
phone while driving except under certain 
circumstances.

Teen drivers are especially vulnerable 
to distractions due to their inexperience. For 
your safety, and the safety of other motorists, 
exercise good judgment and do not let other 
activities divert your attention from the road.

If you need additional information
If you have questions about your 

probationary license or need additional 
information about your Graduated Driver 
License, please call the Department of State 
Information Center toll-free at 888-SOS-MICH 
(767-6424) or visit the Department of State 
website at www.Michigan.gov/sos.

Disability access:
The Department of State is an equal 

opportunity employer and service provider. 
If you need an accommodation or have been 
denied service, please call this toll-free number: 
888-SOS-MICH (767-6424).

Hearing-impaired customers may access 
the department’s telephone number by calling 
the Michigan Relay Center at 800-649-3777.

An alternative format of this printed 
material may be obtained by contacting the 
department at 888-SOS-MICH (767-6424).

Michigan Organ Donor Registry:
Nearly 3,000 Michigan residents are 

waiting for a lifesaving transplant. You can 
help by adding your name to the Organ Donor 
Registry at www.Michigan.gov/sos today.
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Michigan’s safety belt and child safety 
passenger laws have helped reduce the number 
of deaths and crippling injuries on our state's 
roads. Always wear your safety belt whether 
you are the driver or a passenger.

How do the most recent drug and alcohol 
laws affect me?

In several ways! Most of the alcohol 
laws relating to “zero tolerance” or “minor in 
possession” carry a requirement that a driver’s 
license be suspended upon conviction. 
This suspension may not only cause you 
inconvenience, but can result in more expensive 
automobile insurance premiums and extensions 
to your probationary license period.

Learning to drive safely requires your 
full concentration. Driving while under the 
influence of alcohol or drugs greatly increases 
the risk of crashes, injuries or death to you and 
others. Therefore, penalties are severe. Do not 
risk a crash or loss of your driving privileges; 
do not drive when using drugs or alcohol.

Reducing your crash risk
Remember that driving is not only a 

privilege, but also a large responsibility. You 
can reduce your risk of being involved in a 
crash by keeping your mind on the task at 
hand: driving. Over one-third of all fatal injury  
crashes involve driver distraction.

Distraction can come in many forms. 
Changing the radio station, talking to 
passengers, eating or using a cell phone 
or other electronic device are all examples 
of distractions that take the driver’s focus 
away from driving. It is illegal for any teen 
driver with a GDL level 1 or 2 to use a cell 
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What is the probationary licensing 
program?

The Secretary of State monitors the 
performance of new drivers through the 
probationary licensing program. All new drivers, 
regardless of age, are on probation for at least 
three years while they gain experience.

What is Graduated Driver Licensing and 
how is it affected by probation?

Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) is a 
program that integrates classroom instruction 
and on-the-road experience for young drivers. 
Teens are eligible to begin GDL at age 14 years, 
8 months. The program ends when teens turn 18.

The GDL program reduces your risk by 
limiting driving privileges while you gain 
experience. The probationary program monitors 
your performance through your driving record, 
allowing the Secretary of State to help you 
improve if you drive unsafely.

Graduated Driver Licensing and probation 
work together to control your driving risk.

Violations or crashes posted to your record 
show you are not progressing satisfactorily. The 
Secretary of State may further restrict or even 
suspend your driving privileges, no matter what 
your licensing level is!

Does the Secretary of State know if I have 
been driving unsafely?

Yes! Unsafe drivers are identified by 
the number of traffic violations and crashes 
posted on their driving records. Any time you 
are convicted of a traffic violation or have a 
crash, the Secretary of State is notified and adds 
it to your driving record.

The Secretary of State constantly reviews 
the records of probationary drivers because 
they are at higher risk of having a crash than 
most groups of drivers.

What will happen to my driving privilege 
if I drive unsafely?

The Secretary of State will contact 
you if you are in a crash or receive a traffic 
conviction. You may receive a warning letter, 
or you may be required to appear at a Driver 
Assessment office for a personal review of  
your driving performance.

A driving record that shows unsafe driving 
behavior will definitely be cause for a personal 
review, which is called a Driver Assessment 
re-examination. Examples of unsafe driving 
include speeding convictions, stop sign 
violations and crashes.

At this review, your driving privilege 
may be restricted (limiting your full driving 
privilege) or a suspension may be ordered 
stating you are not to drive for any reason. You 
may also be given a combination of restrictions 
and suspension.

If you are under age 18, your parents or 
legal guardians must be notified if you violate 
the driving restictions of your Graduated 
Driver License. This is also cause for a Driver 
Assessment re-examination, and your driving 
privileges may be suspended.

How long will I be on probation?
At least three years. It may last longer 

than three years if you drive unsafely.
To end your probationary period, you must 

drive the last 10 months of your probation 

without having an “at fault” or “had-been-
drinking” crash, a driver’s license suspension 
or a traffic conviction.

For example: If you drive two years and 10 
months of your three-year probationary period 
without a crash or traffic conviction and then 
you receive a speeding ticket (no matter how 
fast you were driving over the posted limit), 
your probationary period will be automatically 
extended until you demonstrate you can drive 
10 consecutive months without a ticket, 
crash or license suspension.

Must I wear a safety belt?
Yes, and for good reason! Since 1985 all 

front-seat occupants in Michigan have been 
required by law to wear a safety belt. All 
youths under age 16, whether in the front or 
back seat, must wear a safety belt. Children 4-7 
years old who are less than 4 feet, 9 inches tall 
must be in an approved child restraint system. 
Children younger than 4 years must be in an 
approved child restraint system in the back 
seat. A child under age 4 may be placed in the 
front seat only when all rear seats are occupied 
by children under age 4 – otherwise an older 
child or adult should move to the front and the 
child under age 4 seated in the back. The front 
passenger air bag must be turned off whenever 
a rear-facing child restraint system is used in 
the front seat. The safest place for a child is the 
back seat.

The law allows police officers to stop a 
motorist solely for not wearing a safety belt in 
the front seat of a vehicle. Police officers may 
also stop a motorist if a child under age 16 is 
not properly restrained, no matter where they 
are riding in a vehicle.




