Commission Responsibilities

The Michigan Aeronautics Commission is responsible for the general supervision of all aeronautics within the state. It is empowered by state law to make rules and regulations governing all airports, flight schools, and other aeronautical activities. Appointments to the commission are made by the Governor and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

In addition to five members appointed to four-year terms, the commission consists of four statutory members, which include the directors of the Departments of Transportation, Natural Resources, State Police, and Military and Veterans Affairs. Additionally, the Transportation Department executive administrator for the Office of Aeronautics is designated as director of the commission.

Regular meetings of the Michigan Aeronautics Commission are held bimonthly in January, March, May, July, September, and November. The November, January, March, and July meetings are normally held in Lansing, while the other meetings are held at other locations across the state. A joint meeting with the State Transportation Commission is also held in January. 

The commission chairperson has the ability to create various committees.  Each committee has at least two commissioners and additional members from industry and interested groups. Currently, there are three advisory committees:  Safety, General Aviation, and Commercial Air Service. The committees are charged with identifying issues of importance and recommending action to the commission as necessary.