Bowhunter Education Certificate

Bow hunter education is an optional course offered to hunters to continue their education beyond the required Michigan hunter education course. Bow hunter education is not required in Michigan, however, it is required in other states and this certification may satisfy those requirements.

In order to purchase a hunting license in Michigan, an individual born on or after January 1, 1960, is required to successfully complete an approved hunter education course.

There are two options for completing bowhunter education in Michigan, both options require the student to attend a field day.

  1. Traditional course (the required field day is part of this in-person course)
  2. Online course or take-home study (followed by a required field day)

Bow hunter education - tradtional course (the required field day is part of this course)

The main purpose of the bow hunter education course is to build upon the basic hunter education course concentrating on safe and responsible bow hunting. Topics include bow hunting techniques, archery equipment, tree stand safety, ethics, and laws and regulations. 

About the class:

  • In person, traditional classroom setting including hands-on training
  • Minimum of 10 hours over a minimum of two days
  • Written test (80% or better to pass) and practice assessment (pass/fail)
  • Maximum $10 fee
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.
  • Taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors and Michigan conservation officers.

Bow hunter education - field day

The bow hunter education field day provides students an alternative to the traditional course. This course is the same as the traditional bow hunter education course; however, the classroom portion is completed by either online training or as a take-home study format.  

Students must complete either:

  1. Online bow hunter education, then attend the required field day
  2. Take-home study bow hunter education, then attend the required field day

About the field day: 

  • In person field day 
  • 4 hours minimum
  • Written test (80% or better to pass) and practice assessment (pass/fail)
  • Maximum $10 fee
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.
  • Taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors and Michigan conservation officers.

Bow hunter education - online 

  1. Successfully complete the approved bow hunter safety course online at www.bowhunter-ed.com/michigan.
  2. Students choosing the online course followed by the field day must present a copy of their certificate of completion (voucher) of the online course at the start of the field day. 
  3. After completing the online course, students have 12 months to complete the field day to complete bow hunter education.

Bow hunter education - take-home study

  1. Students preregister for the field day and then pick up the student manual, with a minimum of one week prior to the field day. 
  2. Take home study students must complete the chapter review questions and present them at the start of the field day.  

Combination course: Traditional - Hunter and bow hunter education (the required field day is part of this course)

This course is a combination of the traditional hunter education and the traditional bow hunter education courses. Students will receive both hunter education certification and bow hunter education certification in a traditional, in-person setting. The course provides a convenient option for students wanting to complete the hunter education and bow hunter educations courses. 

Topics include: understanding wildlife management, wildlife identification, ethics, laws and regulations, firearms safety and handling, bow hunting techniques, archery equipment and tree stand safety. 

About the traditional combination course class:

  • In-person, traditional classroom setting including hands-on training
  • Minimum of 16 hours over a minimum of two days
  • Written test (80% or better to pass) and practice assessment (pass/fail) 
  • Maximum $10 fee
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.
  • Taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors and Michigan conservation officers.

Combination course: Field day - Hunter and bow hunter education

The combination field day course provides an alternative to the traditional combination course and is a convenient option for students to receive both hunter education certification and bow hunter education certification. This course is the same as the traditional combination course; however, the classroom portion is completed by either: 

  1. Online combination course - followed by a field day
  2. Take-home study combination course - followed by a field day

About the combination course field day:

  • In-person field day 
  • 7 hours minimum
  • Written tests (80% or better to pass) and practice assessments (pass/fail)
  • Maximum $10 fee
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.
  • Taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors and Michigan conservation officers.

Combination course - Online

Students choosing the combination online course followed by the field day must present a copy of their certificates of completion (vouchers) of the online courses at the start of the field day. The online courses are fee based and can be taken at:

  1. Hunter: hunter-ed.com/michigan
  2. Bow: bowhunter-ed.com/michigan

Combination course - Take-home study

  1. Students choosing the combination course take-home study will register for the field day and pick up the student manuals, a minimum of one week prior to the field day.
  2. Take-home study students must complete the chapter review questions and present them at the start of the field day.

Search for a bow hunter safety class or field day in your area »

Request a replacement hunter safety certificate »