
Michigan Department of Treasury Contract Number
2781 (Rev. 11-18)

Request to Transfer MET Educational Benefits
Issued under Public Act 316 of 1986. Filing is mandatory.

A $25.00 processing fee is required when transferring educational benefits. You can pay online at   
www.setwithmet.com with the “Make a Payment” link OR you can make a check payable to the Michigan Education Trust 
and include it with this completed form. If the original beneficiary is learning disabled or deceased, the fee is waived. Call 
the MET office to discuss required documentation.
The person(s) requesting the transfer and the new beneficiary to whom the contract is proposed to be transferred to (or 
the parent or guardian of the new beneficiary if the new beneficiary is a minor) certifies that no payment has been or will 
be made to anyone (except for payment to MET, if any) for the transfer of educational benefits.

ORIGINAL BENEFICIARY
*Original Beneficiary Name Relationship Between Original Beneficiary and New Beneficiary

Street Address Beneficiary’s Social Security Number

City, State, ZIP Code Beneficiary’s E-mail Address

Number of Years (or semesters) of Educational Benefits Purchased Home Telephone W

If applicable, Institution Name

ork Telephone

Age at the Time of Transfer Current Grade (if applicable)

If applicable, Last Semester/Year Enrolled

*Original beneficiary must be at least 18 years of age. If you are not 18 years of age, attach a copy of your high school diploma.

NEW BENEFICIARY Beneficiaries are limited to five years (150 credit hours) of accumulated MET benefits. 
New Beneficiary Name New Beneficiary‘s Social Security Number

Street Address City, State, ZIP Code

Home Telephone Work Telephone Date of Birth Age at Time of Transfer Grade at Time of Transfer

Number of Credit Hours (or Years) of Educational Benefits Requesting to be Transferred *Year (or Expected Year) of High School Graduation

New Beneficiary’s Existing MET Contract Number (If Applicable) New Beneficiary E-mail Address

Is the New Beneficiary older than the Original Beneficiary? Is the New Beneficiary willing to accept the original Beneficiary’s high school 
graduation year as the year their eligible benefits begin?

Yes (Please answer question in box to the right)
Yes (May reduce the length of time to use benefits)

No (Skip question in box to the right)
No (May result in an increased transfer fee)

College/University Name
Currently Enrolled in College/University? Yes No

If Yes, what semester:
Do you want to activate this contract now?
(Michigan public University/College only) Yes No Fall Winter Spring Summer Year:

*If the educational benefits will be transferred to an older student, an additional charge is required. This fee may be waived if the new 
Beneficiary is willing to accept less than fifteen years to completely use educational benefits.

THE BENEFICIARY AND THE NEW BENEFICIARY MUST SIGN ON THE REVERSE SIDE. ALL
SIGNATURES MUST BE NOTARIZED. PLEASE ALLOW 4-6 WEEKS TO PROCESS THE TRANSFER.

IF PROCESSING FEE WAS PAID ONLINE, YOU CAN FAX COMPLETED FORM  
TO 517-763-0124 OR EMAIL TO TREASMET@MICHIGAN.GOV.

IF PAYING BY CHECK, MAIL COMPLETED FORM AND $25 PROCESSING FEE TO:
Michigan Education Trust, P.O. Box 30198, Lansing, Michigan 48909
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Date Signature of Original Beneficiary

STATE OF )
) ss

COUNTY OF )

On this                                         day of                                      , 2                   , before me, a Notary Public in and for the County and 
State above, personally appeared                                                                                            who after being duly sworn, represented 
and acknowledged execution of this instrument.

Notary Public

County 

Notary Seal or Stamp Required My Commission Expires:

Date Signature of New Beneficiary (parent/guardian must sign if New Beneficiary is a minor)

STATE OF )
) ss

COUNTY OF )

On this                                        day of                                       , 2                      , before me, a Notary Public in and for the County and 
State above, personally appeared                                                                                            who after being duly sworn, represented 
and acknowledged execution of this instrument.

Notary Public

County

Notary Seal or Stamp Required My Commission Expires:

Date Signature of Purchaser (only needed for contracts purchased in 1988 and if original 
beneficiary has used a portion of the contract). If purchaser is deceased, purchaser’s 
personal representative must sign and submit a copy of purchaser’s death certificate 
and copy of legal document naming said personal representative. 

STATE OF )
) ss

COUNTY OF )

On this                                        day of                                         , 2                     , before me, a Notary Public in and for the County and 
State above, personally appeared                                                                                            who after being duly sworn, represented 
and acknowledged execution of this instrument.

Notary Public

County

Notary Seal or Stamp Required My Commission Expires:
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