
Michigan Department of State Police 
Written Public Summary of the Department’s Freedom 

of Information Act (FOIA) Procedures and Guidelines 

 

A. How to submit written requests.  

FOIA requests to the Michigan State Police can be sent by email or mail to: 
 

Email: MSP-FOI@michigan.gov 
 

Mail: Michigan State Police 
Attn: FOIA Coordinator 
P.O. Box 30634 

Lansing, MI 48909 
 

Requests can also be faxed to 517-241-1935. 
 

Requests should include a name, phone number, and mailing address. 

 
B. How to understand the Department’s written responses to FOIA requests. 

 
The department has several options when responding to written requests for public 
records.  It can grant the FOIA request, deny the request, grant it in part and deny it in 

part, or take one 10 business day extension.  After 10 business days pass, the 
department has to respond with one of the other options. 

 
If the request is granted or granted in part and denied in part, the department can also 
charge a fee to process the request.  Fees are calculated using its procedures and 

guidelines and you will receive a detailed itemization of the fee.  The department may 
require you to pay a good-faith deposit before it processes your request.  After you pay 

any deposit and final balance due, the department will produce records in its possession 
that fall within the scope of your request and that legally may be disclosed to the public.  
The department may also notify you that some of the records you have requested are 

available on its website. 
 

If the request is denied, the department will inform you of the basis for its denial in a 
written notice.  Reasons the department may deny a request include: 
 

1. You did not describe the records you have requested well enough and the 
department cannot determine what you are asking for; 

2. The department has determined that it does not have records that respond 
to your request in its possession; or 

 3. The records you have requested are exempt from public disclosure. 

 

mailto:MSP-FOI@michigan.gov


If all or part of your request is denied, the department will inform you of your right to 
appeal its denial to the head of the department and/or to file a lawsuit against the 

department in its written response. 
 

C. Deposit requirements. 

 
If the department estimates a fee to process a FOIA request greater than $50.00, the 

department will require a good-faith deposit from you before providing the public 
records.  The deposit will not exceed 1/2 of the total estimated fee.  Any written notice 

containing a notice of a deposit shall also contain a best efforts estimate by the 
department regarding the time frame after a deposit is received that it will take the 
department to provide the public records.  The time frame estimate is not binding upon 

the department, but the department will provide the estimate in good faith and strive to 
be reasonably accurate and to provide the public records in a manner based on this 

State's public policy under section 1 of the FOIA, MCL 15.231, and the nature of the 
request in the particular instance. 
 
D. Fee calculations. 

 

The FOIA permits the department to charge a fee to process FOIA requests using a 
form to give you a detailed itemization of the costs involved.  The department may 
charge for the following costs: 

 
A. the costs of labor for the search, location, and examination of public 

records; 
B. the costs of labor for the review of public records and separation and 

deletion of exempt from nonexempt material; 

C. the cost of nonpaper physical media; 
D. the cost of duplication and publication of public records; 

E. the costs of labor for the duplication or publication of public records; 
F. the actual cost of mailing public records. 

 

E. Avenues for challenge and appeal. 

 

If the department charges a fee or denies all or part of a request, you may submit to the 
head of the department a written appeal that specifically states the word “appeal” and 
identifies the basis for which the fee should be reduced or the disclosure determination 

should be reversed.  Written appeals may be sent to the email address or mailing 
address listed above and will be forwarded to the Director of the State Police or the 

person designated by the Director to respond to written appeals. 


