
S T A T E   O F   M I C H I G A N 

 

BEFORE THE MICHIGAN PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

 

* * * * * 

 

In the matter on the Commission’s own motion ) 

to implement the provisions of 2013 PA 95.    ) Case No. U-17377 

                                                                                         ) 

 

 

 At the July 22, 2014 meeting of the Michigan Public Service Commission in Lansing, 

Michigan. 

 

PRESENT: Hon. John D. Quackenbush, Chairman  

Hon. Greg R. White, Commissioner 

         Hon. Sally A. Talberg, Commissioner  

 

 
ORDER  

 

 2013 PA 95 (Act 95), MCL 460.9t, created the Low-Income Energy Assistance Fund (LIEAF) 

within the State Treasury.  Section 9t(5) of Act 95 provides that money from the LIEAF shall be 

expended by the Department of Human Services as provided in the Michigan Energy Assistance 

Act, 2012 PA 615. 

 Act 95 provides that the Commission, after an opportunity to comment, may annually approve 

a low-income energy assistance funding factor no later than July 31 of each year for the 

subsequent fiscal year.  Section 9t(10)(B) of Act 95 provides that the funding factor is a 

nonbypassable surcharge to be added to each retail billing meter (but no more than one residential 

meter per residential site), payable monthly by every customer receiving retail distribution service 

from an electric utility, municipally owned electric utility, or cooperative electric utility, regardless 

of the identity of the customer’s electric generation supplier.  The funding factor shall be the same 

across all customer classes, shall appear as a separate line item on each customer’s bill, and shall 
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not exceed $1.  Section 9t(7) provides that electric utilities, including the municipally owned and 

cooperative electric utilities, may elect not to collect the funding factor by annually filing a notice 

with the Commission by July 1; however, utilities that do not collect the funding factor shall not 

shut off service to any residential customer from November 1 to April 15 for nonpayment of a 

delinquent account.  For utilities that do not opt out, Section 9t(8) provides that they shall 

annually, by July 1, provide to the Commission the number of retail billing meters the utility 

serves in Michigan that are subject to the funding factor.  The Commission will thereafter 

determine the funding factor by July 31.   

 Section 9t(6) provides that “The amount used by the public service commission to calculate a 

low-income energy assistance funding factor during each fiscal year shall not exceed 

$50,000,000.00 minus both the amount appropriated from the general fund in that fiscal year for 

home energy assistance and the amount remaining in the fund from the prior fiscal year.”  The 

Commission is informed that the latter two amounts are currently zero.   

 Based on information filed as of July 1, 2014, the Commission issued an order on July 8, 

2014, proposing a funding factor of $0.97 for September 2014 through August 2015, and 

providing for the filing of comments through July 15, 2014.  The Commission did not receive any 

comments on the proposed funding factor.  

 Based upon the utilities’ elections and meter count information, and taking into account the 

funding target of $50,000,000, the Commission finds that the LIEAF funding factor shall be $0.97 

per meter per month for the September 2014 through August 2015 billing months.       

 

 THEREFORE IT IS ORDERED that: 

 A.  The Low Income Energy Assistance Fund funding factor is $0.97 per meter per month for 

the September 2014 through August 2015 billing months.  Utilities that have elected to participate 
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shall begin collecting the nonbypassable surcharge in conformance with 2013 PA 95 for the 

September 2014 billing month.  Utilities that have opted out of collection of the surcharge shall 

not shut off service to any residential customer from November 1, 2014, to April 15, 2015, for 

nonpayment of a delinquent account.   

 B.  Utilities whose rates are regulated by the Commission and who opted to collect the 

surcharge shall, within 30 days of the date of this order, file a tariff sheet with the Commission 

reflecting the surcharge.   

 The Commission reserves jurisdiction and may issue further orders as necessary. 

 Any party desiring to appeal this order must do so in the appropriate court within 30 days after 

issuance and notice of this order, under MCL 462.26.  

MICHIGAN PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION   

                                                                          

 

                                                                                      

________________________________________                                                                          

               John D. Quackenbush, Chairman    

 

          

 

 ________________________________________                                                                          

               Greg R. White, Commissioner  

  

 

 

________________________________________                                                                          

               Sally A. Talberg, Commissioner  

  

By its action of July 22, 2014. 

 

 

 

________________________________                                                                 

Sally L. Wallace, Acting Executive Secretary  

  


