What is EIA?

Equine infectious anemia (EIA) is a disease,
caused by a virus that causes anemia,
intermittent fever, and severe weight loss.
Equidae (e.g., horses, ponies, mules, zebras,
and donkeys) are the only animals known to
be affected by the virus. Once an animal is
infected with the virus, it is infected for life.
Other common names for EIA are swamp
fever, malacial fever, mountain fever, slow
fever, and Coggins disease. At present, there
IS no vaccine or cure available. The death
rate of infected equidae varies from 30 to 70
percent.

Signs of Infection
Signs of EIA may appear seven to 21 days
after primary infection and may include:

- An intermittent or continuous fever,
sudden rise from 100-105 ° (F)

- Profuse sweating
- Rapid breathing
- Depression

- Weight loss (even though the animal
continues to eat well)

- Swelling of the lower legs and
underline

Spread of Infection

EIA is transmitted by the exchange of certain
body fluids, usually blood, from an infected to
a noninfected animal. Methods of
transmission include:

- Insect bites - blood-feeding flies such
as horseflies, stable flies, and deer
flies. Note: Mosquitos are not
capable of transmitting EIA.

- Mechanical means - hoof knives,
needles (tattooing or bleeding),
syringes, etc.

- Blood transfusions

Testing for EIA

The AGID test, also known as the Coggins
test, is the most commonly used official test
to detect antibodies from equine blood
against the EIA virus. It is extremely likely
that an equine animal that tests positive on
one occasion will do so for the rest of its life.
The AGID test requires 24 hours to run. An
alternate test, the ELISA test, can be
completed in one to two hours. Equidae
entering Canada, however, must still test
negative on the AGID test. Canada does not
accept ELISA testing for EIA.

Michigan's Mandatory EIA

Testing Requirements

Michigan’s Public Act 33 of 2001, which
took effect June 29, 2001, required all
eqguidae in Michigan to be tested for EIA
between January 1, 2001 and April 30,
2002. Fines for persons failing to have
equidae tested by April 30, 2002 may be up
to $100.

In addition to the one-time mandatory
testing requirement prior to April 30, 2002,
Michigan horse owners must have an
official EIA test with negative results within
the current calendar year if equidae are:

. Entered into fairs, shows, exhibitions,
or similar events. Show authorities are
required to confirm proof of negative
test status for entered animals;

- Sold and the change of ownership
requires relocation of the animal.
Testing is not required if the change of
ownership does not include a change
of stabling location; or

- Consigned to or entering within
one-quarter mile of the premises of
horse sales or auctions, even if they
are not being offered for sale.

Michigan law also requires any equidae
entering Michigan to have a negative
EIA test within the current calendar year
prior to entry.

Please note:

Foals under six months of age
who are nursing their dam are
excluded from testing
requirements of this act.

For all EIA testing
requirements, current calendar
year is defined to be the 13-
month period of December 1
through December 31 of the
following year (i.e., December
1, 2001 through December 31,
2002).

In addition to state testing
requirements, sponsors,
coordinators, and managers of
equine events may place
additional testing requirements
for participation in such events.

Law Violations

Intentional misrepresentation or violation of
quarantine is a felony and is punishable by
a fine of $1,000 to $50,000, not more than
five years imprisonment, or both. Other
violations are at the misdemeanor level and
are subject to fines up to $300, up to 30
days imprisonment, or both. Court and
attorney fees incurred in the prosecution
may also be charged to the defendant if
convicted. Administrative fines and other
penalties may also apply.

If an Animal Tests Positive
for EIA:

The state of Michigan will re-test
the animal to ensure an accurate
test.

If a positive test is confirmed, the
animal and its herd mates will be
quarantined.

Any positive animal(s) will be

freeze branded on the neck to
identify them as Michigan EIA
reactors.

The animal’s owner will then have
three options:

1. Have the EIA animal(s)
euthanized.

2. Isolate all EIA animals at least
one-quarter mile from all other
noninfected equine.

3. Isolate the EIA animals in an
insect-free enclosure.

No compensation is provided by
the state to the owner of an EIA
animal.

For More Information
Contact your local veterinarian or
Michigan Department of Agriculture
Animal Industry Division

P.O. Box 30017, Lansing, MI 48909
PH: 517.373.1077

FX: 517.373.6015
www.michigan.gov/mda



Four Patterns of EIA

The initial signs of EIA pass quickly into
one of four patterns: acute, subacute,
chronic, or carrier.

Acute cases are the exception rather
than the rule. These animals rarely
survive and can die within three to 10
days after the virus enters the
bloodstream.

Subacute cases can also be very
sick and then become chronic.
These animals exhibit no signs of the
disease for a long time, then
progress to a state of continuing
weight loss, rough hair coat, and
anemia. Relapses of increasing
severity are common.

Chronic cases may have occasional
attacks and develop classic
symptoms that include a poor hair
coat, weight loss, weakness,
anemia, and swelling of lower legs,
chest, and abdomen. These signs
will later subside but may never
recur. These symptoms commonly
develop after stress from hard work,
hot weather, pregnancy, or from
other diseases.

Carrier animals appear to be healthy
but harbor the agent of the disease.
An animal will carry the virus for its
entire life and never show signs of
the disease, but is potentially able to
transmit the disease. These animals
may develop into acute or chronic
cases after hard work, severe
stress, or from other diseases.

Preventlng EIA
Reduce flies in barns or stables and
pastures.

Use new, sterile needles on each
animal.

Clean and sterilize all instruments
(knives, needles, and dental and
surgical equipment, etc.) thoroughly
after each use.

Do not share saddles, bridles, or
other pieces of equipment between
any animals with open or bleeding
wounds or sores.

Do not breed mares or stallions that
you suspect or know are infected.

Observe your animal daily. A
veterinarian should be called at the
first sign of disease.

Purchase animals only after they
have been tested and found to be
free of any evidence of disease.

Require a copy of the test report.

Only participate in events (show,
sale, racetrack, trail ride, etc.) that
require prior testing for all animals.

Establish a routine EIA testing
schedule with your private
veterinarian.
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