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Note: The questions in this FAQ apply only to State permits for discharges to the groundwater.   

 
Question: What are the State Permit fees? 
Answer: Anyone holding a state permit for a discharge to state groundwaters is required to pay an annual fee.  

State permit fees are non-refundable.    

Question: How is the annual fee assessed? 
Answer: The annual fee is assessed in accordance with Section 3122(1) of the Natural Resources and 

Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as amended.  The annual facility fee is dependent on 
the facility discharge authorization.  Discharges to the groundwater are classified as Group 1, 
Group 2, or Group 3.   

 Group 1 discharges are described by Rule 323.2218 of the Michigan Administrative code.  The fee 
for this group is $3,650.00 for each permittee.  These discharges are all individual permits.   

 Group 2 discharges are described by Rule 232.2210(y), 323.2215, or 323.2216 of the Michigan 
Administrative Code, or are municipalities with 1000 or fewer residents.  The fee for this group is 
$1,500.00.  Examples of these discharges include, but are not limited to: Sanitary Sewage - above 
ground treatment (<10,000 gpd), Vehicle Washes not open to the public (<2,000 gpd), 
Slaughterhouses (<2,000 gpd), Gravel, Sand, Limestone, Dolomite Mining, Oil Field Brine, or 
Vehicle Washes open to the public (<3,000 gpd), Sanitary Sewage with Construct Wetland 
(<20,000 gpd), Sanitary Sewage Specific Treatment (<50,000 gpd), and Laundromats 
(<20,000 gpd) 

 Group 3 discharges are described by R 323.2211 or 323.2213 of the Michigan Administrative 
Code.  The fee for this group is $200.00 for each permittee.  Examples of these discharges include, 
but are not limited to: Sanitary Sewage (6,000-10,000 gpd), Laundromats (<500 gpd),  
Non-Contact Cooling Water no additives (>10,000 gpd), Fruit & Vegetable Washing (<50,000 gpd), 
Portable Power Wash (1,000 gal/mo/acre), Groundwater Remediation - Pump Testing Outside 
Plume, Hydrostatic Pipe Testing or Flushing, Commercial Animal Care (<50 gpd but >1,000 gpd), 
Non-Contact Cooling Water with additives (<10,000 gpd), Egg Washing (<10,000 gpd), Contact 
Cooling Water (< 5,000 gpd), Remediation - Outside Plume.  

Question: Can I request reduction of my annual fee? 
Answer: Annual fees are assessed as indicated above.  The rule that authorizes the discharge establishes  

the fee, regardless of the volume of wastewater that is discharged.  The only way to reduce the fee 
is to change the discharge so that it can be authorized under a rule that has a lower fee.   

Question: When is the annual facility fee due? 
Answer: The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) will send invoices for the annual facility fee to all 

permit holders by January 15 of each year.  Annual fees are due no later than March 1 of each 
year.  Failure of the DEQ to send an invoice by January 15, or failure to receive an invoice, does 
not relieve the obligation to pay the annual fee.  If the DEQ does not mail out the invoices by 
January 15, then the annual fee is due no later than 45 days after receiving the invoice.  The 
annual fee is based on the facilities’ authorized discharge as of December 15 of each calendar 
year. 

 



Question:  Can I pay my fee in installments? 
Answer: No.  Fees are due as indicated above.  

Question: What happens if I don’t pay the annual fee? 
Answer: The DEQ shall assess a penalty on all annual fees not submitted by the due date.  The penalty 

shall be an amount equal to 0.75 percent of the payment due for each month or portion of a month 
that the payment remains past due.  The Attorney General may bring action for the collection of the 
annual permit fee. 

 


