Library of Michigan 5 Year County Penal Fine Per Capita Rates

Michigan Penal Fine per capita rates for the preceding five years, as reported by the county treasurers in
their annual report to the Library of Michigan. The Constitution of the State of Michigan requires
violators of the State's Penal Code to pay fines for their violations. That money is then turned over to the
County Treasurers who are required by law to distribute it to the Public Libraries in their county so that
they may advance the education of the citizens that they serve.

(Rates are Per Capita)

2018 2017 2016 2015 2014
County Rate Rate Rate Rate Rate
Alcona $2.26 $6.64 $3.45 $5.55 $5.41
Alger $6.53 $4.74 $4.53 $4.12 $4.70
Allegan $6.73 $6.81 $6.91 $7.50 $5.02
Alpena $4.42 $4.00 $3.98 $5.15  $4.57
Antrim $2.96 $2.90 $3.18 $2.54  $3.00
Arenac $7.69 $8.19 $10.81 $11.26 $10.57
Baraga $4.27 $3.63 $3.64 $2.43 $1.84
Barry $.50 $.59 $0.84 $1.56 $2.29
Bay $3.09 2.97 $3.59 $4.43  $3.51
Benzie $4.54 $4.61 $3.79 $5.19 $5.51
Berrien $7.36 $8.15 $8.77  $10.01 $9.19
Branch $3.88 $4.71 $5.82 $4.80 $6.20
Calhoun $1.79 $2.50 $3.03 $2.78  $2.96
Cass $2.77 $3.30 $3.32 $4.15 $4.09
Charlevoix $3.62 $3.42 $4.23 $2.83  $3.90
Cheboygan $6.73 $6.55 $7.51 $4.88 $4.18
Chippewa $2.74 $3.54 $3.28 $3.13  $2.97
Clare $6.76 $5.55 $6.07 $6.68  $7.02
Clinton $5.18 $5.42 $5.50 $5.74  $5.15
Crawford $8.41 $8.84  $10.30 $9.61 $10.08
Delta $4.59 $4.31 $4.70 $3.85 $3.80
Dickinson $4.82 $4.30 $4.38 $5.91 $4.79
Eaton $3.23 $3.09 $4.14 $4.60 $3.66
Emmet $4.67 $4.87 $6.14 $6.70  $4.85
Genesee $.85 $.86 $0.91 $1.00 $0.89
Gladwin 7.44 7.19 $6.77 $7.09 $6.15
Gogebic $6.97 $6.90 $6.44 $7.36 $6.34
Grand Traverse $2.36 $2.46 $2.91 $2.89 $2.70
Gratiot $7.36 $7.81 $8.71 $10.15  $9.46
Hillsdale $3.28 $3.33 $4.71 $4.09 $3.25
Houghton $1.45 $1.13 $1.31 $1.38 $1.41
Huron $3.23 $3.22 $3.27 $3.45 $2.58
Ingham $2.26 $2.32 $2.69 $2.90 $2.39
lonia $5.64 $5.67 $6.73 $7.41  $8.05
losco $5.07 $5.94 $6.05 $7.21  $6.95
Iron $4.37 $4.07 $4.57 $495  $5.28
Isabella $4.16 $4.27 $4.72 $4.86 $5.77
Jackson $4.14 $4.60 $5.79 $5.30 $4.74



2018 2017 2016 2015 2014

County Rate Rate Rate Rate Rate
Kalamazoo $1.20 $1.35 $1.80 $2.21  $2.05
Kalkaska $6.68 $6.93 $7.85 $6.55 $7.42
Kent $2.10 $2.00 $1.97 $2.00 $1.89
Keweenaw $1.51 $1.33 $0.79 $1.17  $0.64
Lake $5.45 $5.00 $5.45 $455 $3.65
Lapeer $2.79 $2.75 $3.19 $4.01  $3.46
Leelanau $1.81 $1.90 $1.99 $1.98 $1.88
Lenawee $2.54 $2.74 $2.94 $3.23  $3.05
Livingston $2.78 $2.87 $3.76 $4.05  $3.97
Luce $4.26  $3.36  $3.15  $5.79  $5.17
Mackinac $18.74 $17.55 $17.92 $12.76  $10.02
Macomb $.87 $.80 $0.89 $0.95 $0.80
Manistee $5.88 $5.41 $6.31 $7.60 $7.47
Marquette $3.08 $2.76 $2.76 $2.61 $2.51
Mason $4.05 $3.95 $4.19 $4.77  $4.09
Mecosta $5.77 $6.72 $5.95 $5.69 $5.43
Menominee $3.57 $3.63 $4.99 $5.17  $5.58
Midland $1.62 $2.00 $1.38 $4.32  $3.23
Missaukee $2.57 $3.18 $2.87 $2.82 $3.14
Monroe $8.81 $9.06 $7.90 $7.15 $9.21
Montcalm $5.91 $4.81 $5.69 $5.70 $5.72
Montmorency $5.04 $5.00 $4.20 $5.19  $5.53
Muskegon $1.76 $1.89 $2.11 $2.00 $1.96
Newaygo $3.34 $3.30 $3.69 $4.97 $3.84
Oakland $2.09 $2.03 $2.12 $2.02 $1.50
Oceana $6.34 $5.56 $5.46 $6.39 $6.14
Ogemaw $11.99 $12.69 $14.71 $15.25 $13.99
Ontonagon $5.57 $4.86 $6.20 $4.20 $3.66
Osceola $6.41 $6.41 $7.27 $6.59 $5.54
Oscoda $8.02 $8.90 $6.95 $6.37  $6.36
Otsego $6.05 $6.71 $7.66 $5.85 $6.41
Ottawa $3.25 $3.11 $3.08 $3.84  $3.33
Presque Isle $1.84 $1.88 $1.61 $2.06  $2.52
Roscommon $7.93 $9.15  $10.86 $9.13  $9.57
Saginaw $2.87 $3.40 $3.13 $3.99 $3.62
Sanilac $2.99 $3.18 $3.18 $3.59  $3.24
Schoolcraft $8.24 $5.78 $6.47 $6.16  $6.63
Shiawassee $2.18 $2.23 $2.64 $2.64 $2.75
St. Clair $2.70 $3.10 $3.76 $4.73  $4.04
St. Joseph $3.02 $3.98 $3.99 $3.65 $2.81
Tuscola $4.84 $5.43 $6.78 $7.35 $6.63
Van Buren $4.00 $4.28 $4.37 $5.57 $5.10
Washtenaw $1.40 $1.50 $1.70 $1.67 $1.43
Wayne No Info $0.57 $0.86 $0.67 $0.81  $0.00
Wexford $5.80 $5.80 $6.24 $5.83  $6.49

Avg. Per

Capita Rate $4.30 $4.30 $4.82 $4.94 $4.68
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