both Michigan and another state, the loss must 
be apportioned. You must attach a Michigan Schedule of 
Apportionment (MI-1040H).
Line  5:  Enter the net loss from the federal column of your 
MI-1040D, line 13, or MI‑4797, line 18b(2) as a positive 
number.
Line  6:  Enter the gross expenses from the production of 
oil and gas or the extraction of nonferrous metallic minerals 
(subject to Michigan severance tax) to the extent deducted 
in AGI. You must also subtract the related gross income on  
line 19.
Line  7: Enter the amount of NOL deduction (NOL 
carryforward) used to reduce AGI.

Line 8: Enter the total of the following (attach a schedule if 
necessary):
•	 ��Add, to the extent not included in AGI, the amount of 

money withdrawn in the tax year from a Michigan 
Education Savings Program (MESP) account, including 
the MI 529 Advisor Plan (MAP), if the withdrawal was 
not a qualified withdrawal as provided in the MESP Act. 
You may first exclude any amount that represents a return 
of contributions for which no deduction was claimed in 
any prior tax year.

•	 �Refund received from a Michigan Education Trust (MET) 
contract. If you deducted the cost of a MET contract in 
previous years and received a refund from MET during 
2014 because the MET contract was terminated, enter the 
smaller of: (1) the refund you received or (2) the amount of 
the original MET contract price including fees which you 
deducted in previous years.

Subtractions From Income
NOTE:  Part-year and nonresidents, subtract only income 
attributable to Michigan (Schedule NR, column B) that is not 
included on line 13.
Line  10:  Enter income from U.S. government obligations 
(e.g., Series EE bonds, Treasury notes, etc.), including 
income from U.S. government obligations received through 
a partnership, S corporation, or other pass-through entity. 
This subtraction must be reduced by related expenses used to 
arrive at AGI.
Investment companies that invest in U.S. obligations 
are permitted to pass the tax-free exemption to their 
shareholders. If income from U.S. government obligations 
exceeds $5,000, attach a copy of your U.S. Schedule B  
listing the amounts received and the issuing agency. Capital 
gains from the sale of U.S. government obligations must be 
adjusted on your MI‑1040D.
Line  11:  Include military and Michigan National 
Guard retirement benefits here and on Schedule W, 
Table 2. Also report any taxable Tier 1 and Tier 2 
railroad retirement benefits. Other qualifying public 
or private retirement benefits must be reported on the 
Michigan Pension Schedule (Form 4884) and Schedule 1,  
line 25. 
Line  12:  Enter the gains from the federal column of 
your MI‑1040D, line 12, and MI-4797, line 18b(2). See 
instructions for Schedule 1, line 3 on page 11.
Line 13: Income Attributable to Another State. 
Nonresidents and part-year residents, complete Schedule NR. 
See instructions on page 50. Attach federal schedules.
Business income that is taxed by Michigan and another 
state must be apportioned. You must complete and attach 
MI-1040H. Income reported on the MI-4797 and carried 
to the MI-1040D is business income, potentially subject to 
apportionment.
Capital gains from the sale of real property or tangible 
personal property located outside of Michigan must be 
adjusted on MI-1040D.
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Michigan residents cannot subtract salaries and wages or 
other compensation earned outside Michigan. However, they 
may be entitled to a tax credit for income tax imposed by 
government units outside Michigan (see page 9).
Residents may subtract:
•	 �Net business income earned in other states and included in 

AGI, and 
•	 �Net rents and royalties from real property or tangible 

personal property located or used in another state.
Line  14:  Compensation received for active duty in the U.S. 
Armed Forces included in AGI should be entered here and on 
Schedule W, Table 1. Enter only the taxable portion of Social 
Security and Military pay included on your U.S. Form 1040, 
or your U.S. Form 1040A. Do not include your total Social 
Security benefits.
NOTE:  Compensation from the U.S. Public Health Service, 
contracted employee pay and civilian pay are not considered 
military pay.
Line  15:  Renaissance Zone deduction. To be eligible you 
must meet all the following requirements:
•	 �Be a permanent resident of a Renaissance Zone designated 

prior to January 1, 2012, for at least 183 consecutive days
•	 Be approved by your local assessor’s office
•	 �Not be delinquent for any State or local taxes abated by 

the Renaissance Zone Act
•	 File an MI-1040 each year
•	 Have gross income of $1 million or less.
If you were a full-year resident of a Renaissance Zone, you 
may subtract all income earned or received. Unearned 
income, such as capital gains, may have to be prorated. If 
you lived in the Zone at least 183 consecutive days during 
2014, you may subtract the portion of income earned while 
a resident of the Zone. If you are a part-year resident of a 
Zone, you must complete and attach a Schedule NR to your  
MI-1040. (See “Special Note” on the back of Schedule NR, 
page 50.) 
Certain Renaissance Zones began to phase out in 2007. The 
tax exemption is reduced in increments of 25 percent during 
the Zone’s final three years of existence. If you are a resident 
of a Zone that is phasing out (check with your local unit of 
government), you must reduce your deduction as follows:
•	 �25 percent for the tax year that is two years before the 

final year of designation as a Renaissance Zone
•	 �50 percent for the tax year immediately preceding the 

final year of the designation as a Renaissance Zone
•	 �75 percent for the tax year that is the final year of the 

designation as a Renaissance Zone.
For additional information regarding qualifications for the 
Renaissance Zone deduction, call the Michigan Economic 
Development Corporation at (517) 373-9808.
Line  16:  You may subtract Michigan state and city income 
tax refunds and homestead property tax credit refunds that 
were included in AGI. 
Note  to  farmers:  You may subtract (to the extent included 
in AGI) the amount that your state or city income tax refund                                                                                                                                           
                                                                                              

and homestead property tax credit exceeds the business 
portion of your homestead property tax credit.
Line  17:  Michigan Education Savings Program (MESP). 
You may deduct, to the extent not deducted in calculating 
AGI, the total of all contributions less qualified withdrawals 
and rollovers (compute the contributions, withdrawals and 
rollovers separately for each account) made during 2014 by 
the taxpayer in the tax year to accounts established through 
the MESP, including the Michigan 529 Advisor Plan (MAP). 
The deduction may not exceed $5,000 for a single return or 
$10,000 for a joint return per tax year. There are numerous 
education savings accounts available from other states and 
investment companies, but Michigan only allows a tax 
deduction for contributions to accounts established through 
MESP and MAP. 
Line  18:  Michigan Education Trust (MET). You may 
deduct the following:
•	 �If you purchased a MET contract during 2014, you may 

deduct the total contract price (including the processing fee).
•	 �If you made a charitable contribution to the MET 

Charitable Tuition Program during 2014, you may deduct 
the total contribution amount. You should have received a 
receipt from MET to confirm the amount. All charitable 
donations will go toward providing scholarships to former 
foster care students attending Michigan colleges.

•	 �If you purchased a MET payroll deduction or monthly 
purchase contract, you may deduct the amount paid on 
that contract during 2014 (not including fees for late 
payments or insufficient funds). You will receive an 
annual statement from MET specifying this amount.

•	 �If you have terminated a MET contract, you may deduct 
the amount included in AGI as income to the purchaser.

Line  19: Subtract the gross income from the production of 
oil and gas or the extraction of nonferrous metallic minerals 
(subject to severance tax) to the extent included in AGI. You 
must also add back the related expenses on line 6. Attach 
copies of applicable federal schedules.
Line  20: Tax Agreement Tribes: A “Resident Tribal 
Member” (Member must be on the list submitted by 
their Tribe to the State of Michigan.) of a federally 
recognized Indian tribe that has an active tax agreement 
with the State of Michigan may subtract certain income 
that is included in his or her “Adjusted Gross Income” 
identified on line 10 of the MI-1040. Such exempt income 
may include income derived from wages, interest, and 
pension income. For a list of agreement tribes, go to  
www.michigan.gov/taxes and select “Income Tax” and then 
“Native American.” A list of tribes’ names will be available; 
click to access the tax agreement and proceed to Section IV. 
Non-Tax Agreement Tribes: If your tribe is not listed, your 
tribe does not have an active tax agreement with Michigan. 
Non-agreement members, see Revenue Administrative 
Bulletin 1988-47 for guidelines in determining exempt 
income that may be subtracted on line 20.
NOTE: Michigan income earned while living outside of your 
Agreement Area (see your tribe’s agreement for a description 
of your Agreement Area) or Indian Country (as defined 
under 18 U.S.C. 1151 for Non-Agreement Tribes) may not be 
subtracted from Michigan AGI.
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Line  21:  Net Operating Loss (NOL) Deduction. You may 
only deduct the Michigan NOL. Your Michigan NOL must 
be reduced by the Michigan apportionment of the domestic 
production activities deduction that was used to arrive at your 
2014 AGI. You must attach Form MI-1045, pages 1 and 2 of 
your federal return and all supporting schedules. 
Line  22:  Miscellaneous subtractions only include:
•	 ��Any portion of a qualified withdrawal from an MESP 

account, including the MAP, to the extent included in 
federal AGI. NOTE: Any amounts not included in AGI or 
that are already deducted on the U.S. Form 1040 to arrive 
at AGI do not qualify for this subtraction. Attach a copy 
of your federal return.

•	 �Benefits from a discriminatory self-insured medical 
expense reimbursement plan, to the extent these 
reimbursements are included in AGI.

•	 �Losses from the disposal of property reported in the 
Michigan column of MI-1040D, line 13, or MI-4797,  
line 18b(2).

•	 �Amount used to determine the credit for elderly or totally 
and permanently disabled from U.S. Form 1040 Schedule R, 
line 19. Attach a copy.

•	 Holocaust victim payments.
You may not subtract:
•	 �Pension and retirement benefits on line 22. See Form 4884
•	 Itemized deductions from U.S. Schedule A
•	 �Sick pay, disability benefits, and wage continuation 

benefits paid to you by your employer or by an insurance 
company under contract with your employer

•	 �Unemployment benefits included in AGI, except railroad 
unemployment benefits

•	 �Contributions to national or Michigan political parties or 
candidates

•	 �Proceeds and prizes won in State of Michigan regulated 
bingo, raffle, or charity games

•	 �Distributions from a deferred compensation plan received 
while a resident of Michigan

•	 �Lottery winnings. (Exception: installment payments from 
prizes won on or before December 30, 1988, may be 
subtracted.) Include installment gross winnings as 
reported on your Form W-2G, box 1, and enter on your 
Schedule W, Table 1.

Lines 23C and 23F: Benefits From Employment Not 
Covered by the Federal Social Security Act (SSA). 
SSA exempt employment is not covered by the federal SSA, 
which means the worker did not pay Social Security taxes 
and is not eligible for Social Security benefits based on 
that employment. Almost all employment is covered by the 
federal SSA. The most common instances of pension and 
retirement benefits from employment that is not covered 
by Social Security are police and firefighter retirees, some 
federal retirees covered under the Civil Service Retirement 
System and hired prior to 1984, and a small number of other 
state and local government retirees. Federal retirees hired 
since 1984 and those covered by the Federal Employees’ 
Retirement System are covered under the SSA. 

Recipients born between January 1, 1946 and  
December 31, 1952 who receive pension or retirement 
benefits from employment with a governmental agency 
that was not covered by the federal SSA are entitled to a 
greater retirement/pension deduction or Michigan Standard 
Deduction. If you or your spouse are SSA exempt this 
increases your maximum allowable deduction by $15,000.
Answer the questions below to determine if you should check 
boxes 23C and/or 23F.
Line 23C:
1.	 Was the older of the filer or spouse born between  
January 1, 1946 and December 31, 1952?
    Yes:	 Continue to question 3.
    No:	 Continue to question 2.
2.	Did the filer receive retirement/pension benefits from a 
deceased spouse born between January 1, 1946 and 
December 31, 1952?
    Yes:	 Continue to question 3.
    No:	 Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23C. 
3.	 Did the filer receive SSA Exempt retirement/pension 
benefits?
    Yes:	 Check box 23C.
    No:	 Continue to question 4.
4.	 Did the filer receive SSA Exempt surviving spouse 
benefits?
    Yes:	 Check box 23C.
    No:	 Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23C.
Line 23F:
1.	 Was the older of the filer or spouse born between  
January 1, 1946 and December 31, 1952?
    Yes:	 Continue to question 3.
    No:	 Continue to question 2.
2.	Did the spouse receive retirement/pension benefits from a 
deceased spouse born between January 1, 1946 and 
December 31, 1952?
    Yes:	 Continue to question 3.
    No:	 Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23F.
3.	 Did the spouse receive SSA Exempt retirement/pension 
benefits?
    Yes:	 Check box 23F.
    No:	 Continue to question 4.
4.	 Did the spouse receive SSA Exempt surviving spouse 
benefits?
    Yes:	 Check box 23F.
     No:	 Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23F.
Line 24: Michigan Standard Deduction. If the older of you 
or your spouse (if married filing jointly) was born during the 
period January 1, 1946 through January 1, 1948, and reached 
the age of 67 on or before December 31, 2014, you are eligible 
for a deduction against all income and will no longer deduct 
pension and retirement benefits.  The deduction is $20,000 
for a return filed as single or married filing separately, or 
$40,000 for a married filing jointly return.  The standard 
deduction is reduced by any amounts reported on line 11 and 
any military pay included on line 14.
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If you checked either box 23C or 23F your standard deduction 
is increased by $15,000.  If you checked both boxes 23C and 
23F your standard deduction is increased by $30,000.  
In most cases, taxpayers who complete line 24 should 
not complete lines 25 or 26. However, if a taxpayer is the 
unremarried surviving spouse of a decedent born prior 
to 1946 who also died after reaching age 65, the taxpayer 
should check the box below line 26 and may then claim the 
Michigan standard deduction on line 24 and a deduction for 
investment income on line 26 (if applicable).
Line  25:  Qualifying retirement and pension benefits 
included in your AGI may be subtracted from income. 
Pension and retirement benefits are taxed differently 
depending on the age of the recipient.  See “Which Benefits 
are Taxable” below. 

You must attach Form 4884. If you were born during the 
period January 1, 1946 through January 1, 1948, see line 24.
Line  26:  Senior citizens born prior to 1946 may subtract 
interest, dividends, and capital gains included in AGI. This 
subtraction is limited to a maximum of $10,929 on a single 
return or $21,857 on a joint return and is reduced by any 
deduction for:
•	 �Military (including Michigan National Guard) retirement 

benefits from line 11
•	 Railroad retirement benefits from line 11
•	 �Public and private pension and retirement benefits from 

line 25
•	 �Amount used for the federal credit for the elderly and 

totally and permanently disabled from line 22.
For further assistance, go to www.michigan.gov/incometax.

General Information - Pension Schedule (Form 4884)
What are Pension and Retirement Benefits (Form 
4884)
Under Michigan law, qualifying pension and retirement benefits 
include most payments that are reported on a 1099-R for federal 
tax purposes. This includes defined benefit pensions, IRA 
distributions, and most payments from defined contribution 
plans. Payments received before the recipient could retire 
under the provisions of the plan or benefits from 401(k), 457, 
or 403(b) plans attributable to employee contributions alone are 
not pension and retirement benefits under Michigan law, are 
taxable and are subject to withholding.
Qualifying benefits include distributions from the 
following sources:
•	 �Pension plans that define eligibility for retirement and set 

contribution and benefit amounts in advance
•	 Qualified retirement plans for the self-employed
•	 �Retirement distributions from a 401(k) or 403(b) plan 

attributable to employer contributions or attributable to 
employee contributions that result in additional employer 
contributions (e.g., matching contributions)

•	 �IRA distributions received after age 59½ or described by 
Section 72(t)(2)(A)(iv) of the IRC (series of equal periodic 
payments made for life)

•	 �Benefits from any of the previous plans received due to a 
disability, or as a surviving spouse if the decedent 
qualified for the subtraction at the time of death and was 
born prior to January 1, 1953

•	 �Benefits paid to a senior citizen (age 65 or older) from a 
retirement annuity policy that are paid for life (as opposed 
to a specified number of years).

Qualifying public benefits include distributions 
from the following sources:
•	 The State of Michigan
•	 �Michigan local governmental units (e.g., Michigan 

counties, cities, and school districts)
•	 Federal civil service.

Retirement and pension benefits that are transferred from 
one plan to another (rolled over) continue to be treated as if 
they remained in the original plan.
For public and private pension or retirement 
benefits, you may not subtract:
•	 �Amounts received from a deferred compensation plan that 

lets the employee set the amount to be put aside and does 
not set retirement age or requirements for years of service. 
These plans include, but are not limited to, plans under 
Sections 401(k), 457, and 403(b) of the IRC

•	 �Amounts received before the recipient could retire under 
the plan provisions, including amounts paid on separation, 
withdrawal, or discontinuance of the plan

•	 �Amounts received as early retirement incentives, unless 
the incentives were paid from a pension trust.

Which Benefits are Taxable
Pension and retirement benefits are taxed differently 
depending on the age of the recipient. Married couples filing 
a joint return should complete Form 4884 based on the year 
of birth of the older spouse.  Military and Michigan National 
Guard pensions, railroad retirement benefits and Social 
Security benefits are exempt from tax and should be reported 
on the Schedule 1, line 11 or line 14.
Who May Claim a Pension Subtraction
•	 �Recipients born before 1946 may subtract all qualifying 

pension and retirement benefits received from public 
sources, and may subtract qualifying private pension and 
retirement benefits up to $49,027 if single or married 
filing separate, or $98,054 if married filing a joint return. 
If your public retirement benefits are greater than the 
maximum amount you are not entitled to claim an 
additional subtraction for private pensions. 

NOTE: In addition to the public retirement benefits listed 
above, the private pension limits are also reduced by the 
following from Schedule 1, line 11:

•	 �Military retirement from the U.S. Armed Forces
•	 �Retirement from the Michigan National Guard       
•	 Railroad retirement.
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•	 �Recipients born during the period January 1, 1946 
through January 1, 1948, do not complete Form 4884.  
See Schedule 1, line 24.

•	 �Recipients born after January 1, 1948 through 
December 31, 1952 will be able to deduct up to $20,000 in 
qualifying pension and retirement benefits if single or 
married filing separate or up to $40,000 if married filing a 
joint return. Generally, all pension or retirement benefits 
(public and private) are treated the same unless the recipient 
also has significant benefits from service in the U.S. Armed 
Forces or Michigan National Guard, or receives taxable 
railroad retirement benefits. Recipients who deduct military 
retirement benefits due to service in the U.S. Armed Forces 
or Michigan National Guard, or taxable railroad retirement 
benefits on Schedule 1, line 11 may have lower deduction 
limits if these deductions total more than $29,027 on a 
single return or $58,054 on a joint return. See the 
instructions for line 8, 16 or 27 of Form 4884, whichever 
applies, for more information.

•	 �Recipients born after 1952, all pension and retirement 
benefits are taxable and you are not entitled to a pension 
subtraction.

For help calculating the pension and retirement subtraction, 
see “Which Section of Form 4884 Should I Complete?” on 
page 16. 
Retirement Benefits from a Deceased Spouse
Calculate the amount of deductible retirement benefits received 
as a survivor of a deceased spouse based on the birth year of the  

deceased spouse and the filing status of the surviving spouse. 
Retirement benefits received as a survivor generally have a 
distribution code of 4 on the federal Form 1099-R. The 1099-R 
reports retirement benefits to the Internal Revenue Service and 
it is sent by the pension administrator paying the benefits.
Example 1: A single filer who receives retirement benefits 
as the surviving spouse of a decedent born in 1952 (Tier 2) 
would be able to subtract up to $20,000 in qualified retirement 
benefits received from the deceased spouse.  
Example 2: A married filer who receives retirement   benefits as 
the surviving spouse of a decedent born in 1942 (Tier 1) would 
be able to subtract all public retirement benefits received from 
the deceased spouse and private retirement benefits received 
up to $98,054, reduced by any public benefits received from 
the deceased spouse.  
Generally, any retirement benefits deducted as a survivor 
reduce the amount of other retirement benefits that may be 
deducted.  
Example 3:  If the filer in Example 1 was born in 1952  
(Tier 2), any retirement benefits received from the deceased 
spouse that are deductible will reduce the filer’s maximum  
deduction for retirement benefits of $20,000.  
NOTE:  Filers born after 1952 (Tier 3) receiving survivor  
benefits from a deceased spouse born in Tier 1 complete 
Section B of Form 4884.  Filers born after 1952 (Tier 3) 
receiving survivor benefits from a deceased spouse born in 
Tier 2 complete Section C of Form 4884.

Line-by-Line Instructions for Pension Schedule (Form 4884)
For help calculating the pension and retirement subtraction, 
visit www.michigan.gov/incometax.
NOTE: For purposes of this form, single limits apply to 
taxpayers who are married filing separately.
Lines not listed are explained on the form.
Lines 1, 2, and 3:  Enter your name(s) and Social Security 
number(s). If you are married filing separate returns, enter 
both Social Security numbers, but do not enter your spouse’s 
name.
Lines 4 and 5:  Enter your year(s) of birth. If you are married 
and filing separately, do not enter your spouse’s year of birth.

Line 6: Enter deceased spouse name, Social Security 
number and year of birth.  If deceased spouse was born after 
December 31, 1952, STOP; you may not deduct retirement 
benefits from the deceased spouse. If you are filing your 
final joint tax return because your spouse died during the tax 
year, do not complete line 6 or check box 7B.
NOTE: When completing Form 4884, surviving spouse 
means the deceased spouse died prior to the current tax year 
(e.g. when filing a 2014 return the spouse died in 2007).  
Deceased spouse benefits do not include benefits from a 
spouse who died in 2014.

Filing Status Birth Year Retirement Benefits
Tier

Retirement Benefits  
Deduction Limits

Single/Separate Before 1946 Tier 1 All public plus private benefits up 
to $49,027 combined

Single/Separate **1946 through 1952 Tier 2 $20,000

Single/Separate After 1952 Tier 3 No deduction

*Joint Before 1946 Tier 1 All public plus private benefits up 
to $98,054 combined

*Joint **1946 through 1952 Tier 2 $40,000

*Joint After 1952 Tier 3 No deduction

* On a joint return, determine the eligibility for deducting retirement benefits using the age of the older spouse.
** Taxpayers born during the period January 1, 1946 through January 1, 1948 should not deduct retirement benefits; 
you are eligible for the Michigan Standard Deduction. See Schedule 1, line 24 instructions. 
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Line 7: If you have more than ten qualifying entries, 
continue those entries on the 2014 Michigan Pension 
Continuation Schedule (Form 4973). DO NOT include  
benefits from anyone born after 1952, with the exception of 
benefits to a spouse on a joint return.
Line 7B: For each qualifying pension and retirement benefit 
attributable to a deceased spouse put an “X” in column 7B.  
See instructions for line 6 for more information on deceased 
spouse benefits. 
Line 7C: If an individual has multiple retirement and 
pension benefits from the same Payer FEIN and distribution 
code, combine those amounts on the same line.
Line 7D: List the distribution code from box 7 of the federal 
Form 1099-R.
Line 7F: Include the taxable amount of retirement or pension 
reported in federal AGI. If you are a part-year resident only use 
the portion from the Michigan Schedule NR, line 10 column B.
Line 8: If you or your spouse reported any retirement and 
pension benefits from service in the U.S. Armed Forces, the 
Michigan National Guard or any taxable railroad retirement 
benefits reported on Schedule 1, line 11, these amounts 
should be subtracted from the allowable private pension 
deduction limits. For purposes of this line, single limits apply 
to taxpayers who are married filing separately.  
Amounts deducted on Schedule 1, line 11, are not deducted 
again on Form 4884, and are only used to reduce the 
allowable deduction for private retirement and pension 
benefits. For example, if a joint filer born in 1945 received 
$30,000 in retirement benefits from service in the U.S. 
Armed Forces the allowable private deduction limit reported 
on line 8 would be $98,054 - $30,000 = $68,054.
Line 12:  If you checked either SSA Exempt box 23C or 23F 
from Schedule 1, your maximum is increased by $15,000.  
If you checked both boxes 23C and 23F your maximum is 
increased by $30,000.
Line 15:  Carry this amount to Schedule 1, line 25, do not 
complete Section B or Section C.
Line 16: If you or your spouse received and reported any 
retirement and pension benefits from service in the U.S. 
Armed Forces or Michigan National Guard, or any taxable 
railroad retirement benefits reported on Schedule 1, line 11, 
these amounts should be subtracted from the allowable private 
pension deduction limit here.  
Amounts deducted on Schedule 1, line 11, are not deducted 
again on Form 4884 and are only used to reduce the 
allowable deduction for private retirement and pension 
benefits.
Line 22: Do not include benefits received from a deceased 
spouse (who died prior to 2014).
Line 23:  If you checked either SSA Exempt box 23C or 23F 
from Schedule 1, your maximum is increased by $15,000.  
If you checked both boxes 23C and 23F your maximum is 
increased by $30,000.
Line 26:  Carry this amount to Schedule 1, line 25. Do not 
complete Section A or Section C.

Line 27:  If you checked either SSA Exempt box 23C or 23F 
from Schedule 1, your maximum is increased by $15,000.  
If you checked both boxes 23C and 23F your maximum is 
increased by $30,000. 
Taxpayers who were born after January 1, 1948, who are 
receiving benefits from a deceased spouse who was born 
during the period January 1, 1946 through January 1, 1948 
should also use Section C to calculate the deduction for 
retirement and pension benefits. Benefits received due to 
individuals born after 1952 are not deductible.
If you deducted military retirement benefits, or taxable 
railroad retirement benefits on Schedule 1, line 11, your 
deduction for retirement or pension benefits received from a 
private source may be reduced.  
To determine your allowable subtraction, use Worksheet 2 
on page 17 if you have taxable railroad retirement benefits or 
qualifying pension and retirement benefits from service in 
the U.S. Armed Forces or Michigan National Guard and you 
are completing Section C of Form 4884.
Carry this amount to Schedule 1, line 25, do not complete 
Section A or Section B. 

Which Section of Form 4884 Should I 
Complete?

Using the information from line 7, complete  
Section A, Section B or Section C.  To determine 
which section of the form to complete, answer the 
following questions.
1. Were pension or retirement benefits received by a 
filer or spouse (if married filing jointly) born prior 
to January 1, 1953, or were surviving spouse benefits 
received for a deceased spouse who was born prior to 
January 1, 1953 and died prior to January 1, 2014?
	 Yes:	 Continue to question 2.
	 No:	� You are not eligible for a pension or 

retirement benefits subtraction.  Do not file 
Form 4884.

2. Was the older of filer or spouse (if married filing 
jointly) born during the period January 1, 1946 
through January 1, 1948?
	 Yes:	� Do not file Form 4884. Use Schedule 1,   

line 24 (see instructions, page 13).
	 No:	 Continue to question 3.

3. Was older of filer or spouse (if married filing 
jointly) born prior to January 1, 1946?
	 Yes:	 Complete Section A of Form 4884.
	 No:	 Continue to question 4.
4. Is filer or spouse (if married filing jointly) 
receiving benefits from a deceased spouse who 
was born prior to January 1, 1946 and died prior to 
January 1, 2014?
	 Yes:	 Complete Section B of Form 4884.
	 No:	 Complete Section C of Form 4884.
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Worksheet 2 for Filers with Taxable Railroad Retirement Benefits or Qualifying Pension and Retirement Benefits 
from Service in the U.S. Armed Forces or Michigan National Guard and Completing Section C of Form 4884

1. Enter military retirement benefits due to service in the U.S. Armed Forces or Michigan National 
Guard and taxable railroad retirement benefits reported on Schedule 1, line 11........................... 1. 00

2. Enter public retirement and pension benefits reported on Form 4884, line 7................................. 2. 00

3. Add lines 1 and 2............................................................................................................................ 3. 00

4. Enter private retirement and pension benefits reported on Form 4884, line 7............................... 4. 00

5. Enter $49,027 if single or $98,054 if filing jointly............................................................................ 5. 00

6. Subtract line 3 from line 5.  If less than zero, enter $0................................................................... 6. 00

7. Enter the smaller of line 4 or line 6................................................................................................. 7. 00

8. Add line 2 and line 7....................................................................................................................... 8. 00
9. Enter $20,000 if single or $40,000 if filing jointly.  Higher limits apply if you checked Schedule 1, 

box 23C or 23F (see line 11 below)................................................................................................ 9. 00

10. Enter the smaller of line 8 or line 9 here and on Form 4884, line 27.............................................. 10. 00
Calculation for filers with benefits from employment exempt from the Social Security Act
11. Enter $20,000 if single or $40,000 if filing jointly............................................................................ 11. 00

12. If you checked box 23C or 23F on Schedule 1, enter $15,000 for each box checked................... 12. 00

13. Add line 11 and line 12.  This is your maximum deduction for line 9 of this Worksheet................. 13. 00

Scenario 1:  Filer and spouse both born after December 31, 1952.
Scott and Lisa are filing a joint return.  Scott, born in 1954, is receiving public pension benefits of $30,000.  Lisa, born in 1957, 
is receiving an IRA distribution (private pension) of $20,000.

Step 1: As both Scott and Lisa were born after December 31, 1952, 
they are not entitled to a pension subtraction and do not 
complete Form 4884.................................................................. Do not file Form 4884.

Scenario 2:  Filer and spouse both born in Tier 2 with the older spouse born in 1947.
William and Betty are Michigan residents and are filing a joint return. William, born in 1951, is receiving public pension 
benefits of $10,000 and wages from a part-time job.  Betty, born in 1947, is receiving private pension benefits of $20,000.

Step 1: As the older of William and Betty was born in 1947 (age 67 in 
2014), they do not complete Form 4884 and instead complete 
Schedule 1, lines 23 and 24 for the Michigan Standard 
Deduction.  This standard deduction applies against all income 
(pension, wages, interest, etc.)..................................................... Do not file Form 4884.

Form 4884 Various Scenarios



18

Scenario 3: Single filer born after January 1, 1948 through December 31, 1952 (Tier 2) with  
retirement/pension benefits.
 Henry is filing as single. He was born in 1950 and is receiving a private pension of $25,000 with a distribution code of 7.

Step 1: After completing lines 1 and 2, Henry enters 1950 on line 4.
Step 2: He completes row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Private for 7A, the 

payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 7 in 7D, the name of the payer 
in 7E, and $25,000 in 7F.......................................................................... Line 7F, Row 1......................... $25,000

Step 3: Henry refers to the questionnaire on page 16 to decide whether 
Section A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed.

•	 Henry answers yes to question 1 as he was born prior to  
January 1, 1953.

•	 He answers no to question 2 because he was not born during the 
period January 1, 1946 through January 1, 1948.

•	 He answers no to question 3 because he was not born prior to 
January 1, 1946.

•	 He answers no to question 4 because he is not receiving benefits 
from a deceased spouse. Based on his answers he completes  
Section C of Form 4884.

Step 4: Since he is single and his total pension benefits are over the maximum 
allowed, Henry enters the maximum of $20,000 on line 27 and on the 
Schedule 1, line 25...................................................................................

Line 27.......................................

Schedule 1, Line 25....................

$20,000

$20,000

Scenario 4:  Joint filer with the older spouse born prior to January 1, 1946 (Tier 1) with private 
and public retirement/pension benefits.
Jerry and Beverly are filing a joint return.  Jerry was born in 1943 and is receiving a public pension of $40,000 with a distribution 
code of 7.  Beverly was born in 1946 and is receiving a private pension of $60,000 with a distribution code of 7.

Step 1: After completing lines 1 through 3, Jerry and Beverly enter 1943 
on line 4 and 1946 on line 5.

Step 2: They complete row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for 7A, 
the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 7 in 7D, the name of 
the payer in 7E and $40,000 in 7F......................................................	 Line 7F, Row 1......................... $40,000
They complete row 2 of line 7 by entering an X in Private for 7A, 
the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 7 in 7D, the name of 
the payer in 7E and $60,000 in 7F...................................................... Line 7F, Row 2.......................... $60,000

Step 3: Jerry and Beverly refer to the questionnaire on page 16 to 
determine whether Section A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be 
completed.  They answer yes to question 1, no to question 2, yes to 
question 3 and complete Section A of Form 4884.

Step 4: They enter $98,054 on line 8 as they are married filing jointly......... Line 8........................................ $98,054

Step 5: They enter $40,000 on line 9, the total of their public pension 
benefits................................................................................................ Line 9........................................ $40,000

Step 6: They subtract line 9 from line 8 and enter $58,054 on line 10........... Line 10..................................... $58,054

Step 7: They enter $60,000 on line 11, the total of their private pension 
benefits................................................................................................

Line 11...................................... $60,000

Step 8: They leave line 12 blank as it does not apply to them........................ Line 12...................................... Leave 
blank

Step 9: They enter $60,000 on line 13, the total of lines 11 and 12............... Line 13...................................... $60,000

Step 10: They enter $58,054, the smaller of lines 10 or 13............................. Line 14...................................... $58,054

Step 11: They add lines 9 and 14, enter $98,054 on line 15 and carry this 
amount to Schedule 1, line 25.	

Line 15.......................................
Schedule 1, Line 25....................

$98,054
$98,054
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Scenario 6:  Joint filers, with the older spouse born prior to January 1, 1946 (Tier 1) who died 
during the tax year with private pension benefits.
Bob and Mary are filing a joint return.  Bob, born in 1944, has a private pension of $30,000.  Bob died on October 15, 2014.  Bob 
received a 1099-R for $25,000 with a distribution code of 7 and Mary received a 1099-R for $5,000 with a distribution code of 
4 for the remainder of Bob’s pension.  Mary, born in 1952, is receiving a public pension of $70,000 with a distribution code of 7.  

Step 1: After completing lines 1 through 3, Mary enters 1944 on line 4 
and 1952 on line 5.  Mary does not complete line 6 or check 7B 
because Bob died during the current tax year.

Step 2: Mary completes row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Private for 
7A, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 7 in 7D, the 
name of payer in 7E, and $25,000 in 7F.......................................... Line 7F, Row 1.......................... $25,000
She completes row 2 of line 7 by entering an X in Private for 7A, 
the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 4 in 7D, the name of 
payer in 7E, and $5,000 in 7F.......................................................... Line 7F, Row 2.......................... $5,000
She completes row 3 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for 7A, 
the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 7 in 7D, the name of 
payer in 7E, and $70,000 in 7F........................................................ Line 7F, Row 3.......................... $70,000

Step 3: Mary refers to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine 
whether Section A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed.  She 
answers yes to question 1, no to question 2, yes to question 3 and 
completes Section A of Form 4884.

Step 4: She enters $98,054 on line 8 as she is filing jointly........................ Line 8......................................... $98,054

Step 5: She enters $70,000, her public pension, on line 9........................... Line 9......................................... $70,000

Step 6: She subtracts line 9 from line 8 and enters $28,054 on line 10...... Line 10....................................... $28,054

Step 7: She enters $30,000, the total private pension benefits, on line 11.. Line 11....................................... $30,000

Step 8: Mary leaves line 12 blank as Bob is not considered a deceased 
spouse for purposes of this return; they are filing jointly.............. Line 12....................................... leave blank

Step 9: Mary enters $30,000 on line 13, the total of lines 11 and 12.......... Line 13....................................... $30,000

Step 10: She enters $28,054, the smaller of lines 10 or 13............................ Line 14....................................... $28,054

Step 11: She adds lines 9 and 14, enters $98,054 on line 15 and carries 
this amount to Schedule 1, line 25..................................................

Line 15.......................................
Schedule 1, Line 25...................

$98,054
$98,054

Scenario 5:  Married filing separately with filer born after January 1, 1948 through December 31, 
1952 (Tier 2) and separated spouse born prior to January 1, 1946 (Tier 1).
James and Phyllis are married filing separately.  James was born in 1951 and is receiving a public pension of $50,000.  
Phyllis was born in 1941 and is receiving a public pension of $45,000.

Step 1: As James is married filing separately, he completes lines 1 
and 2, leaves the spouse’s name line blank, and includes the 
spouse’s Social Security number on line 3.

Step 2: James enters 1951 on line 4 and skips line 5.
Step 3: He completes row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for 

7A, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code in 7D, the 
name of the payer in 7E, and $50,000 in 7F............................... Line 7F, Row 1.......................... $50,000

Step 4: James refers to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine 
whether Section A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed.  
He answers yes to question 1, no to question 2, no to question 
3 because the separated spouse’s year of birth is not relevant, 
no to question 4 and completes Section C of Form 4884.

Step 5: Since he is married filing separately and his total pension 
benefits are over the maximum allowed, James enters the 
maximum of $20,000 on line 27 and on the Schedule 1,  
line 25..........................................................................................

Line 27....................................

Schedule 1, Line 25....................

$20,000

$20,000
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Scenario 7:  Single filer born after January 1, 1948 through December 31, 1952 (Tier 2) receiving 
surviving benefits from a deceased spouse born in 1939 (Tier 1).
Alice, born in 1952, is a surviving spouse filing a single return.  Her deceased husband Miguel was born in 1939 and died in 
2010. Alice has public pension benefits of $37,500 and is also receiving surviving spouse benefits from Miguel’s public pension 
of $69,000.

Step 1: After completing lines 1 and 2, Alice enters 1947 on line 4.  Alice 
is receiving pension benefits from a deceased spouse so she then 
completes line 6.  She enters Miguel’s full name on line 6a, his 
Social Security number on line 6b, and 1939 on line 6c.

Step 2: She completes row 1 of line 7 by entering  an X in Public for 7A, 
the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code in 7D, the name of 
payer in 7E, and $37,500 in 7F.
She completes row 2 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for 7A, 
entering an X in 7B, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 
of 4 in 7D, the name of payer in 7E, and $69,000 in 7F....................

Line 7F, Row 1........................

Line 7F, Row 2........................

$37,500

$69,000

Step 3: Alice refers to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine whether 
Section A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed.  She answers 
yes to question 1, no to question 2, no to question 3, yes to 
question 4 and completes Section B of Form 4884.

Step 4: She enters $49,027 on line 16 because she is filing single................ Line 16..................................... $49,027

Step 5: She enters $69,000, public benefits received from her deceased 
spouse, Miguel, on line 17.................................................................. Line 17..................................... $69,000

Step 6: Since line 17 is more than line 16, she enters zero on line 18........... Line 18..................................... $0

Step 7: She leaves line 19 blank because she is not receiving private 
benefits from her deceased spouse.................................................... Line 19..................................... leave blank

Step 8: She enters the smaller of lines 18 or 19, she enters zero on line 20.. Line 20...................................... $0

Step 9: Alice adds lines 17 and 20 and enters $69,000 on line 21................. Line 21..................................... $69,000

Step 10: She enters $37,500 on line 22, the total of her benefits..................... Line 22..................................... $37,500

Step 11: Alice enters $20,000 on line 23 as she is filing single...................... Line 23..................................... $20,000

Step 12: Since line 21 is more than line 23 she enters zero on line 24............ Line 24..................................... $0

Step 13: She enters the smaller of lines 22 or 24, zero, on line 25.................. Line 25..................................... $0

Step 14: Alice adds lines 21 and 25 and enters $69,000 on line 26 and 
Schedule 1, line 25.............................................................................

Line 26.....................................
Schedule 1, Line 25.................

$69,000
$69,000



21

Scenario 8:  Joint filers born after 1952 (Tier 3) with retirement/pension benefits and receiving 
surviving benefits from a deceased spouse born in 1944 (Tier 1).
Howard and Georgia are filing a joint return.  Howard, born in 1953, is receiving a private pension of $40,000.  Georgia was 
born in 1955.  Howard’s deceased spouse, Edith, was born in 1944 and died in 2006.  Howard is receiving $30,000 in surviving 
spouse pension benefits from Edith’s private pension.

Step 1: After completing lines 1 through 3, Howard and Georgia 
enter 1953 on line 4 and 1955 on line 5.  Howard is receiving 
pension benefits from a deceased spouse so he then 
completes line 6.  He enters Edith’s full name on line 6a, her 
Social Security number on line 6b, and 1944 on line 6c.

Step 2: As Howard and Georgia were both born in Tier 3 their 
pension benefits are not deductible and should not be listed 
on line 7 of Form 4884.
They complete row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Private 
for 7A, an X in 7B, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution 
code in 7D, the name of payer in 7E, and $30,000 in 7F.......... Line 7F.................................... $30,000

Step 3: They refer to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine 
whether Section A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed.  
They answer yes to question 1, no to question 2, no to 
question 3, yes to question 4 and complete Section B of Form 
4884.

Step 4: They enter $98,054 on line 16 as they are filing jointly........... Line 16.................................... $98,054

Step 5: They leave line 17 blank because they are not receiving 
public benefits from Edith........................................................ Line 17..................................... leave  blank

Step 6: They subtract line 17 from line 16 and enter $98,054 on
line 18...................................................................................... Line 18..................................... $98,054

Step 7: They enter $30,000, public benefits received from Howard’s 
deceased spouse, Edith, on line 19............................................ Line 19..................................... $30,000

Step 8: They enter the smaller of lines 18 or 19, $30,000, on line 20. Line 20..................................... $30,000

Step 9: Howard and Georgia add lines 17 and 20 and enter $30,000 
on line 21................................................................................... Line 21..................................... $30,000

Step 10: Since Howard and Georgia are born in Tier 3 and do not 
have deductible benefits they would leave line 22 blank......... Line 22..................................... leave blank

Step 11: They enter $40,000 on line 23 as they are filing jointly........... Line 23..................................... $40,000

Step 12: Since line 21 is less than line 23 they enter $10,000 on 
line 24....................................................................................... Line 24..................................... $10,000

Step 13: They enter the smaller of lines 22 or 24, zero, on line 25....... Line 25..................................... $0

Step 14: They add lines 21 and 25 and enter $30,000 on line 26 and 
Schedule 1, line 25....................................................................

Line 26.....................................
Schedule 1, Line 25.................

$30,000
$30,000
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Scenario 10:  Single filer born after January 1, 1948 through December 31, 1952  (Tier 2) with SSA 
exempt benefits.
Monique is filing as single.  She was born in 1950 and is receiving a pension of $25,000 as a retired firefighter.

Step 1: After completing lines 1 and 2, Monique enters 1950 on line 4.

Step 2: She completes row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for 
7A, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code in 7D, the 
name of the payer in 7E, and the $25,000 in 7F. Line 7, Row 1................................ $25,000

Step 3: She refers to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine 
whether Section A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed. 
She answers yes to question 1, no to question 2, no to question 
3, no to question 4 and completes Section C of Form  4884.

Step 4: Since she is single and receiving benefits from employment 
that was SSA exempt her maximum allowable pension 
deduction is increased from $20,000 to $35,000. She would 
enter $25,000, the lesser of her total retirement and pension 
benefits or the maximum allowable pension deduction, on  
line 27 and on the Schedule 1, line 25.
NOTE: It is important for taxpayers with benefits that were 
SSA exempt to check the box(es) on line 23 of the Schedule 1.

Line 27.........................................
Schedule 1, Line 23
23A..............................................
23B..............................................
23C..............................................
Schedule 1, Line 25.....................

$25,000

1950
64
X
$25,000

Scenario 9:  Joint filers born after 1952 (Tier 3) with retirement/pension benefits and receiving 
surviving benefits from a deceased spouse born in 1949 (Tier 2).
Mark and Nancy are filing a joint return.  Mark, born in 1953, is receiving a private pension of $25,000.  Nancy was born in 
1953.  Nancy’s deceased spouse, Eduardo, was born in 1949 and died in 2008.  Nancy is receiving $35,000 in surviving spouse 
pension benefits from Eduardo’s private pension.

Step 1: After completing lines 1 through 3, Mark and Nancy enter 
1953 on line 4 and 1953 on line 5.  Nancy is receiving pension 
benefits from a deceased spouse so she then completes line 6.  
She enters Eduardo’s full name on line 6a, his Social Security 
number on line 6b, and 1949 on line 6c.

Step 2: As Mark and Nancy were both born in Tier 3 Mark’s pension 
is not deductible and should not be listed on line 7 of Form 
4884.
They complete row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Private for 
7A, an X in 7B, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code in 
7D, the name of payer in 7E, and $35,000 in 7F. Line 7, Row 1............................... $35,000

Step 3: They refer to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine 
whether Section A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed.  
They answer yes to question 1, no to question 2, no to question 
3, no to question 4 and complete Section C of Form 4884.

Step 4: They are married filing jointly and enter the total of their 
benefits from line 7 of $35,000, since it is less than the 
maximum of $40,000, on line 27 and on the Michigan 
Schedule 1, line 25......................................................................

Line 27.........................................
Schedule 1, Line 25....................

$35,000
$35,000
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General Information - Homestead Property Tax Credit (MI-1040CR)
The request for your Social Security number is authorized 
under USC Section 42. Social Security numbers are used by 
Treasury to conduct matches against benefit income provided 
by the Social Security Administration and other sources to 
verify the accuracy of the home heating credit and property 
tax credit claims filed and to deter fraudulent filings.

Who May Claim a Property Tax Credit
You may claim a property tax credit if all of the following 
apply:
•	 Your homestead is located in Michigan
•	 You were a Michigan resident at least six months of 2014
•	 �You pay property taxes or rent on your Michigan 

homestead
•	 �You were contracted to pay rent or own the home you live 

in.
You can have only one homestead at a time, and you must be 
the occupant as well as the owner or renter. Your homestead 
can be a rented apartment or a mobile home on a lot in a 
mobile home park. A vacation home or income property is 
not considered your homestead.
Your homestead is in your state of domicile. Domicile is the 
place where you have your permanent home. It is the place 
to which you plan to return whenever you go away. College 
students and others whose permanent homes are not in 
Michigan are not Michigan residents. Domicile continues 
until you establish a new permanent home.
Property tax credit claims may not be submitted on behalf of 
minor children. 
You may not claim a property tax credit if your total 
household resources are over $50,000. In addition, you 
may not claim a property tax credit if your taxable value 
exceeds $135,000 (excluding vacant farmland classified as 
agricultural). The computed credit is reduced by 10 percent 
for every $1,000 (or part of $1,000) that total household 
resources exceed $41,000. If filing a part-year return, you 
must annualize total household resources to determine if the 
income limitation applies. See “Annualizing Total Household 
Resources” on page 26.
Which Form to File
Most filers should use the MI-1040CR in this booklet. If you 
are blind and own your homestead, are in the active military, 
are an eligible veteran, or an eligible veteran’s surviving spouse, 
complete forms MI-1040CR and MI-1040CR-2 (available on 
Treasury’s Web site.) Use the form that gives you a larger 
credit. 
If you are blind and rent your homestead, you cannot use 
the MI-1040CR-2. Claim your credit on the MI-1040CR and 
check box 5b if you are age 65 or younger. Check boxes 5a 
and 5b if you are blind and age 65 or older. 
When to File
If you are not required to file an MI‑1040, you may file your 
credit claim as soon as you know your 2014 total household 
resources and property taxes levied in 2014. If you file a 
Michigan income tax return, your credit claim should be 

attached to your MI-1040 return and filed by April 15, 2015 
to be considered timely.  To avoid penalty and interest, 
if you owe tax, postmark no later than April 15, 2015. The 
filing deadline to receive a 2014 property tax credit is  
April 15, 2019. 
Amending Your Credit Claim
File a new claim form and write “Amended” across the 
top. If applicable, attach a copy of your property tax 
statement(s) and/or lease agreement. You must file within 
four years of the date set for filing your original income tax 
return.
Delaying Payment of Your Property Taxes
Senior citizens, disabled people, veterans, surviving spouses 
of veterans, and farmers may be able to delay paying 
property taxes. Contact your local or county treasurer for 
more information.  
Total Household Resources
Total household resources are the total income (taxable and 
nontaxable) of both spouses or of a single person maintaining 
a household. They are AGI, excluding net business and farm 
losses, net rent and royalty losses, and any carryover of a net 
operating loss, plus all income exempt or excluded from AGI. 
Total household resources include the following items not 
listed on the form:
•	 �Capital gains on sales of your residence regardless of them 

being exempt from federal income tax
•	 �Nongovernmental scholarship, stipend or grant payments 

paid directly to an educational institution
•	 �Compensation for damages to character or for personal 

injury or sickness
•	 An inheritance (except an inheritance from your spouse)
•	 �Proceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of the 

insured (except benefits from a policy on your spouse)
•	 Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer
•	 Minister’s housing allowance
•	 �Forgiveness of debt, even if  excluded from AGI (e.g., 

mortgage foreclosure)
•	 �Reimbursement from dependent care and/or medical care 

spending accounts
•	 �Payments made on your behalf, except government 

payments, paid directly to third parties such as an 
educational institution or subsidized housing project.

Total household resources do NOT include:
•	 Net operating loss deductions taken on your federal return
•	 �Payments received by participants in the foster 

grandparent or senior companion program
•	 Energy assistance grants
•	 �Government payments made directly to a third party (e.g., 

payments to a doctor, GI Bill benefits and payments from 
a PELL grant).
NOTE: If payment is made from money withheld from 
your benefit, the payment is part of total household 
resources. (For example, the DHS may pay your rent 
directly to the landlord.)
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•	 �Money received from a government unit to repair or 
improve your homestead

•	 Surplus food or food assistance program benefits
•	 �State and city income tax refunds and homestead property 

tax credits
•	 �Chore service payments (these payments are income to the 

provider of the service)
•	 �The first $300 from gambling, bingo, lottery, awards, or 

prizes
•	 �The first $300 in gifts of cash or merchandise received, or 

expenses paid on your behalf (rent, taxes, utilities, food, 
medical care, etc.) by parents, relatives, or friends

•	 �Amounts deducted from Social Security or Railroad 
Retirement benefits for Medicare premiums

•	 �Life, health, and accident insurance premiums paid by 
your employer

•	 Loan proceeds
•	 Inheritance from a spouse
•	 Life insurance benefits from a spouse
•	 �Payments from a long-term care policy made to a nursing 

home or other care facility
•	 �Most payments from The Step Forward Michigan program.
For more information on total household resources, visit 
www.michigan.gov/taxtotalhouseholdresources.
Special Provisions for Farmers
If you received a farmland preservation tax credit in 2014, 
you must include it in total household resources. You may 
subtract the business portion of your homestead property tax 
credit if you included it in taxable farm income.
Property Taxes That Can Be Claimed for Credit
Ad valorem property taxes that were levied on your 
homestead in 2014, including collection fees up to 1 percent 
of the taxes, can be claimed no matter when you pay them. 
You may add to your 2014 taxes the amount of property 
taxes billed in 2014 from a corrected or supplemental tax 
bill. You must deduct from your 2014 property taxes any 
refund of property taxes received in 2014 that was a result of 
a corrected tax bill from a previous year.
Do not include: 
•	 �Delinquent property taxes (e.g., 2013 property taxes paid 

in 2014)
•	 Penalty and interest on late payments of property tax
•	 Delinquent water or sewer bills
•	 Property taxes on cottages or second homes
•	 Association dues on your property
•	 �Most special assessments for drains, sewers, and roads do 

not meet specific tests and may not be included.  You may 
include special assessments only if they are levied using a 
uniform millage rate, are based on taxable value, and are 
either levied in the entire taxing jurisdiction or they are 
used to provide police, fire, or advanced life support 
services and are levied township-wide, except for all or a 
portion of a village.  

NOTE:  School operating taxes are generally only levied 
on the non-homestead portion of the property and may not 
be included in taxes levied when computing the property 

tax credit on any portion of the home not used as your 
homestead.
Home used for business. If you use part of your home for 
business, you may claim the property taxes on the living area 
of your homestead, but not the property taxes on the portion 
used for business. Attach a copy of U.S. Form 8829 to your 
Michigan return.
Owner-occupied duplexes. When both units are equal, 
you are limited to 50 percent of the tax on both units, after 
subtracting the school operating taxes from the total taxes 
billed.
Owner-occupied income property.  Apartment building 
and duplex owners who live in one of the units or single 
family homeowners who rent a room(s) to a tenant(s) must  
complete two calculations to figure the tax they can claim 
and base their credit on the lower amount. First, subtract 20 
percent of the rent collected from the tax claimed for credit.  
Second, reduce the tax claimed for credit by the amount 
of tax claimed as rental expense on your U.S. Form 1040. 
Include a copy of the U.S. Schedule E with your Michigan 
return.
Example: Your home has an upstairs apartment that is rented 
to a tenant for $395 a month.  Total property taxes on your 
home are $2,150. Of this amount, $858 is claimed as rental 
expense. The calculations are as follows:  
Step 1: 
$395 x 12 = $4,740 annual rent
$4,740 x 0.20 = $948 taxes attributable to the apartment
$2,150 total taxes - $948 = $1,202 taxes attributable to owner’s 
homestead
Step 2:
$2,150 total taxes - $858 taxes claimed as a business 
deduction = $1,292 taxes attributable to homestead
Step 3:
The owner’s taxes that can be claimed for credit are $1,202, 
the smaller of the two computations.
Farmers.  Include farmland taxes in your property tax credit 
claim if any of the following conditions apply:
•	 �If your gross receipts from farming are greater than your 

total household resources, you may claim all of your taxes 
on unoccupied farmland classified as agricultural. Do not 
include taxes on farmland that is not adjacent or 
contiguous to your home and that you rent or lease to 
another person.

•	 �If gross receipts from farming are less than your total 
household resources and you have lived in your home 
more than ten years, you may claim the taxes on your 
home and the farmland adjacent and contiguous to your 
home.

•	 �If gross receipts from farming are less than your total 
household resources and you have lived in your home less 
than ten years, you may claim the taxes on your home and 
five acres of farmland adjacent and contiguous to your 
home.

You may not claim rent paid for vacant farmland when 
computing your property tax credit claim.  Farmland owned 
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by a Limited Liability Company (LLC) may not be claimed 
for a homestead property tax credit by one of the individual 
members.
Include any farmland preservation tax credit in your total 
household resources. Enter the amount of credit you received 
in 2014 on line 20 or include it in net farm income on line 16. 
Homestead property tax credits are not included in total 
household resources. If you included this amount in your 
taxable farm income, subtract it from total household 
resources.
Rent That Can Be Claimed for Credit
You must be under a lease or rental contract to claim rent for 
credit. In most cases, 20 percent of rent paid is considered 
property tax that can be claimed for credit.  The following 
are exceptions: 
•	 �If you rent or lease housing that is subject to a service 

charge or fees paid instead of property taxes, you may 
claim a credit based upon 10 percent of the gross rent paid. 
Use the amount the landlord gives you and enter rent paid 
on line 55 and 10 percent of rent paid on line 56, and 
follow instructions.

•	 �If your housing is exempt from property tax and no 
service fee is paid, you are not eligible for a credit. This 
includes university- or college-owned housing.

•	 �If your housing costs are subsidized, base your claim on 
the amount you pay. Do not include the federal subsidy 
amount.

•	 �If you are a mobile home park resident, claim the $3 per 
month specific tax on line 10, and the balance of rent paid 
on line 11.

•	 �If you are a cooperative housing corporation resident 
member, claim your share of the property taxes on the 
building. If you live in a cooperative where residents pay 
rent on the land under the building, you may also claim 20 
percent of that land rent. NOTE: Do not take 20 percent 
of your total monthly payment.

•	 �When you pay room and board in one fee, you must 
determine your portion of the tax that can be claimed for 
credit based on square footage.

Example: You pay $750 a month for room and board. 
You occupy 600 square feet of a 62,000 square foot 
apartment building. The landlord pays $54,000 in taxes 
per year. If you pay room and board in separate 
billings, you must base your property tax credit on rent. 
Step 1:	 600/62,000 = 0.0097
Step 2:	 $54,000 x 0.0097 = $524 taxes you can claim for 		
	 credit
Home used for business. If you use part of your apartment 
or rented home for business, you may claim the rent on the 
living area of your homestead, but not the rent on the portion 
used for business.
If You Moved in 2014
Residents who temporarily lived outside Michigan may 
qualify for a credit if Michigan remained their state of 
domicile. Personal belongings and furnishings must have 
remained in the Michigan homestead and the homestead 

must not have been rented or sublet during the temporary 
absence. (See the definitions of resident on page 6 and 
domicile on page 23.)
If you bought or sold your home or moved during 
2014, you must prorate your taxes. Complete MI-1040CR,  
Part 3, to determine the taxes that can be claimed for 
credit. Use only the taxes levied in 2014 on each Michigan 
homestead, then prorate taxes based on days of occupancy. 
Do not include taxes on out-of-state property. Do not include 
property taxes for property with a taxable value greater 
than $135,000.  Excluded from this restriction is unoccupied 
farmland classified as agricultural by your assessor.
Part-Year Residents
If you lived in Michigan at least six months during the year, 
you may be entitled to a partial credit. If you are a part-year 
resident, you must include all income received as a Michigan 
resident in total household resources (line 33). Complete  
MI-1040CR, Part 3, to determine the taxes eligible to be 
claimed for credit on your Michigan homestead.
Deceased Claimant’s Credit
The estate of a taxpayer who died in 2014 (or 2015 before 
filing a claim) may be entitled to a credit for 2014. The 
surviving spouse, other authorized claimant, or personal 
representative can claim this credit. Use the decedent’s Social 
Security number and the personal representative’s address. If 
the taxpayer died after December 31, 2013, enter the date of 
death in the “Deceased Taxpayer” box on page 3. 
The surviving spouse is considered married for the year in 
which the deceased spouse died and may file a joint credit 
for that year. Enter both names and Social Security numbers 
on the form, and write “DECD” after the decedent’s  name.  
Sign the return and write “filing as surviving spouse” in 
the deceased’s signature line. Enter the date of death in the 
“Deceased Taxpayer” box on the bottom of page 3. Include 
the decedent’s income in total household resources. 
If filing as a personal representative or claimant for 
the refund of a single deceased taxpayer, you must attach       
U.S. Form 1310 or Michigan Claim for Refund Due a 
Deceased Taxpayer (Form MI-1310). Enter the decedent’s 
name in the Filer’s Name line and the representative’s or 
claimant’s name, title and address in the Home Address line.  
See the “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of Examples” on page 59. 
A claimant must prorate to the date of death as noted in the 
following paragraph. 
The personal representative or claimant claiming a credit 
for a single deceased person or on a jointly filed credit if 
both filers became deceased during the 2014 tax year, must 
prorate taxes to the date of death. Complete lines 47 through 
51 to prorate the property taxes.  Annualize total household 
resources. (See the instructions on page 26.)  Attach a copy 
of the tax bills or lease agreements.  If filing as a personal 
representative or claimant of deceased taxpayers for a 
jointly filed return, you must attach a U.S. Form 1310 or  
MI-1310. Enter the names of the deceased persons in the 
Filer’s and Spouse’s Name lines and the representative’s or 
claimant’s name, title, and address in the Home Address line. 
See “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of Examples” on page 59.
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Annualizing Total Household Resources
If you are filing a part-year credit (for a deceased taxpayer or 
a part-year resident), you must annualize the total household 
resources to determine if the credit reduction applies. 
(Exception: the surviving spouse filing a joint claim does not 
have to annualize the deceased spouse’s income.) 
•	 �If you have checked a box on line 5 and your annualized 

total household resources are less than $6,000 use your 
annualized total household resources to determine your 
percentage of taxes not refundable from MI-1040CR   
Table 2, page 29.

•	 �A senior, age 65 or older, filing a part-year credit must 
calculate annualized total household resources before 
using MI-1040CR Table A, page 29.

•	 �If the annualized income is more than $41,000 for any 
claimant, use annualized total household resources to 
determine the percentage allowable in MI-1040CR  
Table B, page 30.  

To annualize total household resources (project what it 
would have been for a full year):
Step 1:	 Divide 365 by the number of days the taxpayer was a 
Michigan resident in 2014.
Step 2:	 Multiply the answer from step 1 by the taxpayer’s 
total household resources (MI-1040CR, line 33). The result is 
the annualized total household resources.
Married During 2014
If you married during 2014, combine each spouse’s share of 
taxes or rent for the period of time you or your spouse lived 
in separate homesteads prior to getting married. Then add 
this to the prorated taxes or rent for your marital home after 
your marriage. You are only allowed to claim rent and taxes 
on homesteads located in Michigan.
Filing a Joint Return and Maintaining Separate 
Homesteads
Your claim must be based on the tax or rent for 12 months 
on only one home. The total household resources must be the 
combined income of both you and your spouse for the entire 
year. 
Married Filing Separately and Divorced or 
Separated Claimants Schedule (Form 5049)
This form can be found at www.michigan.gov/taxes. 
Submit Form 5049 with Form MI-1040CR, MI-1040CR-2 or  
MI-1040CR-7 if any of the following situations apply to you:
•	 �You filed as married filing separately, and you and your 

spouse maintained separate homesteads all year. Complete 
only Part 3 of Form 5049.

•	 �You filed as married filing separately, and you shared a 
homestead with your spouse all year.

•	 �You filed as married filing separately, and you and your 
spouse maintained separate homesteads at the end of     
the year.

Filing Separate State Returns and Maintaining 
Separate Homesteads
Spouses who file separate Michigan income tax returns and 
did not share a household during the tax year may each claim a 

credit.  Each credit is based on the individual taxes or rent and 
individual total household resources for each person.  This 
only applies to homes located in Michigan. They each must 
complete Form 5049 and provide an explanation in Part 3.

Married Filing Separately and Shared a 
Homestead
Spouses who file separate Michigan income tax returns but 
shared a homestead for the entire year are entitled to one 
property tax credit. The credit claim must be based on the 
total household resources of both spouses during the time 
the homestead was shared.  A spouse claiming the credit 
must complete Form 5049 and include the total household 
resources for both spouses. A spouse filing the credit 
should also include the other spouse’s income on the Other 
Nontaxable Income line of the Homestead Property Tax 
Credit Claim. You and your spouse may choose how you 
want to divide the credit. If each spouse claims a portion of 
the credit, attach a copy of the claim showing each spouse’s 
share of the credit to each income tax return. Enter only your 
portion of the credit on your MI-1040CR, line 44.

Separated or Divorced in 2014
Figure your credit based on the taxes you paid together 
before your separation plus the taxes you paid individually 
after your separation. Complete and attach Form 5049 
and attach a schedule showing your computation. For 
more information or to help you calculate a prorated 
share of taxes, see Michigan Homestead Property 
Tax Credits for Separated or Divorced Taxpayers 
(Form 2105).
Example: Karl and Cathy separated on October 2, 2014. The 
annual taxes on the home they owned were $1,860. Cathy 
continued to live in the home and Karl moved to an apartment 
on October 2 and paid $350 per month rent for the rest of the 
year. Cathy earned $20,000 and Karl earned $25,000. They 
lived together for 274 days. 
Step  1:  Calculate the prorated total household resources for 
each spouse for the 274 days they lived together. Divide each 
spouse’s total income by 365 days, then multiply that figure 
by 274.
Cathy ($20,000/365) x 274 = $15,014
Karl   ($25,000/365) x 274 = $18,767
Cathy and Karl must each complete Form 5049 and list 
income earned during the period they lived together.  
Step  2:  Add both prorated total household resources 
together to determine the total for the time they lived 
together.
        $15,014 + $18,767 = $33,781
Step  3:  Divide each individual’s prorated share of total 
household resources by the total from Step 2 to determine the 
percentage attributable to each.
Cathy   $15,014/$33,781 = 44%
Karl      $18,767/$33,781 = 56%
Step 4: Calculate the prorated taxes eligible for credit for the 
time they lived together. Divide the $1,860 by 365 days, then 
multiply by 274 days.
($1,860/365) x 274 = $1,396
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Step  5:  Calculate each individual’s share of the prorated 
taxes. Multiply the $1,396 by the percentages determined in 
Step 3.
Cathy $1,396 x 44% = $614
Karl $1,396 x 56% = $782
Enter these amounts on MI-1040CR, line 50, column B.
Cathy uses lines 47 through 50, column A, to compute her 
share of taxes for the remaining 91 days.
Karl uses lines 52 and 53 to compute his share of rent. Each 
completes the remaining lines of MI-1040CR according to 
the form instructions.
Residents of Adult Care Homes including 
Assisted Living Facilities
If you are a resident of a nursing home, adult foster care 
home, or home for the aged including assisted living 
facilities, that facility is considered your homestead. If the 
facility pays local property taxes (many do not), you may 
claim your portion of those taxes for credit. You may not 
claim rent. Ask the facility manager what your share is or, 
to determine it yourself, divide the amount of property tax 
levied on the facility in 2014 by the number of residents for 

which the facility is licensed. This is your share. If both you 
and your spouse live in the facility, add your shares together. 
If you lived in the facility only part of the year, multiply this 
amount by the portion of the year you lived at the facility.
Exception:  Credit is not allowed if your care facility charges 
are paid directly to the facility by a government agency.
If you maintain a homestead and your spouse lives in an 
adult care home, you may file a joint credit claim. Combine 
the tax for your homestead and your spouse’s share of the 
facility’s property tax to compute your claim. 
If you are single and maintain a homestead (that is not 
rented) while living in an adult care home, you may claim 
either your homestead or your share of the facility’s property 
tax, but not both. Use the one that gives you the larger credit.
Single Adults Sharing a Home
When two or more single adults share a home, each may file 
a credit claim if each has contracted to pay rent or owns a 
share of the home. Each adult should file an individual claim 
based on his or her total household resources and prorated 
share of taxes or rent paid. Additional information can be 
found on Treasury’s Web site.

Line-by-Line Instructions for Homestead Property Tax Credit (MI-1040CR)
Lines not listed are explained on the form.
Lines  1,  2,  and  3:  Enter your name(s), address, and Social 
Security number(s). If you are married filing separately, enter 
both Social Security numbers, but do not enter your spouse’s 
name.
Line  5:  Check the box that applies to you or your spouse as 
of December 31, 2014, if any. If both boxes 5a and 5b apply, 
check both.
Line 5a:  Age 65 or older. This includes the unremarried 
surviving spouse of a person who was 65 or older at the time 
of death. You are considered 65 the day before your 65th 
birthday.
Line 5b:  Deaf, blind, hemiplegic, paraplegic, quadriplegic, 
or totally and permanently disabled (as defined under Social 
Security Guidelines 42 USC 416). If you are age 66 or older 
you may not claim an exemption as totally and permanently 
disabled. Blind means your better eye permanently has 20/200 
vision or less with corrective lenses, or your peripheral field of 
vision is 20 degrees or less.
Line  6:  Filing Status. Check the box to identify your 
filing status. If you file a joint federal return, you must file a 
joint property tax credit.  Married couples who file married 
filing separate must include the total household resources of 
both spouses unless you filed separate federal returns and 
maintained separate homesteads. If you filed your federal 
return as head of household or qualifying widow(er), file 
your property tax credit as single. 
Same-Sex Couples Filing a Joint Federal Return.  
Same-sex couples who file a joint federal income tax return 
must continue to file income tax returns for Michigan with 
each individual using the single filing status. Michigan has 
defined marriage in the Michigan Constitution as a union of 
one man and one woman. Individuals who file joint a federal 

return as a member of a same-sex couple may be eligible 
for a homestead property tax credit as a single filer based 
on the filer’s income, property taxes and/or rent. Additional 
information can be found on Treasury’s Web site.
Line  7:  Residency. Check the box that describes your 
Michigan residency for 2014. If you and your spouse had 
a different residency status during the year, check a box 
for each of you.  If you checked box c, enter the dates of 
Michigan residency in 2014.
Property Tax
Line 8:  Homestead Status.  Check this box if the taxable 
value of your homestead includes unoccupied farmland 
classified as agricultural by your assessor.
Line 9: If the taxable value of your homestead is greater 
than $135,000, STOP; you are not eligible for the 
homestead property tax credit.  If your taxable value is 
less than $135,000, enter the 2014 taxable value from your 
2014 property tax statement or assessment notice. If you do 
not know your taxable value, contact your local assessor.  
Farmers should include the taxable value of all land that 
qualifies for this credit (see instructions for farmers on 
page 24). Farmers should note that the $135,000 limit on 
taxable value does not apply to the taxable value of their 
homestead attributable to unoccupied farmland classified 
as agricultural.
Line  10:  Read “Property Taxes That Can Be Claimed for 
Credit” on page 24 before you complete this line.
Line 11:  Read “Rent That Can Be Claimed for Credit” on 
page 25 before you complete this line.
Total Household Resources
Include all taxable and nontaxable income you and your 
spouse received in 2014. If your family lived in Michigan 
and one spouse earned wages outside Michigan, include 
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the income earned both in and out-of-state in your total 
household resources. (See “Total Household Resources,”  
page 23.)
Line  14:  Enter all compensation received as an employee. 
Include strike pay, supplemental unemployment benefits 
(SUB pay), sick pay, or long-term disability benefits, 
including income protection insurance, and any other 
amounts reported to you on Form W-2. 
Line 15:  Do not include business dividend and interest 
income reported as a distributive share on Form K-1.  See 
line 16 instructions.
Line  16:   Add the amounts from: 
•	 U.S. Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business).
•	 Part II (Ordinary Gains and Losses) of the U.S. Form 4797.
•	 �Part II (Income or Loss from Partnerships and  

S Corporations) and Part III (Income or Loss from Estates 
and Trusts) of the U.S. Schedule E.

•	 U.S. Schedule F (Profit or Loss from Farming).
•	 Include income items reported as a distributive share.
If the total is negative enter “0.” Include amounts from 
sources outside Michigan. Attach the above federal 
schedules to your claim.
Line 17:  Add the amounts from:
•	 �Part I (Income or Loss from Rental Real Estate and 

Royalties) of the U.S. Schedule E.
•	 �Part IV (Income or Loss from Real Estate Mortgage 

Investment Conduits (REMIC)) of the U.S. Schedule E 
(rents, royalties).

•	 �Part V (Summary) (Net farm rental income or (loss)) of 
the U.S. Schedule E.

If the total is negative enter “0.”  Include amounts from 
sources outside Michigan. Attach the above federal 
schedules to your claim.
Line 18: Enter all annuity, retirement pension and individual 
retirement account (IRA) benefits. This should be the taxable 
amount shown on your U.S. Form 1099-R. If no taxable 
amount is shown on your U.S. Form 1099-R, use the amount 
required to be included in AGI. Enter “0” if all of your 
distribution is from your contributions made with income 
previously included in AGI. Include reimbursement payments 
such as an increase in a pension to pay for Medicare charges. 
Also include the total amount of any lump sum distribution 
including amounts reported on your U.S. Form 4972. Do 
not include recoveries of after-tax contributions or amounts 
rolled over into another plan (amounts rolled over into a 
Roth IRA must be included to the extent included in AGI). 
You must include any part of a distribution from a Roth 
IRA that exceeds your total contributions to the Roth 
IRA regardless of whether this amount is included in AGI. 
Assume that all contributions to the Roth IRA are withdrawn 
first. NOTE: Losses from Roth IRAs cannot be deducted. 
Line  19:  Enter net capital gains and losses. This is the total 
of short-term and long-term gains, less short-term and long-
term losses from your U.S. Schedule D (losses cannot exceed 
$3,000 if single or married filing jointly, or $1,500 if married 
filing separately). Include gains realized on the sale of your 
residence whether or not these gains are exempt from federal 
income tax.

Line  20:  Enter alimony received and other taxable income. 
Describe other taxable income. This includes: awards, 
prizes, lottery, bingo, and other gambling winnings over 
$300; farmland preservation tax credits if not included in net 
farm income on line 16; and forgiveness of debt to the extent 
included in federal AGI (e.g., mortgage foreclosure).
Line  21:  Enter your Social Security, Supplemental Security 
Income (SSI), and/or Railroad Retirement benefits. Include 
death benefits and amounts received for minor children or 
other dependent adults who live with you. Report the amount 
actually received for the year. Medicare premiums reported on 
your Social Security or Railroad Retirement statement should 
be deducted.
Line  22:  Enter child support and all payments received as a 
foster parent. NOTE: If you received a 2014 Custodial Party 
End of Year Statement (FEN-851) showing child support 
payments paid to the Friend of the Court, enter the child 
support portion here and attach a copy of the statement. See 
line 27 instructions.
Line  23:  Enter all unemployment compensation received 
during 2014.
Line 24: Enter the value over $300 in gifts of cash or 
merchandise received, or expenses paid on your behalf (rent, 
taxes, utilities, food, medical care, etc.) by parents, relatives, 
or friends. This includes the amount of financial support 
you received if you are claimed as a dependent on someone 
else’s return. Do not include government payments made 
directly to third parties such as an educational institution or 
subsidized housing project.
Line  25:  Enter other nontaxable income. This includes:
•	 �Nongovernmental scholarship, stipend or grant payments 

paid directly to an educational institution
•	 ��Compensation for damages to character or for personal 

injury or sickness
•	 Adoption subsidies
•	 An inheritance (except an inheritance from your spouse)
•	 �Proceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of the 

insured (except benefits from a policy on your spouse)
•	 Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer
•	 Minister’s housing allowance
•	 �Forgiveness of debt to the extent not included in federal AGI 

(e.g., mortgage foreclosure)
•	 �Reimbursement from dependent care and/or medical care 

spending accounts
•	 �If you are married filing separately, include your spouse’s 

income unless you maintained separate homesteads 
during the year. Complete and attach Form 5049.

Line  26:  Enter workers’ compensation, service-connected 
disability compensation and pension benefits from the Veterans 
Administration. Veterans receiving retirement benefits should 
enter the benefits on line 18.
Line  27:  Enter the total payments made to your household 
by DHS and all other public assistance  payments. Your 
2014 Client Annual Statement (DHS-1241) mailed by DHS in  
January 2015 will show your total DHS payments. Your 
statement(s) may include the following: Family Independence 
Program (FIP) assistance, State Disability Assistance (SDA), 
Refugee Assistance, Repatriate Assistance, and vendor 
payments for shelter, heat, and utilities. 
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NOTE: If you received a 2014 FEN-851 (attach a copy), 
subtract the amount of child support payments entered on 
line 22 from the total DHS payments and enter the difference 
here.
Line  30:  Enter total adjustments from your U.S. Form 1040 
or U.S. Form 1040A. Describe adjustments to income. These 
adjustments reduce total household resources and include 
some of the following:
•	 Payments to IRAs, SEP, SIMPLE, or qualified plans
•	 Student loan interest deduction
•	 �Moving expenses into or within Michigan can be 

included in “Other Adjustments” to reduce total household 
resources. Moving expenses when moving out of 
Michigan cannot be included in “Other Adjustments” to 
reduce total household resources

•	 Deduction for self-employment tax
•	 Self-employed health insurance deduction
•	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings
•	 Alimony paid
•	 Jury duty pay you gave to your employer
•	 Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA) deduction
•	 �Any other adjustments to gross income included on your 

2014 U.S. Form 1040
•	 Health Savings Account (HSA) deduction.
Line  31:  Enter health insurance premiums, Health 
Maintenance Organization (HMO) premiums, or other 
insurance premiums you paid for yourself and your family. 
Include the following premiums:
•	 Medical insurance
•	 Dental insurance
•	 Vision insurance
•	 Prescription drug plan
•	 Automobile insurance (medical care portion only).
Do not include any insurance premiums deducted on lines 21 
or 30, amounts paid for income protection insurance (long-
term disability), long‑term care insurance, or amounts paid 
by an employer with pre‑tax payroll contributions.
You must reduce an insurance premium by the federal 
premium tax credit received under the Patient Protection and 
Affordable Care Act.  Use the 2014 U.S. Premium Tax Credit 
Form 8962 to calculate the net insurance premium. The 
annual total insurance premium (line 11A of U.S. Form 8962 
or the sum of lines 12A through 23A of U.S. Form 8962) less 
the total premium tax credit (line 24 of U.S. Form 8962) may 
be claimed.
Property Tax Credit
Line  34:  Multiply line 33 by 3.5 percent (0.035) or 
the percentage from MI-1040CR Table 2. This is the 
amount that will not be refunded. The personal 
representative claiming a credit for a deceased 
taxpayer with total household resources of $6,000 or 
less must annualize the decedent’s income and use 
the annualized figure to determine the nonrefundable 
percentage from Table 2. Then use the actual total 
household resources to compute the credit. See 
“Annualizing Total Household Resources” on page 26.  

PART 1: Allowable Computation Based on 
Claimant Status
Complete only Section A, B, or C, whichever applies to you. 
Senior claimants who checked only 5a complete Section A. 
Claimants who checked only 5b or checked both boxes 5a 
and 5b complete Section B. All other claimants complete 
Section C.
Line 37: Enter the percentage from MI-1040CR Table A that 
applies to your total household resources from line 33. A 
senior, age 65 or older, filing a part-year credit must calculate 
annualized total household resources to determine the 
reduction percentage using MI-1040CR Table A.

Line 42: If you checked only 5a enter the amount from     
line 38. If you checked only 5b or checked both 5a and 5b 
enter the amount from line 39. All others enter the amount 
from  line 41. If you received FIP assistance or other DHS 
benefits in 2014, prorate your credit to reflect the ratio of 
income from other sources to total household resources.  To 
prorate your credit use the information from your form to 
complete MI-1040CR Worksheet 3 on page 30.
Line 43: The computed credit is reduced by 10 percent for 
every $1,000 (or part of $1,000) that your  total household 

MI-1040CR TABLE 2:
PERCENT OF TAXES NOT REFUNDABLE

ALL GENERAL CLAIMANTS

Income % of Income
$0 - $50,000...................................... 3.5%

OTHER CLAIMANTS *
Income % of Income
$3,000 or less.................................... 0%
$3,001 - $4,000................................. 1%
$4,001 - $5,000................................. 2%
$5,001 - $6,000................................. 3%
More than $6,000.............................. 3.5%

*Other claimants are senior citizens or people 
who are paraplegic, hemiplegic, quadriplegic, 
deaf, or totally and permanently disabled or 
unremarried spouse of an individual 65 or older.

MI-1040CR TABLE A: 
SENIOR CREDIT REDUCTION

Total Household Resources Percentage

$21,000 or less............................ 100% (1.00)
$21,001 - $22,000......................... 96% (0.96)
$22,001 - $23,000......................... 92% (0.92)
$23,001 - $24,000......................... 88% (0.88)
$24,001 - $25,000......................... 84% (0.84)
$25,001 - $26,000......................... 80% (0.80)
$26,001 - $27,000........................  76% (0.76)
$27,001 - $28,000........................  72% (0.72)
$28,001 - $29,000......................... 68% (0.68)
$29,001 - $30,000......................... 64% (0.64)
$30,001 - $50,000......................... 60% (0.60)
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resources exceed $41,000. Enter the percentage from 
MI-1040CR Table B that applies to your total household 
resources from line 33. 
NOTE: If you are filing a part-year credit and the 
annualized income is more than $41,000, use annualized 
total household resources to determine the percentage 
allowable in MI-1040CR Table B. 

Alternate Property Tax Credit for Renters Age 65 
or Older
If you are a senior renter age 65 or older you may qualify for 
the Alternate Property Tax Credit.  Complete MI-1040CR 
Worksheet 4 to determine if you qualify. 
MI-1040CR Worksheet  4,  Line  B:  Enter rent paid from 
line 53 or, if you live in service fee housing, enter amount 
from line 55. If you moved from one rental homestead to 
another during the last two years (also see “If You Moved in 
2014” on page 25), enter smaller of:
•	 �The final month’s rent on your previous rented homestead 

multiplied by 12 , or
•	 The actual rent paid from line 53 or line 55.

PART 4: Renters
See “Rent That Can Be Claimed for Credit” on page 25.
Line  52:  If you rented a Michigan homestead subject to 
local property taxes, enter the street number and name, city, 
landlord’s name and address, number of months rented, 
rent paid per month, and total rent paid. Do this for each 
Michigan homestead rented during 2014 and for each time 
rental amounts changed. If you need more space, attach an 
additional sheet. Do not include more than 12 months’ rent. 
If you married during 2014, see page 26. Do not include 
amounts paid directly to the landowner on your behalf by 
a government agency, unless payment is made with money 
withheld from your benefit. If you pay lot rent on your 
mobile home, subtract the $3 per month property tax from 
the monthly rent amount. Claim the remaining balance of 
rent on line 53 and on line 11.
Line  54:  If your housing costs are subsidized check box 
54a and enter the total amount of rent you paid on line 55 
and on line 11. Do not include amounts paid on your behalf 
by a government agency.  Complete lines 12 through 44 to 
calculate your credit.
If you lived in Service Fee Housing, check box 54b and enter 
the amount of rent you paid on line 55 and 10 percent of the 
rent on lines 56 and 10 (as property taxes), and complete lines 
13 through 44 to calculate your credit.
Line 57: If you lived in one of the special housing facilities 
identified, check the appropriate box and calculate your 
prorated share of taxes.  See “Rent That Can Be Claimed 
for Credit” and “Residents of Adult Care Homes including 
Assisted Living Facilities” on pages 25 and 27.

MI-1040CR TABLE B: 
HOMESTEAD PROPERTY TAX CREDIT PHASE OUT

Total Household Resources Percentage

$41,000 or less................................100% (1.00)
$41,001 - $42,000.............................90% (0.90)
$42,001 - $43,000.............................80% (0.80)
$43,001 - $44,000.............................70% (0.70)
$44,001 - $45,000.............................60% (0.60)
$45,001 - $46,000.............................50% (0.50)
$46,001 - $47,000.............................40% (0.40)
$47,001 - $48,000............................ 30% (0.30)
$48,001 - $49,000............................ 20% (0.20)
$49,001 - $50,000.............................10% (0.10)
$50,001 - above...................................0%(0.00)

MI-1040CR WORKSHEET 3: FIP/DHS BENEFITS

A. Enter amount from line 27 (FIP and 
other DHS benefits)............................

B. Enter amount from line 33 (Total 
Household Resources).......................

C. Subtract line A from line B (if 
amount is a negative value, enter “0”)

D. Divide line C by line B and enter 
percentage here.................................

E. If you checked box 5a, enter the 
amount from line 38. If you checked 
box 5b, enter the amount from line 39. 
All others, enter the amount from line 
41 here (maximum $1,200)................

F. Multiply line E by line D. If you are 
age 65 or older and you rent your 
home, enter amount here and on line 
A of Worksheet 4. Otherwise, enter 
here and on your MI-1040CR, line 42

MI-1040CR WORKSHEET 4: ALTERNATE PROPERTY 
TAX CREDIT FOR RENTERS AGE 65 AND OLDER

A. Enter the amount from line 42 or, 
if line 33 exceeds $41,000, line 42 
multiplied by line 43. If you received 
FIP/DHS, enter the amount from 
Worksheet 3, line F................................

B. Enter rent paid from line 53 or        
line 55....................................................

C. Multiply amount on line 33 by 40% 
(0.40) and enter here.............................

D. Subtract line C from line B.  If line C  
is more than line B, enter “0”.................

E. Enter the larger of line A or line D here 
and carry amount to your MI-1040CR, 
line 44 (maximum $1,200).....................
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WORKSHEET 5 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE FOR SCHEDULE NR 
When One Spouse Is a Full-Year Resident and the other a Part-Year or Nonresident

Computing Amount of Exemption for Part-Year or Nonresident Income
1.	 Michigan Taxable Income of spouse who is NOT a full-year resident.......................................................1._________________________
2.	 Total Taxable Income of spouse who is NOT a full-year resident..............................................................2._________________________
3. 	 Divide line 1 by line 2 and enter percentage here.......................................................................................3._________________________
4. 	 Michigan personal exemption allowance....................................................................................................4._________________________
5.  	Number of spouse’s special exemptions from MI-1040, line 9b 
	 ______   x  $2,500.......................................................................................................................................5._________________________
6. 	 Spouse’s qualified disabled veteran exemption ______   x  $400 from MI-1040, line 9c..........................6._________________________
7.	 Add lines 4, 5, and 6....................................................................................................................................7._________________________
8.  	Multiply line 7 by the percentage on line 3.................................................................................................8._________________________
Computing Amount of Prorated Exemption Amount for Dependents
9.  	Michigan AGI for both spouses from Schedule NR, line 14B....................................................................9._________________________
10. Total AGI from Schedule NR, line 14A....................................................................................................10._________________________
11. Divide line 9 by line 10 and enter percentage here................................................................................... 11._________________________
12. Multiply line 11 by exemption allowance of $4,000................................................................................12._________________________
13.	Multiply line 12 by the number of dependents claimed............................................................................13._________________________
14. Multiply line 11 by the number of dependents claimed who are qualified disabled veterans
         (from MI-1040, line 9c)  _______   x  $400 .........................................................................................14._________________________
15. Multiply line 11 by the number of dependents claimed with special exemptions  
	 from MI-1040, line 9b   _______   x  $2,500............................................................................................15._________________________
Computing Amount of Exemption for Resident Spouse
16. 	Michigan resident spouse’s personal exemption allowance.....................................................................16._________________________
17. 	Number of Michigan resident spouse’s special exemptions from MI-1040, line 9b 
	  ______   x  $2,500...................................................................................................................................17._________________________
18. 	Michigan resident spouse’s qualified disabled veteran _______   x  $400 from MI-1040, line 9c .........18._________________________
19. 	Add lines 16, 17, and 18...........................................................................................................................19._________________________
20. 	Add lines 8, 13, 14, 15, and 19 and carry to Schedule NR, line 19..........................................................20._________________________

%
$4,000

%

$4,000

     John	 A	 Brown	 DECD

   Jane	 C	 Brown	

C. Single Filer with Claimant

D. Joint Filers with Personal Representative
1.	 Filer’s First Name	   M.I.	 Last Name

	 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name	   M.I.	 Last Name

	 Home Address (Number, Street, or P.O. Box)

A. Joint Filers with Surviving Spouse
1.	Filer’s First Name	  M.I.	 Last Name

	 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name	  M.I.	 Last Name
     John	 A	 Brown	 EST OF

   Jane	 C	 Brown	 EST OF

   Sam W. Jones	 REP         123 Main St.

E. Joint Filers with Claimant

     John	 A	 Brown	 DECD

   Jane	 C	 Brown	 DECD

   Sam W. Jones	 CLAIMANT     123 Main St.

1.	 Filer’s First Name	   M.I.	 Last Name

	 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name	   M.I.	 Last Name

	 Home Address (Number, Street, or P.O. Box) 

B. Single Filer with Personal Representative

     John	 A	 Brown	 EST OF

   Sam W. Jones	 REP                123 Main St.

1.	 Filer’s First Name	   M.I.	 Last Name

	 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name	   M.I.	 Last Name

	 Home Address (Number, Street, or P.O. Box) 

     John	 A	 Brown	 DECD

   Sam W. Jones	 CLAIMANT     123 Main St.

1.	 Filer’s First Name	   M.I.	 Last Name

	 If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name	   M.I.	 Last Name

	 Home Address (Number, Street, or P.O. Box) 

Deceased Taxpayer Chart of Examples (see instructions, pages 7 and 25.)

TABLE 3 - FEDERAL SCHEDULES 
If you file any of the following schedules or forms with your federal return you must attach a copy to your Michigan income tax return: 
Schedule A .......................................................... Itemized Deductions
Schedule B .......................................................... Interest and Dividend Income (if over $5,000)
Schedule C or C-EZ............................................ Profit or Loss From Business
Schedules D and 4797......................................... Capital and Ordinary Gains and Losses
Schedule E........................................................... Supplemental Income and Loss
Schedule F........................................................... Farm Income and Expenses
Schedule R or 1040A Schedule 3........................ Credit for the Elderly or Disabled
Form 1040NR...................................................... Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return
Form 2555........................................................... Foreign Earned Income
Form 3903 or 3903-F.......................................... Moving Expenses
Form 4868........................................................... Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Returns
Form 6198........................................................... Computation of Deductible Loss From Activity Described in IRC Section 465(c)
Form 8829........................................................... Expenses for Business Use of Your Home	
If you have income or losses attributable to other states, you must attach all relevant federal schedules and supporting statements. The type, source 
and location of the income or losses must be identified. Schedules showing rental of personal property must report where the property is being 
used. Attach Schedule K-1s which support your attached federal Schedules B, D, E and 4797. If you do not attach these schedules and statements, 
processing of your return may be delayed or your credit/subtraction may be denied.
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Michigan public school districts are listed alphabetically with code numbers to the left of the names.  When more than 
one district has the same name, the county or city name in parentheses helps you choose the right district.  Residents, 
choose the code for the district where you lived on December 31, 2014.  Call your local assessor or treasurer if you do 
not know your school district name.  Nonresidents, enter “10000” in the school district code box.

School District Code List (See MI-1040 or MI-1040CR, line 4.) 

73180	 Bridgeport-Spaulding
11340	 Bridgman
47010	 Brighton
17140	 Brimley
46050	 Britton Deerfield
12020	 Bronson
76060	 Brown City
11310	 Buchanan
28035	 Buckley
73080	 Buena Vista
56020	 Bullock Creek
75020	 Burr Oak
02020	 Burt Twp.
78020	 Byron
41040	 Byron Center

83010	 Cadillac
41050	 Caledonia
31030	 Calumet
30010	 Camden-Frontier
74040	 Capac
25080	 Carman-Ainsworth
55010	 Carney-Nadeau
79020	 Caro
73030	 Carrollton
59020	 Carson City-Crystal
76070	 Carsonville-Pt. Sanilac
32030	 Caseville
79030	 Cass City
14010	 Cassopolis
41070	 Cedar Springs
50010	 Center Line
05035	 Central Lake
59125	 Central Montcalm
75030	 Centreville
15050	 Charlevoix
23030	 Charlotte
31050	 Chassell Twp.
16015	 Cheboygan
81040	 Chelsea
73110	 Chesaning Union
54025	 Chippewa Hills
50080	 Chippewa Valley
32040	 Church
18010	 Clare
63090	 Clarenceville
63190	 Clarkston
63270	 Clawson
39020	 Climax-Scotts
46060	 Clinton
50070	 Clintondale
25150	 Clio
12010	 Coldwater
56030	 Coleman
32260	 Colfax Twp.
11330	 Coloma
75040	 Colon
38040	 Columbia
39030	 Comstock
41080	 Comstock Park
38080	 Concord
75050	 Constantine
70120	 Coopersville
78100	 Corunna
80040	 Covert
20015	 Crawford AuSable
82230	 Crestwood
76080	 Croswell-Lexington
33040	 Dansville
25140	 Davison
82030	 Dearborn

31020	 Adams Twp.
46020	 Addison
46010	 Adrian
58020	 Airport
79010	 Akron-Fairgrove
24030	 Alanson
05010	 Alba
13010	 Albion
01010	 Alcona
74030	 Algonac
03030	 Allegan
82020	 Allen Park
70040	 Allendale
29010	 Alma
44020	 Almont
04010	 Alpena
50040	 Anchor Bay
81010	 Ann Arbor
06010	 Arenac Eastern
50050	 Armada
07010	 Arvon Twp.
29020	 Ashley
13050	 Athens
25130	 Atherton
60010	 Atlanta
06020	 Au Gres-Sims
02010	 AuTrain-Onota
63070	 Avondale

32010	 Bad Axe
43040	 Baldwin
80020	 Bangor (Van Buren)
80240	 Bangor Twp.
09030	 Bangor Twp. (Bay)
07020	 Baraga 
21090	 Bark River-Harris
19100	 Bath
13020	 Battle Creek
09010	 Bay City
37040	 Beal City
51020	 Bear Lake
15010	 Beaver Island
26010	 Beaverton
58030	 Bedford
25240	 Beecher
34080	 Belding
05040	 Bellaire
23010	 Bellevue
25060	 Bendle
25230	 Bentley
11010	 Benton Harbor
10015	 Benzie County Central
63050	 Berkley
34140	 Berlin Twp.
11240	 Berrien Springs
27010	 Bessemer 
21065	 Big Bay De Noc
62470	 Big Jackson
54010	 Big Rapids
73170	 Birch Run
63010	 Birmingham
46040	 Blissfield
63080	 Bloomfield Hills
80090	 Bloomingdale
49020	 Bois Blanc Pines
15020	 Boyne City
15030	 Boyne Falls
63180	 Brandon
11210	 Brandywine
29040	 Breckenridge
22030	 Breitung Twp.

82040	 Dearborn Heights
80050	 Decatur
76090	 Deckerville
08010	 Delton-Kellogg
17050	 DeTour
82010	 Detroit
19010	 DeWitt
81050	 Dexter
31100	 Dollar Bay-Tamarack City
14020	 Dowagiac Union
44050	 Dryden
58050	 Dundee
78030	 Durand

74050	 East China
50020	 East Detroit
41090	 East Grand Rapids
38090	 East Jackson
15060	 East Jordan
33010	 East Lansing
34340	 Easton Twp.
23050	 Eaton Rapids
11250	 Eau Claire
82250	 Ecorse
14030	 Edwardsburg
05060	 Elk Rapids
32050	 Elkton-Pigeon-Bay Port Laker
05065	 Ellsworth
31070	 Elm River Twp.
49055	 Engadine
21010	 Escanaba
09050	 Essexville-Hampton
67020	 Evart
66045	 Ewen-Trout Creek
40060	 Excelsior

68030	 Fairview
63200	 Farmington
18020	 Farwell
03050	 Fennville
25100	 Fenton
63020	 Ferndale
50090	 Fitzgerald
82180	 Flat Rock
25010	 Flint
25120	 Flushing
40020	 Forest Area
41110	 Forest Hills
36015	 Forest Park
19070	 Fowler
47030	 Fowlerville
73190	 Frankenmuth
10025	 Frankfort-Elberta
50100	 Fraser
73200	 Freeland
62040	 Fremont
61080	 Fruitport
29050	 Fulton

39050	 Galesburg-Augusta
11160	 Galien Twp.
82050	 Garden City
69020	 Gaylord
25070	 Genesee
82290	 Gibraltar
21025	 Gladstone
26040	 Gladwin
45010	 Glen Lake
03440	 Glenn
80110	 Gobles
41120	 Godfrey-Lee
41020	 Godwin Heights

25050	 Goodrich
25030	 Grand Blanc
70010	 Grand Haven
23060	 Grand Ledge
41010	 Grand Rapids
41130	 Grandville
62050	 Grant
42030	 Grant Twp.
38050	 Grass Lake
59070	 Greenville
82300	 Grosse Ile Twp.
82055	 Grosse Pointe
39065	 Gull Lake
52040	 Gwinn

11670	 Hagar Twp.
35020	 Hale
03100	 Hamilton
82060	 Hamtramck
31010	 Hancock
38100	 Hanover-Horton
32060	 Harbor Beach
24020	 Harbor Springs
13070	 Harper Creek
82320	 Harper Woods
18060	 Harrison
64040	 Hart
80120	 Hartford
47060	 Hartland
33060	 Haslett
08030	 Hastings
63130	 Hazel Park
73210	 Hemlock
62060	 Hesperia
82070	 Highland Park
60020	 Hillman
30020	 Hillsdale
70020	 Holland
63210	 Holly
33070	 Holt
61120	 Holton
13080	 Homer
03070	 Hopkins
72020	 Houghton Lake
31110	 Houghton-Portage Twp.
47070	 Howell
46080	 Hudson
70190	 Hudsonville
82340	 Huron
63220	 Huron Valley

58070	 Ida
44060	 Imlay City
82080	 Inkster
16050	 Inland Lakes
34010	 Ionia
34360	 Ionia Twp.
22010	 Iron Mountain
27020	 Ironwood
52180	 Ishpeming
29060	 Ithaca

38170	 Jackson
58080	 Jefferson (Monroe)
70175	 Jenison
69030	 Johannesburg-Lewiston
30030	 Jonesville

39010	 Kalamazoo
51045	 Kaleva Norman Dickson
40040	 Kalkaska
25110	 Kearsley
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41140	 Kelloggsville
41145	 Kenowa Hills
41150	 Kent City
41160	 Kentwood
28090	 Kingsley
79080	 Kingston

07040	 L’Anse
50140	 L’Anse Creuse
78040	 Laingsburg
57020	 Lake City
25200	 Lake Fenton
31130	 Lake Linden-Hubbell
63230	 Lake Orion
50120	 Lake Shore (Macomb)
11030	 Lakeshore (Berrien)
13090	 Lakeview (Calhoun)
50130	 Lakeview (Macomb)
59090	 Lakeview (Montcalm)
25280	 LakeVille
34090	 Lakewood
63280	 Lamphere
33020	 Lansing
44010	 Lapeer
80130	 Lawrence
80140	 Lawton
45020	 Leland
49040	 Les Cheneaux
33100	 Leslie
81070	 Lincoln
82090	 Lincoln Park
25250	 Linden
30040	 Litchfield
82095	 Livonia
41170	 Lowell
53040	 Ludington

49110	 Mackinac Island
16070	 Mackinaw City
46090	 Madison (Lenawee)
63140	 Madison (Oakland)
05070	 Mancelona
81080	 Manchester
51070	 Manistee
77010	 Manistique
83060	 Manton
23065	 Maple Valley
13095	 Mar Lee
14050	 Marcellus
67050	 Marion
76140	 Marlette
52170	 Marquette
13110	 Marshall
03060	 Martin
74100	 Marysville
33130	 Mason (Ingham)
58090	 Mason (Monroe)
53010	 Mason County Central
53020	 Mason County Eastern
80150	 Mattawan
79090	 Mayville
57030	 McBain
82045	 Melvindale-North Allen Park
74120	 Memphis
75060	 Mendon
55100	 Menominee
56050	 Meridian
73230	 Merrill
83070	 Mesick
38120	 Michigan Center
21135	 Mid Peninsula
56010	 Midland
81100	 Milan
79100	 Millington
68010	 Mio-AuSable
61060	 Mona Shores
58010	 Monroe
59045	 Montabella
61180	 Montague
25260	 Montrose

49070	 Moran Twp.
46100	 Morenci
54040	 Morley Stanwood
78060	 Morrice
50160	 Mt. Clemens
25040	 Mt. Morris
37010	 Mt. Pleasant
02070	 Munising
61010	 Muskegon
61020	 Muskegon Heights

38130	 Napoleon
52090	 Negaunee
11200	 New Buffalo
50170	 New Haven
78070	 New Lothrop
62070	 Newaygo
52015	 N.I.C.E. (Ishpeming)
11300	 Niles
30050	 North Adams-Jerome
44090	 North Branch
55115	 North Central
22045	 North Dickinson 
32080	 North Huron
61230	 North Muskegon
45040	 Northport
41025	 Northview
82390	 Northville
38140	 Northwest
22025	 Norway-Vulcan
75100	 Nottawa
63100	 Novi

63250	 Oak Park
61065	 Oakridge
33170	 Okemos
23080	 Olivet
71050	 Onaway
23490	 Oneida Twp.
51060	 Onekama
46110	 Onsted
66050	 Ontonagon
61190	 Orchard View
35010	 Oscoda
03020	 Otsego
19120	 Ovid-Elsie
32090	 Owendale-Gagetown
78110	 Owosso
63110	 Oxford

34040	 Palo
39130	 Parchment
80160	 Paw Paw
76180	 Peck
24040	 Pellston
13120	 Pennfield
64070	 Pentwater
78080	 Perry
24070	 Petoskey
19125	 Pewamo-Westphalia
17090	 Pickford
47080	 Pinckney
09090	 Pinconning
67055	 Pine River
30060	 Pittsford
03010	 Plainwell
82100	 Plymouth-Canton
63030	 Pontiac
32130	 Port Hope
74010	 Port Huron
39140	 Portage
34110	 Portland
71060	 Posen
23090	 Potterville
52100	 Powell Twp.

12040	 Quincy

21060	 Rapid River
61210	 Ravenna
30070	 Reading
82110	 Redford Union

67060	 Reed City
79110	 Reese
61220	 Reeths-Puffer
52110	 Republic-Michigamme
50180	 Richmond
82120	 River Rouge
11033	 River Valley
82400	 Riverview
63260	 Rochester
41210	 Rockford
71080	 Rogers City
50190	 Romeo
82130	 Romulus
72010  	Roscommon
50030	 Roseville
63040	 Royal Oak
17110	 Rudyard

73010	 Saginaw City
73040	 Saginaw Twp.
81120	 Saline
46130	 Sand Creek
76210	 Sandusky
34120	 Saranac
03080	 Saugatuck
17010	 Sault Ste. Marie
39160	 Schoolcraft
64080	 Shelby
37060	 Shepherd
32610	 Sigel Twp. 3 (Adams)
32620	 Sigel Twp. 4 (Eccles)
32630	 Sigel Twp. 6 (Kipper)
11830	 Sodus Twp.
80010	 South Haven
50200	 South Lake
63240	 South Lyon
82140	 South Redford
63060	 Southfield
82405	 Southgate
41240	 Sparta
70300	 Spring Lake
38150	 Springport
73240	 St. Charles
49010	 St. Ignace
19140	 St. Johns
11020	 St. Joseph
29100	 St. Louis
06050	 Standish-Sterling
31140	 Stanton Twp.
55120	 Stephenson
33200	 Stockbridge
75010	 Sturgis
58100	 Summerfield
02080	 Superior Central
45050	 Suttons Bay
73255	 Swan Valley
25180	 Swartz Creek

48040	 Tahquamenon
35030	 Tawas
82150	 Taylor
46140	 Tecumseh
13130	 Tekonsha
08050	 Thornapple Kellogg
75080	 Three Rivers
28010	 Traverse City
82155	 Trenton
59080	 Tri County 
63150	 Troy

32170	 Ubly
13135	 Union City
79145	 Unionville-Sebewaing
50210	 Utica

82430	 Van Buren
50220	 Van Dyke
69040	 Vanderbilt
38020	 Vandercook Lake
79150	 Vassar
32650	 Verona Twp.

59150	 Vestaburg
39170	 Vicksburg

27070	 Wakefield-Marenisco
30080	 Waldron
64090	 Walkerville
63290	 Walled Lake
50230	 Warren
50240	 Warren Woods
63300	 Waterford
27080	 Watersmeet Twp.
11320	 Watervliet
33215	 Waverly
03040	 Wayland Union
82160	 Wayne-Westland
33220	 Webberville
52160	 Wells Twp.
63160	 West Bloomfield
65045	 West Branch-Rose City
36025	 West Iron County
70070	 West Ottawa
38010	 Western
82240	 Westwood
25210	 Westwood Heights
62090	 White Cloud
75070	 White Pigeon
17160	 Whitefish Twp.
58110	 Whiteford
61240	 Whitehall
81140	 Whitmore Lake
35040	 Whittemore-Prescott
33230	 Williamston
16100	 Wolverine
82365	 Woodhaven-Brownstown
82170	 Wyandotte
41026	 Wyoming

74130	 Yale
81020	 Ypsilanti

70350	 Zeeland

Point. Click. File.

Secure, Fast, 
and Convenient! 

Free e-file is available.  
Do you qualify?

www.MIfastfile.org
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Summary of Income Tax Credits, Additions, and Subtractions
Below is a summary of income tax credits, additions, and sub-
tractions available to taxpayers.  Detailed information for each 
is provided on the page number indicated below.
Credits
The following refundable credits may be claimed on your MI-1040.  
The line reference follows the credit listed below.
MI-1040 - Nonrefundable Credits	 Page No.
Taxes paid to government units outside Michigan (18)................9
Historic Preservation Tax Credit (19)...........................................9
Small Business Investment Tax Credit (19)..................................9
MI-1040 - Refundable Credits	 Page No.
Homestead Property Tax Credit (25)..........................................23
Farmland Preservation Tax Credit (26) ......................................10
Earned Income Tax Credit (27)...................................................10
Historic Preservation Tax Credit (28).........................................10
The following credit is claimed on your MI-1040CR-7 Home Heating 
Credit Claim form.
Home Heating Credit........ See MI-1040CR-7 Instruction Booklet

Additions
The following additions are claimed on your Schedule 1; total 
additions are carried forward to your MI-1040, line 11. The  
Schedule 1 line reference follows the addition listed below.
	 Page No.
Gross interest, dividends, and income from obligations or  
securities of states and their political subdivisions other
than Michigan (1)...................................................................... 11
Deduction taken on your federal return for self-employment  
tax or other taxes on or measured by income (2).................. 11
Capital gains from the Michigan column of the MI-1040D 
or MI-4797 (3).......................................................................... 11
Certain losses from a business or property located  
in another state (4).................................................................... 11
Net loss from the federal column of your Michigan 
MI-1040D or MI-4797 (5)........................................................ 11
Gross expenses from Michigan oil and gas activity and 
nonferrous metallic minerals extraction (6)............................. 11
Net operating loss deduction used to reduce AGI (7)............ 11
Money withdrawn in the tax year from a Michigan Education 
Savings Program (MESP) account if the withdrawal was not a 
qualified withdrawal as provided in the MESP Act (8)......... 11
Refund received from a Michigan Education Trust (MET) 
contract (8)................................................................................ 11

Subtractions 
The following subtractions are claimed on your Schedule 1; total 
subtractions are carried forward to your MI-1040, line 13.  The 
Schedule 1 line reference follows the subtraction listed below.
	 Page No.
Income from U.S. government obligations  
(Series EE Bonds, Treasury notes, etc.)  (10)............................. 11
Military, Michigan National Guard and taxable  
railroad retirement benefits (11)................................................ 11
Gains from federal column of Michigan  
MI-1040D and MI-4797 (12).................................................... 11
Income attributable to another state (13).................................. 11
Compensation received for active duty in  
U.S. Armed Forces and taxable Social Security (14)..............12
Renaissance zone deduction (15)..............................................12
Michigan state and city income tax refunds and  
homestead property tax credit refunds (16)..............................12
Contributions made to accounts established through  
MESP (17)..................................................................................12
Contract price for a MET contract (18)...................................12
Charitable contributions to MET programs (18)......................12
Gross income from Michigan oil and gas activity
and nonferrous metallic minerals extraction (19).....................12
Exempted Resident tribal member income (20).......................12
Michigan NOL deduction (21)..................................................13
Amount used to determine the credit for elderly  
or totally and permanently disabled from U.S. Form 1040 
Schedule R (22)..........................................................................13
Holocaust victim payments (22)................................................13
Gross income from Michigan nonferrous metallic minerals 
extraction (22)............................................................................13
Qualifying retirement and pension benefits (25). See Pension 
Schedule (Form 4884)................................................................14
Dividends, interest, and capital gains for senior citizens (26)...14



63

Index
Income Tax	                          			  Page

Additions to income........................................................... 11
Amending............................................................................7
Annualizing total household resources.............................26
Appeals................................................................................3
Blind exemption...................................................................8
Canadian provincial tax credit.............................................9
Deaf exemption....................................................................8
Deceased.................................................................. 6, 25, 59
Direct Deposit.................................................................... 10
Disabled, defined.................................................................9
Due date...............................................................................4
Earned income tax credit................................................... 10
Electronic filing...............................................................1, 3
Estimated payments.............................................................5
Extensions............................................................................5
Federal schedules...............................................................59
Filing requirements..............................................................3
Homestead property.................................................... 10, 23
Interest.................................................................................4
Line-by-line instructions.....................................................8
MESP........................................................................... 11, 12
MET............................................................................. 11, 12
Military pay...................................................................3, 12
Net operating losses................................................. 7, 12, 23
Nonresidents, income allocation.........................6, 11, 49, 59
Out-of-state income tax credit.............................................9
Part-year residents, income allocation................6, 11, 49, 59
Penalty.................................................................................4
Pensions and retirement................... 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 51, 55
Qualified Disabled Veterans exemption..............................9
Reciprocal states..................................................................6
Renaissance zone deduction..............................................12
Repayments of income reported in a prior year..................7
Residency.........................................................................6, 8
Rounding numbers...............................................................4
Small Business Investment Tax Credit 
(Venture Investment) Credit................................................9
School district code list......................................................60
Special exemptions..............................................................8
Standard Deduction...........................................................13
State Campaign Fund...........................................................8
Subtractions from income.................................................. 11
Tax credits available..........................................................62
Voluntary Contributions Schedule.............................. 10, 57
Homestead Property Tax Credit
Alternate credit for senior citizens (renters)......................30
Amending..........................................................................23
Bought or sold a home.......................................................25
Cooperative housing..........................................................25
Deceased claimant....................................................... 25, 59
Delay paying property tax.................................................23
Disabled, defined (line 5 instructions)..............................27
Divorced, credit calculation...............................................26
Due date.............................................................................23
Duplexes............................................................................24
Farmers..............................................................................24

Home used for business.......................................................24
Homestead, defined.............................................................23
Income property...................................................................24
Line-by-line instructions.....................................................27
Married filing separately.....................................................26
Married in 2014....................................................................26
Mobile homes.......................................................................25
Moving.................................................................................25
Nursing homes.....................................................................27
Part-year residents................................................................25
Property taxes that can be claimed......................................24
Qualifying for a property tax credit....................................23
Rent................................................................................25, 30
Room and board...................................................................25
School district code list........................................................60
Senior citizens, defined (line 5 instructions).......................27
Separated, credit calculation................................................26
Service fee housing..............................................................25
Shared housing.....................................................................27
Subsidized housing..............................................................25
Tax-exempt housing.............................................................25
Total Household Resources defined....................................23
Total Household Resources limits.......................................23
Forms, Worksheets and Tables
Forms
4642, Michigan Voluntary Contributions Schedule.......57-58
4884, Michigan Pension Schedule..................................51-54
4973, Michigan Pension Continuation Schedule.................55
MI-1040, Individual Income Tax Return........................ 31-34
MI-1040CR, Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim.....41-47
Schedule 1, Additions and Subtractions........................ 37-40
Schedule NR, Nonresident and Part-Year 
Resident Schedule...........................................................49-50
Schedule W, Withholding Tax Schedule.........................35-36
Worksheets
Alternate Property Tax Credit for Renters 
65 and Older.........................................................................30
Exemption Allowance for Schedule NR..............................59
FIP/DHS Benefits................................................................30
Taxable Railroad Retirement Benefits 
or Qualified Pension and Retirement Benefits....................17
Use Tax..................................................................................8
Questionnaire
Which Section of Form 4884 Should I Complete................16
Tables
Federal Schedules................................................................59
Homestead Property Tax Credit Phase Out..........................30
Percent of Taxes Not Refundable (MI-1040CR).................29
Senior Credit Reduction (MI-1040CR)...............................29
Use Tax..................................................................................8
Miscellaneous
New for 2014..........................................................................2
Self Service Options..............................................................2
Treasury Offices..................................................................64
Where to Get Forms........................................................2, 64
Other Taxes
Use Tax............................................................................7, 10
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  State Revenues and Financing Sources		
                          (Millions of Dollars)	

Financing Source	 Amount	 %
Sales and Use Taxes	 $8,350.8	 29.2%
Income Tax	 8,271.8	 28.9%
Other Revenue & Taxes	 5,366.2	 18.8%
Motor Vehicle & Fuel Taxes	 1,921.3	 6.7%
State Education Tax	 1,771.1	 6.2%
Tobacco & Liquor Taxes	 1,140.4	 4.0%
Business, Corporate and Ins. Taxes	 1,023.5	 3.6%
Lottery Profits	          739.8        	 2.6%
   Total	 $28,584.9	 100.0%

    State Expenditures and Financing Uses                    
(Millions of Dollars)

Financing Use	 Amount	 %
Education	 $12,733.0	 44.5%
Health Services	 4,665.7	 16.3%
Public Safety & Corrections	 2,440.6	 8.5%
Transportation	 1,862.8	 6.5%
General Government	 1,778.2	 6.2%
Other	 1,596.9	 5.6%
Economic Dev. & Environmental Reg.	 1,289.5 	 4.5%
Human Services	        1,140.7	  4.0%
Revenue Sharing to Local Governments	     1,077.5	     3.8%
   Total	 $28,584.9	 100.0%

Financial Information for Fiscal Year 2013
This information is intended to provide an overview and broad perspective of the State’s financial operations. These figures were 
derived from the latest Michigan Comprehensive Annual Financial Report for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2013.

Unclaimed Property
The Michigan Department of Treasury is holding millions of dollars in abandoned and unclaimed property belonging to Michigan residents. Go 
to www.michigan.gov/unclaimedproperty to search for unclaimed property.

Treasury Offices
Treasury office staff do not prepare tax returns.

DETROIT
Cadillac Place, Suite L-380
3060 W. Grand Blvd.

DIMONDALE *
7285 Parsons Drive
(*NOT a mailing address)

ESCANABA
State Office Building, 1st Floor
305 Ludington Street
(open 8 - 12 only)

FLINT
State Office Building, 7th Floor
125 E. Union Street

Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, MI  48922 PRSRT STD 

U.S. POSTAGE PAID 
Mich. Dept. of Treasury

GRAND RAPIDS
State Office Building, 2nd Floor
350 Ottawa Avenue, NW - Unit 17

STERLING HEIGHTS
41300 Dequindre Road, Suite 200

TRAVERSE CITY
701 S. Elmwood Avenue, 4th Floor
(open 8 - 12 only)

Figures represented in millions of dollars may not add to totals because of rounding. 
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