
  

Toll Free: 
Local: 

Fax: 

800-381-5111 
517-284-4400 
517-284-4416 P.O. Box 30171 Lansing, MI 48909-7671 www.michigan.gov/ors 

 
 

Department of Technology, Management & Budget   
R0749G (Rev. 11/2021) Authority: 1943 PA 240, as amended    

Retiree Insurance Rates Effective Jan.1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2022   
For State Employees in the Defined Contribution (DC) Plan   

As a state employee in the Defined Contribution (DC) plan, you may be eligible for state-sponsored health, prescription 
drug, dental, and vision insurances upon terminating employment if you have vested with the equivalent of 10 years 
full-time state service and have met eligibility age requirements.     
Your insurance benefit is either the Premium Subsidy or Personal Healthcare Fund, depending upon when you first 
hired, elected, transferred, or defaulted into that benefit option.     

Eligible participants in both the Premium Subsidy and Personal Healthcare Fund can enroll in any state-sponsored 
insurance plan. However, the premium rates will vary depending on your healthcare benefit. The following explains 
your eligibility requirements and cost.    

Personal Healthcare Fund   
If you are a vested participant in the Personal Healthcare Fund, and have met age requirements, you may be eligible 
for state-sponsored insurances at the total unsubsidized premium cost when you terminate employment. The amount 
you pay is determined by the insurance carrier you choose. Your rate for any of the insurance carriers can be found in 
the Total Unsubsidized Premium column of the tables on pages 3-5. You, your spouse, and your dependents may   
enroll in insurances if you enroll immediately when you retire but you will be responsible for the entire premium. If you 
disenroll from the plan at any time, you, your spouse, and your dependents will not be able to re-enroll.     

Premium Subsidy   
If you are a vested participant who switched to the DC plan in 1997, you are eligible for the full subsidy allowed under 
law (currently 80%). Do not use this rate sheet; refer to the subsidized insurance rates published online by the   
Michigan Civil Service Commission. These can be located at www.mi.gov/employeebenefits by clicking on Insurance 
Rates on the left hand menu. 
If you are any other vested participant with the Premium Subsidy, and have met age requirements, the state will pay a 
percentage of your monthly insurance premiums when you terminate employment. The amount you pay is determined 
by your years of service worked and the insurance carrier you choose. If you enroll in a plan with higher premiums, 
keep in mind that the amount the state will pay will not be more than it will pay under the Blue Cross Blue Shield 
Michigan PPO. The following section will help you calculate your subsidy amount.   

Calculating the Amount You Pay       
The tables on pages 3-5 list premium subsidy rates if you have 10, 15, or 20 years of service. Use the instructions 
below to calculate the rates if you have a different total for your years of service.   

Step 1. Determine your years of service. If you’re not sure, you can find your total hours on the MI HR Self Service 
website under Personal Information, Leave Balances, Defined Contribution 40.    

   Divide your total hours by 2,080. Drop any fraction of a year to arrive at your years of service.    

   Note: For most state employees, 2,080 hours equals one year of service. You cannot be credited with more   
than one year of service in any given year, and you cannot earn more than 80 hours of service in a pay period.   

Step 2. Determine your insurance subsidy percentage. In the table below, find the percentage that applies to your 
years of service.    

            The table shows the amounts you may be eligible for if you terminate employment in 2022. The graded 
subsidy is currently set at 30 percent with 10 years of service with an additional 3 percent credited for each 
year of service thereafter up to the maximum subsidy in place for active employees.    

      Note: The subsidy is determined by the Michigan Civil Service Commission and is subject to change even 
after you have retired.   
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2022 HEALTH INSURANCE SUBSIDY AMOUNTS 
Years of Service   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  17  18  19  20  21 22 23 24 25 26 27 

Insurance Subsidy %   30   33   36   39   42   45   48  51  54  57  60  63 66 69 72 75 78 80 
 

Step 3. Determine the state share. Begin by calculating the amount the state will pay under the Blue Cross Blue 
Shield Michigan (BCBSM) PPO. On the BCBSM PPO chart, multiply the Monthly Total that applies to you by 
your Insurance Subsidy percentage to determine the State Share.   

Monthly Total BCBSM PPO (x) Insurance Subsidy % = State Share    
If you prefer a different plan, follow the same calculation using the rates provided for that plan.   

Monthly Total (x) Insurance Subsidy % = State Share   
Remember that the amount the state will pay will not be more than it will pay under the BCBSM PPO plan. If 
the rate amount is lower than what the state would pay under the BCBSM PPO, use the lesser amount.   

Step 4. Determine the Amount You Pay. Subtract the State Share from the Monthly Total to determine the Amount 
You Pay per month.   

Monthly Total (-) State Share = Amount You Pay   
 

Continued Health Insurance Coverage   
Protect your dependents after eligibility stops. A federal law known as Consolidated Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act, or COBRA, allows your dependent spouse or child(ren) the option of paying for continued health 
insurance coverage for up to 36 months after a qualifying event. If one of your dependents loses insurance eligibility, 
he or she may be able to pay for continued coverage for a limited time. Your dependents will be notified of their    
options. COBRA rates, included in the following pages, are the same for both Graded Premium Subsidy and Personal 
Healthcare Fund; these rates are unsubsidized and include administrative fees.    
   

 
The following pages provide insurance rates for the timeframe indicated on this notice.    
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Your Monthly Cost – Blue Cross Blue Shield Michigan PPO    
  Graded Premium Subsidy Plan Rates   Personal Healthcare  

Fund Plan Rates   
  

COBRA Rates  
20 Years of 

Service   
15 Years of 

Service   
10 Years of 

Service   
Total Unsubsidized 

Premium   
Without Medicare   

Self Only   $ 359.45 $ 494.24 $ 629.03 $ 898.62 $ 916.59 

Self & Spouse    718.88  988.46  1,258.04  1,797.20  1,833.14 

Self & Child(ren)    452.77  622.56  792.34  1,131.92  1,154.56 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    832.20  1,144.28  1,456.35  2,080.50  2,122.11 

With Medicare (Parts A & B)   

Self Only   $   188.47 $ 259.14 $ 329.82 $ 471.17 $ 480.59 

Self & Spouse      376.94  518.29  659.65  942.35  961.20 

Self & Child(ren)      281.80  387.47  493.14  704.49  718.58 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)      490.26  674.11  857.96  1,225.66  1,250.17 

One With Medicare and One Without Medicare   

Self or Spouse with Medicare   $ 547.91 $ 753.38 $ 958.85 $ 1,369.78 $ 1,397.18 

Self or Spouse with Medicare & Child(ren)    661.23  909.19  1,157.16  1,653.08  1,686.14 

 
Your Monthly Cost –  State Dental Plan    
  Graded Premium Subsidy Plan Rates   Personal Healthcare 

Fund Plan Rates   
  

COBRA Rates  
20 Years of 

Service   
15 Years of 

Service   
10 Years of 

Service   
Total Unsubsidized 

Premium   
Self Only   $ 19.62 $ 26.98 $ 34.34 $ 49.05 $ 50.03 

Self & Spouse    35.74  49.15  62.55  89.36  91.15 

Self & Child(ren)    43.66  60.04  76.41  109.16  111.34 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    59.80  82.22  104.64  149.49  152.48 

   
Your Monthly Cost – State Vision Plan    
  

Graded Premium Subsidy Plan Rates   Personal Healthcare 
Fund Plan Rates   

  

COBRA Rates  
20 Years of 

Service   
15 Years of 

Service   
10 Years of 

Service   
Total Unsubsidized 

Premium   
Self Only   $ 2.16 $ 2.98 $ 3.79 $ 5.41 $ 5.52 

Self & Spouse    3.52  4.85  6.17  8.81  8.98 

Self & Child(ren)    4.93  6.78  8.62  12.32  12.56 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    6.28  8.64  11.00  15.71  16.02 
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If you  wish to enroll in an HMO, visit www.mi.gov/employeebenefits then select "Retiree Information" from the right 
hand menu, and use the HMO-Availability Zip Code Tool or coverage maps to determine if there is coverage available in 
your area.    

 

Your Monthly Cost – Blue Care Network   

         

Personal Healthcare 
Fund Plan Rates   

  

COBRA Rates  
 Graded Premium Subsidy Plan Rates   

20 Years of 
Service   

15 Years of 
Service   

10 Years of 
Service   

Total Unsubsidized 
Premium   

Without Medicare   

Self Only   $ 591.44 $ 726.23 $ 861.02 $ 1,130.61 $ 1,153.22 

Self & Spouse    1,182.90  1,452.48  1,722.06  2,261.22  2,306.44 

Self & Child(ren)    763.50  933.29  1,103.07  1,442.65  1,471.50 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    1,324.96  1,637.04  1,949.11  2,573.26  2,624.73 

With Medicare (Parts A & B)   

Self Only   $ 103.39 $ 142.16 $ 180.94 $ 258.48 $ 263.65 

Self & Spouse    206.78  284.33  361.87  516.96  527.30 

Self & Child(ren)    228.21  313.79  399.36  570.52  581.93 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    331.60  455.95  580.30  829.00  845.58 

One With Medicare and One Without Medicare   

Self or Spouse with Medicare   $ 567.22 $ 772.69 $ 978.16 $ 1,389.09 $ 1,416.87 

Self or Spouse with Medicare & Child(ren)  709.28  957.24  1,205.21  1,701.13  1,735.15 
 
Your Monthly Cost – Health Alliance Plan    
  

Graded Premium Subsidy Plan Rates 
Personal Healthcare 

Fund Plan Rates   
  

COBRA Rates  
20 Years of 

Service   
15 Years of 

Service 
10 Years of 

Service   
Total Unsubsidized 

Premium   
Without Medicare     

Self Only   $ 843.44 $ 978.23 $ 1,113.02 $ 1,382.61 $ 1,410.26 

Self & Spouse    1,686.90  1,956.48  2,226.06  2,765.22  2,820.52 

Self & Child(ren)    1,062.93  1,232.72  1,402.50  1,742.08  1,776.92 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    1,876.39  2,188.47  2,500.54  3,124.69  3,187.18 

With Medicare (Parts A & B)   

Self Only   $ 148.05 $ 203.57 $ 259.09 $ 370.13 $ 377.53 

Self & Spouse    296.10  407.14  518.18  740.26  755.07 

Self & Child(ren)    306.91  412.58  518.25  729.60  744.19 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    439.89  604.85  769.81  1,099.73  1,121.72 

One With Medicare and One Without Medicare   

Self or Spouse with Medicare   $ 930.87 $ 1,136.34 $ 1,341.81 $ 1,752.74 $ 1,787.79 

Self or Spouse with Medicare & Child(ren)    1,120.36  1,368.32  1,616.29  2,112.21  2,154.45 
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Your Monthly Cost – Physicians Health Plan (PHP)  
    

Graded Premium Subsidy Plan Rates   

Personal Healthcare 
Fund Plan Rates 

  

COBRA Rates  
20 Years of 

Service   
15 Years of 

Service   
10 Years of 

Service   
Total Unsubsidized 

Premium   
 

 

Without Medicare   
Self Only   $ 788.18 $ 922.97 $ 1,057.76 $ 1,327.35 $ 1,353.90 

Self & Spouse    1,576.38  1,845.96  2,115.54  2,654.70  2,707.79 

Self & Child(ren)    993.31  1,163.10  1,332.88  1,672.46  1,705.91 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    1,751.49  2,063.57  2,375.64  2,999.79  3,059.79 

With Medicare (Parts A & B)   

Self Only   $ 142.40 $ 195.80 $ 249.20 $ 356.00 $ 363.12 

Self & Spouse    284.80  391.60  498.40  712.00  726.24 

Self & Child(ren)    280.44  385.61  490.78  701.11  715.13 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    422.84  581.41  739.98  1,057.11  1,078.25 

One With Medicare and One Without Medicare   

Self or Spouse with Medicare   $ 861.48 $ 1,066.95 $ 1,272.42 $ 1,683.35 $ 1,717.02 

Self or Spouse with Medicare & Child(ren)    1,036.61  1,284.57  1,532.54  2,028.46  2,069.03 

 
Your Monthly Cost – Priority Health  
    

Graded Premium Subsidy Plan Rates   

Personal Healthcare 
Fund Plan Rates 

  

COBRA Rates  
20 Years of 

Service   
15 Years of 

Service   
10 Years of 

Service   
Total Unsubsidized 

Premium   
 

 

Without Medicare   
Self Only   $ 899.08 $ 1,033.87 $ 1,168.66 $ 1,438.25 $ 1,467.02 

Self & Spouse    1,798.18  2,067.76  2,337.34  2,876.50  2,934.03 

Self & Child(ren)    1,131.17  1,300.96  1,470.74  1,810.32  1,846.53 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    2,000.27  2,312.35  2,624.42  3,248.57  3,313.54 

With Medicare (Parts A & B)   

Self Only   $ 122.00 $ 167.75 $ 213.50 $ 305.00 $ 311.10 

Self & Spouse    244.00  335.50  427.00  610.00  622.20 

Self & Child(ren)    270.83  372.39  473.95  677.07  690.61 

Self, Spouse & Child(ren)    392.83  540.14  687.45  982.07  1,001.71 

One With Medicare and One Without Medicare   

Self or Spouse with Medicare   $ 921.38 $ 1,126.85 $ 1,332.32 $ 1,743.25 $ 1,778.12 

Self or Spouse with Medicare & Child(ren)    1,123.47  1,371.43  1,619.40  2,115.32  2,157.63 
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